The Cover-up

Well, that only took six damn months.

Screen Shot 2017-08-09 at 6.26.12 AM

(Just FYI, many, if not all, of my posts for the foreseeable future will begin with a shirtless man.)

I’m not so sure that the tattoos read “Eli Grant, FBI agent” so much as “Lamon Archey, actor,” but if saving on the make-up to conceal them means we get to see more extras or less of the Blue Room, I’ll go with it. Also ‘loved’ Rafe being his usual, charming self and just barging into the room to demand that Eli reveal specifics of an FBI investigation to him solely so that he can help his idiot brother. Raines doing the same to Lani — at least for ostensibly professional reasons — was rather curious, too. He keeps jumping out at me as the obvious rat in all this. Also, does it seem weird to anyone that they’ve now made a point, twice in three weeks, of Abe giving Valerie expensive gifts? I can’t imagine they’ll make Good Old Abe the big bad in all this, but it sure is curious…

Not that anyone in Salem takes note of very strange things going on right under their noses.

Screen Shot 2017-08-09 at 6.29.07 AM

I know Roman doesn’t have much background in the restaurant industry, but if business is down so sharply since he took over that no one even walked by the Pub for the entire time that Anjelica was standing out there with Adrienne’s passed-out ass, that place has got problems. Yikes. And of course, Anjelica and Hattie were able to drag Adrienne around in broad daylight without raising so much as an eyebrow. Why didn’t whoever stabbed Deimos just do it in the middle of the Town Square during the lunch rush? It’s not like anybody would have spoken up!

Screen Shot 2017-08-10 at 6.46.29 PM

I’m already over Bonnie and Hattie hooting and hollering together, but they’re amusing enough to watch when they’re playing off ‘regular’ characters (even Anjelica, who is an absolute nutjob). Judi Evans did a really interesting job of portraying Bonnie settling into Adrienne’s skin, and as much as I hate seeing Lucas get his heart broken again, Bryan Dattilo plays it so well. I was a little thrown by how Bonnie didn’t seem to know who Lucas was — she interacted with him plenty from 2003-06, most notably when he tended bar (shirtless!) at her honky-tonk joint and when she married his aunt’s “widower.”

BTW, Ron Carlivati tweeted the following yesterday:

Kind of irritated they cut that, because it comes across as a huge hole in the storyline. Once Adrienne is lucid again, what’s to stop her from showing the guards that she just had a double mastectomy and breast reconstruction, and calling Justin down there as an attorney to vouch for her? I really hope they address that, but maybe this will all move really quickly and they can just stall.

In more reality-based news — well, relatively speaking — that fight between Steve and Kayla on Thursday’s episode was what I’ve been waiting to see for, oh, as long as I’ve been waiting to see Eli shirtless.

Screen Shot 2017-08-11 at 9.14.50 AM

Finally, Kayla gets a real point-of-view here! And this is solid drama for them, as opposed to just facing one outside obstacle after another. I thought the climax, with Tripp threatening Kayla’s life and Joey confessing to Ava’s murder, felt strangely downbeat and off, and I was irritated that they didn’t build out Tripp framing Kayla into something much larger and dramatic, but now I can see that Carlivati wanted to get to this material instead, which works for me. They said things that needed to be said back at the very beginning of the Tripp arc, and there are some interesting echoes of how Steve said that he abandoned Kayla and Joey for all those years to protect them and what it looks like to be an active parent and “protect” a child. I wish the rest of the story had been written with this sort of passion and conflict, but at least these two finally got something to dig into. The way they’ve set it up, I can actually see how they manage to redeem Joey and Tripp, which is no small feat. But I don’t want them to sweep all this under the rug — wring the drama out of it, milk story out of it. That’s what this format is for. The initial story might’ve been a dog, but it wouldn’t be the first time that a crappy setup paved the way for worthwhile fallout.

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

10 Comments on “The Cover-up”

  1. Fluffysmom Says:

    Why can’t I remember Lucas bartending shirtless??

    I hope we see a lot more shirtless men on-screen.

    • mykleraus Says:

      It was some big/insane night at Alice’s (the bar, not the house!), and all the younger guys back then — Lucas, Rex, Philip, Shawn, Brady — wound up shirtless, I think. My memory is hazy but I believe a bunch of it happened in montage. Bonnie definitely should at least know Lucas as Sami’s ex!

  2. ADW Says:

    I ❤️ the gratuitous towel scene with Eli, FINALLY. I had to rewind the scenes with Rafe and Eli because I couldn’t pay attention to the actual dialogue. I read Lamar Archey has 11 tattoos which makes him even hotter. Days seems to be more lax and accepting of some of the characters showing their tattoos in recent years however it depends on the character; Lucas shows his yet, Eric has a large piece on his upper back which is covered by makeup.
    You would think it’s just a matter of time before the doppelgängers are discovered with Adrienne’s reconstructed “girls” as well as how loud, boisterous, and crass Battie are acting.
    Speaking of holes in the plot, what the heck was Eric doing at the Salem Inn when he was eavesdropping outside Adrienne/Bonnie’s room? I thought Eric was living in a room at The Martin House? Adrienne has been living at the Salem Inn since she moved out of the Kirakis mansion.
    I like that Kayla finally conveyed some of the emotions she had bottled up. Please move this storyline along to its resolution soon.

    • Fluffysmom Says:

      Lucas’s tattoos were always covered up until he got out of prison.

    • mykleraus Says:

      They’ve definitely gotten more lax with the tattoos in recent years. I would gather it’s time-consuming (and therefore expensive) to cover them up. They probably just decided to leave Eli’s so it’s established from the get-go that he has them, as opposed to letting other actors’ show up randomly when the characters didn’t have them before.

      I was confused as to why Eric was there, too. He was randomly just in the hallway. Maybe something got cut? I was wondering if perhaps that’s where John is staying and he was going there, but of course no one explained that. So odd. I do like him being involved in the Marlena stuff, though.

      • ADW Says:

        I recall John telling Eric “Marlena” dumped him and immediately packed up moved out of townhouse. Eric offered to speak to his Mother and find out what was up with the break up however I don’t know how Eric found here whereabouts. I’m pretty sure Hattie’s room was booked under an alias.

      • mykleraus Says:

        Oh, gotcha. I sort of remember that exchange but I didn’t connect the two. How in the hell would Eric have known what room “Marlena” was in, though? You’re right.

      • Fluffysmom Says:

        John told Eric that Marlena is staying at the Salem Inn.

      • mykleraus Says:

        Okay, I remember that now. It just felt so disconnected to see Eric wandering the halls of the Salem Inn…


Leave a Reply

