Frightful Friday

This isn’t even what this post was supposed to be about, but something happened when I went back to get my screenshots, and we can’t move forward until it’s addressed.

Screen Shot 2017-07-14 at 2.47.46 PM

Jennifer Rose! What in the name of Alice Horton is going on here?! I was actually going to make a little side comment about how cute she looked, based upon my occasional glances at the TV while folding laundry, but then I was trying to get a shot of her with Brady and was subjected to this full-body horror. She’s like… Summer 2017 on top, Victorian-era Scotland on the bottom. This whole thing has a very puzzling, distressing tent-like effect on her that I cannot comprehend. And in July, no less? The only good thing I can say is that I was originally terrified those were extremely wide-legged pants, but no, they’re just a plain old ridiculous skirt. But still. Put that top with some skinny white jeans and stop being your own worst enemy!

Whew. Okay, now that we have that out of the way, we can talk about Brady.

Screen Shot 2017-07-14 at 2.48.08 PM

Who, by the way, is like, “Jen, I’m dating perennial Worst Dressed Salemite winner Nicole Walker, and I still can’t get over that skirt you put on.”

After Thursday’s episode, I was all set to talk about how refreshing it was to enjoy Brady in a more supporting role — being a friend to Jennifer, showing concern for Abigail, getting in Dario’s face. It’s the same way I felt after Theresa exited last year, and they had him being a friend to both Nicole and Chloe, before they went full-steam ahead with that idiotic Canada excursion. But then they had to go and blow all that goodwill on Friday, with him pounding his chest and huffing and puffing at Nicole and Eric. Maybe it’s because there’s so much unfinished business between “Ericole,” but I keep forgetting that Brady and Nicole are even supposed to be a couple. This latest Great Love just is not taking. At all. There have been plenty of times in the past when I’ve rooted for them to get together, or at least thought it’d be a nice option, but this version just ain’t working.

Oh, and how dim is Brady? “How could you and Eric kissing possibly be about Daniel?” Well, EVERYTHING FUCKIN’ ELSE has been since about 2012, so why not?!

Meanwhile, Friday was apparently White Jade’s last day.

Screen Shot 2017-07-14 at 2.43.35 PM

Meh. The most interesting thing I have to say about this is that, in trying to get a usable screencap of her, I realized that she spends 80% of her scenes with her eyes closed and/or head down. Now go forth and never be mentioned again!

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

8 Comments on “Frightful Friday”

  1. Fluffysmom Says:

    Jennifer’s skirt is horrible. She must have found it in the attic. I hope we never see it again. The wardrobe people need an eye exam.

  2. UnderYourWing Says:

    it looks like a tablecloth at a Scottish wedding

  3. UnderYourWing Says:

    jennifer: wear some freaking shorts or levis

  4. ADW Says:

    Have Brady and Abbie actually had a single interaction? How many times has Brady fallen in love and swore they were the love of his life? I just can’t take him seriously and I’m glad he’s had less screen time as well; Brady is such dullard and I don’t think it’s just because of all of the drugs.
    Jennifer Rose never disappoints with making me lament, “WTF is she wearing?!” I thought her ensemble screamed 3rd class passenger on the Titanic but, with the puffy sleeves on the chopped off. I don’t recall what type of shoes she had on but, my guess are black ankle boots. For the most part, Nicole has been dressing horrendously since Daniel died. I want fiesty, funny, and strong Nicole back before she leaves as well as her sexy, stylish vixen look bc she can pull it off with those legs.
    I’m so glad Jade is gone. It was pointless for her to stick since she didn’t expose the truth about Ava’s murder. I suppose Tripp will figure it out ok his own? Also, the Claire/Theo sex tape nonsense was moronic. Theo could have just broken up with Claire bc he was sick and tired of her “me me me” demeanor AND he found the letter Ciara wrote him hiding with Claire’s belongings.

    • mykleraus Says:

      The Brady/Jen friendship goes in and out a bit, but I did like that they had him refer to Abigail as “Jennifer’s daughter” when he was warning Dario off. That felt like what his frame of reference should be (…even though he and Abigail should also be the same age).

      Jennifer’s clothing so often has that one INSANE element to it. She isn’t like Nicole, who will be in a head-to-toe (hair included) mess of a getup, but there’s like one piece that just makes no sense with the others or for the season or for LIFE.

      I’m surprised they had Jade go out with such a whimper, too. I really thought she’d expose Joey before leaving. She basically could’ve been gone all these months and it wouldn’t have mattered. And I’m guessing the sex tape thing was a fast rewrite/wrap-up? The writing for Claire has been different since then.


Leave a Reply

