Time to Face the Past

This week, we were reintroduced to Anjelica Deveraux — mother of Justin’s oldest son, Jack’s former stepmother, and the person currently out to steal the Spectator. And while I always appreciate a bunch of historical references, I confess that I was a little distracted, for two reasons. The first is that of course her office in New York City is that godforsaken blue room, and the other is, uh…

Screen Shot 2017-06-16 at 3.14.20 PM

I literally cannot tell if this woman is supposed to be 42 or 75.

Look, I make it a rule not to talk about the actors’ physical appearances, aside from styling. Wardrobe, hair, and makeup are all elective, so they’re fair game, but I think it crosses a line to harp on people’s bodies. But then I’m like… isn’t this styling? Because that ain’t the face she was born with. I know that there’s an insane amount of pressure upon people, especially women, in Hollywood not to commit the heinous sin of actually aging, but I kept being pulled out of the scenes by the fact that it looked like she was struggling to speak through an extra layer of stuff glued over her actual face. And that blazer, which is definitely fair game.

As for Anjelica’s reappearance: we’ll see. Seeing her and Steve trade barbs was moderately fun, and Morgan Fairchild can do bitchy very well. I like that they dug into her affection for Jack, too, but this all seems rather random without Alexander in the picture, yeah? Still, it’s something fresh, so let’s see where they go with this. If history is any indicator, it’ll probably just be that same damn room redressed as a hotel, but hey.

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

10 Comments on “Time to Face the Past”

  1. Simon Parris Says:

    Perhaps Ms Fairchild’s facial look is brought to the screen by the same make-up artist who created “Fat Monica” for Friends.
    Still, I adored her on Flamingo Road all those years ago. And I love her affectionate stories of working the Days cast in this week’s Soap Digest.

    • mykleraus Says:

      She seems to have really enjoyed her stint on Days, which is great. And if the character does fun stuff, or she at least brings some flair to it, awesome. I just need to… adjust… to the face.

  2. underyourwing Says:

    i have been watching this show since 1997-ish and i have no clue who this character is. maybe my memory sucks. so i have no interest in her. but mikey you are right. she looks like the Pillsbury dough girl….she should have had her ‘work’ done early enough for her face to ‘settle’ because it sure as hell has not……

    how can these women well known famous women do this and actually not notice they do NOT look OK……denial I guess…..she looks ridiculous. dog bless her. .

    • mykleraus Says:

      She last appeared in 1991, I think, so this is a pretty deep historical dive. She was one of Justin and Adrienne’s main obstacles during their first run, and she was pretty close to Jack.

      I think what happens is they get a little work done, then you get work done on the work, and you kind of lose perspective. That has to be it.

  3. Shea Says:

    It’s a shame that Jane Elliot and Judith Chapman were both working on other soaps when they filmed this stint because I think using one of them again would have made this feel more organic to me. I honestly think my biggest problem with this show right now is just how forced EVERY little thing feels to me but I also imagine how EPIC this could have been if they could have gotten Susan Lucci or Robin Strasser to do this role!! Morgan Fairchild certainly has the acting chops but her appearance is just too distracting to me.

    • mykleraus Says:

      Jane Elliot would’ve been so fun to see back on Days.

      Everything does feel forced, even the stuff that’s kind of working for me. It’s like you have to make these big leaps just to buy into the premise of any given story.

  4. Mo Says:

    The way the scenes with Anjelica and Patch were shot was strange as well. Like they weren’t in the same room for some of them. Back, forth, back, forth. Maybe it was Morgan’s appearance that made it more obvious? It was a fun moment but here’s hoping it gets a little more exciting. I assume most of her catty scenes will be with Jennifer? I have issues with Melissa Reeves but I admire the way she has aged naturally. Putting her next to Ms. Fairchild? It might be time to hire a new agent Morgan!

    • mykleraus Says:

      It was weird, yeah. They were in the same shot a time or two, though. But I found it choppy. And they were trapped in that damn room the entire time!

  5. ADW Says:

    Yeah, more like “Sebastian Howard the Duck Face.” Oddly, it didn’t even dawn on me that Angelica might be involved, let alone be “Sebastian Howard” until I found out her exact air date a day or two prior to her appearance. I totally forgot bc most all things involving Adrienne and SS are beyond backburner material.
    I think it would make sense to bring Justin/Angelica’s son, Alexander back on the picture. I heard a rumor they were having him come to Salem however that was a long time ago.

    • mykleraus Says:

      “Sebastian Howard the Duck Face,” lol. Well done there!

      It’s actually sort of crazy to me how many different stories Adrienne has gotten — the love triangle, the breast cancer, Anjelica’s revenge — while being a recurring character. Jennifer and Kayla aren’t getting this level of material! It’s just a strange choice considering they took her off-contract and subsequently tell these stories using her for two episodes every other week.

      That casting call a while back seemed like it was for Alexander, but there’s been no news since…


Leave a Reply

