Cheers ‘n’ Jeers

Can I just say how delighted I am by this welcome home party/Horton Center fundraiser/festival of narcotics going on at the Martin House this week? I don’t necessarily mean “delighted” in a positive way, but at least I’m giggling a lot. I mean, there are actual extras, which always thrills me, and you had that amazing fake-out cliffhanger of Hope screaming, “You can’t drink that!” in the middle of Eric’s speech, only to return from commercial and learn that she didn’t want him to toast with water because it’s bad luck, plus Deimos dressed up as Colonel Sanders/Drew Donovan and not being recognized by people who were six feet away from him.

Screen Shot 2017-06-27 at 6.30.29 PM

This reminded me of when Jack showed up to the Horton Town Square opening with a beard and stood within earshot of Jennifer and Maggie, neither of whom recognized him because, you know, facial hair. I also can’t really handle/comprehend the insanity of Deimos taking the time to whip up a totally new formula for Halo — a formula that has completely different effects than the old one. That one made people black out and feel wretched, whereas this one… makes you horny and goofy, which just seems like a completely different drug to me, but hey, what do I know? I’m no CEO or drug kingpin!

I did legitimately enjoy the younger characters babbling all drunkenly at the end of the episode, though. Can we have more of that? It gave me shades of the Great Pot Brownie Book Club Incident.

A lot of things Abigail does these days confound me, but showing up to this party dressed like some sort of Elizabethan-era hussy (you know, exposed shoulders) is really up there.

Screen Shot 2017-06-27 at 6.29.15 PM

This is actually a way more flattering photo of the dress than anything that appeared in motion in Tuesday’s episode. She had more ruffles going on than Maggie Kiriakis dressed up to sob over Daniel in her living room.

Jade was also working a similar silhouette earlier in the week, but with fewer ruffles and 100% more bra strap.

Screen Shot 2017-06-27 at 6.36.01 PM

I don’t really know that White Jade (as opposed to the original Jade) seems batshit crazy so much as deeply, troublingly stupid, in that she doesn’t seem to have any sense of normal human behavior or consequences, but I sort of enjoyed her interactions with Eric on Monday’s episode. Any time they put two unlikely characters in a scene together, I at least wind up paying attention, and Greg Vaughan was definitely playing the subtext — since it wasn’t actually in the dialogue — of how Eric had a “sex” (rape) tape made of himself that destroyed his life. I’d have liked for a little more of that to be actual text, but it was an interesting tie. Jade could still fall into the river and I’d never ask where she went, but at least I felt like focusing enough to find out what was going on in these scenes!

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

9 Comments on “Cheers ‘n’ Jeers”

  1. UnderYourWing Says:

    this is getting ridiculous….

  2. UnderYourWing Says:

    HA HA HA!!!

  3. Michelle Says:

    I’m kind of entertained. At least I can giggle at the stupidity. My standards have dropped so low.

    • mykleraus Says:

      Same. At least I’m not bored or falling asleep! (Some of the drunk/high dialogue and acting is pretty genuinely funny, at least. The actors seem to be enjoying themselves, which is great.)

  4. UnderYourWing Says:

    that was a good part….the effects of Halo. I thought it was supposed to be really horrid…..it seemed to me everyone was having a blast….i was really happy to see abby and chad back together…..i wonder how all this will turn out? did you enjoy see dr jonas today mikey??!!

  5. UnderYourWing Says:

    oh…so that was YOU i heard over here……


Leave a Reply

