The Hits Keep Coming

No wonder that car plowed Abigail down. It appears to have been driving down the damn sidewalk!

Screen Shot 2017-08-01 at 6.58.31 AM

I actually thought they did a nice job of creating the car accident through editing. I know we aren’t going to see an actual car racing through the set and a body flying all over the place, but the combination of fast cuts, lights, and sound sold this for me. The pacing was a little weird, in that it felt like Chad and then Abigail stood there waiting to be hit forever, but some of that was the slo-mo and some of it was just TV People Being Stupid.

Screen Shot 2017-08-01 at 6.57.05 AM

I did find the staging sort of ridiculous, though. Spatially, this accident made no sense. I’ve watched that scene in flashback two or three times, and I have no idea where the car was coming from, where Dario dove off to, how Abigail got hit where she was, or where the car wound up. Inside the wall behind them? That said, there’s definitely an increased sense of urgency to things, and without some kind of insane hard reset on the show, you can feel that we’ve moved on to a new era. There have been lots of small touches in the dialogue that I’ve enjoyed, like Hope remembering Zack’s death and fearing Jennifer wouldn’t want to be reminded of that right now, or Jennifer referencing Abigail’s aplastic anemia from back in the day. I still have no idea why Kate is such a Gabi/Chad ‘shipper, but I thought the references to how Gabi annoyed the hell out of her back when they covered up Nick’s “death” were a fun use of history and very Kate (as was her glibness about Abigail’s mental illness — look at how she’s talked about and to Laura for 20+ years).

And considering that this is also a town in which a woman — who looks exactly like a very prominent resident! — can drag a body bag through town without being noticed, maybe the physics of that car accident aren’t our biggest issue.

Screen Shot 2017-08-01 at 7.03.11 AM

If Hattie can barely lug Marlena along the ground, how in the hell did she get her downstairs and out of the townhouse, let alone with John there?! This show is so weird.

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

14 Comments on “The Hits Keep Coming”

  1. Shea Says:

    I haven’t seen the show this week so I have no comment on that but I will say that I am very interested to see what happens with sets now that Ron is in charge. I remember at one point when he was at GH and I was watching each show daily I had made a list of all of the sets that they were using regularly on each chow and GH had twice as many sets as Days. I am pretty sure there was one day where I counted over 20 sets that were used in 1 episode. (I am pretty sure some of that was due to flashbacks but it was still a lot of sets for one show)

    The show just has a slightly different energy in the last couple of weeks. I don’t know how to explain it but it just seems to have more movement….I may be imagining it but it just feels a little different.

    Did you see this? https://twitter.com/hcleyjames/status/892844196079570944

    I find that VERY interesting!

    • mykleraus Says:

      Yes! Working on a post right now (or trying to, but I have “real work” to do…) — but it’s been rumored for a few days and OLTL’s Robin Strasser weirdly leaked it on Twitter earlier today. I feel like these things are *not* accidents…

      There’s definitely a different energy to the show in the past two weeks. It’s not as drastic as some of the past writing changes, but there’s more momentum. Some of it might just be because they are burning story to wrap up DH’s stuff, but I sort of think it’s just the way Ron breaks story. He isn’t really rushing to wrap things up so much as spinning new events out of what was going on (except for the Kayla stuff). It’ll be interesting to see how it feels in a month or two.

  2. rustyspigot Says:

    Well Ben lugged Will around town in a giant Crown Royal bag.Salem folks mind their business.

  3. Michelle Says:

    I really liked the leading up to Abby getting hit but everything at the hospital seems so hollow. Like every actor is on drugs or something. Nothing seems urgent. Is it because there are only like two people working at the entire hospital besides Kayla . Maybe it’s just me?

    • mykleraus Says:

      I agree, and I’ve seen the same sentiment on another board. There’s something a little weird/flat about the scenes, and I can’t tell what it is. The dialogue is good, right? It’s like the production got injected with a sedative or something.

  4. JoBean Says:

    Now I’m loving the new energy and dialogue as well as the references to relatively recent past storylines, and I agree that we need to talk about the set behind Abigail – what kind of confusing area of town is this? Is it a park? Is it an alley? Is there a road there? It kind of looks like the seam where the Murder Park and one of the alley sets meet, and it cracked me up. I’m actually glad they got creative with the set instead of trying to shoehorn all this action into the Town Square or the backyard of the DiMansion.
    Also, Marlena and John must have a lot of money between them at this point, right? So why do they live in a condo that sits directly above the OTHER sketchy back alley where several of Salem’s major crimes have taken place in the last few years?
    I think it’s a sign of how much I’m enjoying the show now that I’m even noticing these things. Good point about Kate – I used to love her back in the 90’s and I’m enjoying her again for the first time in years.

    • mykleraus Says:

      There was no curb. But it was paved like the old-timey streets of a theme park. I don’t even know anymore. It was also the exterior of TBD/the cafe from Prague/the cafe from Greece/wherever else, just with the plants rearranged.

  5. Damon L. Jacobs Says:

    I love the nods to history as well! But Tripp referencing Steve’s protecting Adrienne after she killed Duke was kind of bizarre. Not even JJ was told of this family atrocity after he learned that his father had raped Kayla.

    If there was an episode where the Johnsons gleefully shared their family skeletons with Tripp in the Brady Pub, as the Hortons did with Eli in the Horton Square, then I missed it.

    • mykleraus Says:

      Yeah, HOW did Tripp know that?! I wouldn’t be alarmed if they had Steph or Joey reference that, but Tripp has only known Steve for a few months, and it’s all been onscreen.

      • Rebecca Says:

        Adrienne told Tripp within seconds of introducing herself to him in the town square. (Another confession in public? And to someone who is in essence a stranger?) This happened not long after Jade said Steve was a good guy that looked after his family, implying Tripp should look elsewhere for his anger.

        Months before, Steve had taken Jade shopping to buy her some things for the apartment when the teens first moved in. Sometime later, Kayla told Jade she wouldn’t get any more money from them. I think that happened after Jade was lying about overdosing on her meds following surgery. Adrienne’s disclosure, therefore, helped to back Jade’s implication.

        I can’t believe that I remember all this junk. I usually fast-forwarded through Jade’s scenes because I didn’t like her constant whining about how the world was out to get her.

      • mykleraus Says:

        Oh, I remember Adrienne and Tripp meeting and a vague bit of that conversation! I liked that they at least had time to have them interact. But good work to the script writer(s) who set that up and paid it off.

  6. ADW Says:

    I chalk up certain key historical facts being “forgotten” at some very appropriate times to bad writing.
    If I saw Ben a young, hulky guy lugging a large military style duffel bag I wouldn’t find it bizarre. Diametrically, Hattie is a woman in her 60s wearing heels dragging a 160 lb bag, WTF? I thought it would have been a nice touch to have a random chivalrous guy pop up with a luggage cart and offer to help. “Buzz off buster I was a GLOW wrestler, I got this!”

    • mykleraus Says:

      Hahahah! I wish they’d have random extras or even secondary characters turn up in situations like that. Salem feels absolutely dead, and things are way too easy for these villains. Throw them some complications!


Leave a Reply

