Ragin’ Cagin’

Well, this was very efficient.

Screen Shot 2017-05-10 at 6.26.08 AM

Before the first commercial break of Monday’s episode even aired, Nicole had thrown a glass of water on Xander, forcing him to remove his shirt. Best thing she’s done in months!

Side note: Paul Telfer (Xander) is generally hilarious and smart on Twitter, and if you haven’t seen it yet, please enjoy this thread of him and Melissa Archer (Serena) gleefully interacting with a fan who made a replica of the dreaded elephant statue.

I’m actually enjoying this story much, much more now that we’ve moved on from the Domestic Adventures in Manitoba portion. Not only was it glorious how Xander called Daniel “dull” (though I loved that), but I appreciated how the writing circled back to the beginning of all this: how Nicole chose Daniel over Eric and never really confronted how that would affect Eric, what drove Eric to drink so heavily, all of that. Meanwhile, Brady asking Eric to track down Xander and Nicole — silly as it might be, since Eric is just a dude who knew Xander in Africa years ago — feels like a serious turning point in the story. I couldn’t be more thrilled that this is now a little umbrella story, with the Eric/Jennifer relationship building just as Eric is about to be thrown back into the thick of things with Nicole.

Screen Shot 2017-05-10 at 6.27.21 AM

I still have no clue how Xander managed to transport Nicole and Holly back to Greece undetected, or why he appears to be keeping Nicole in the foyer of his villa (and how the household staff finds this normal), but there’s some fun new energy here, so I say let’s all just go with it.

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

22 Comments on “Ragin’ Cagin’”

  1. underyourwing Says:

    i, for one, am sick to death of the i am holly’s real mother and chole is an ogre (even if that is true.) i found myself getting just bored with the show today….the parts i turned the volume up on were few….probably just me.

    • mykleraus Says:

      It’s also weird because Chloe doesn’t seem THAT concerned about it, all things considered. I guess we never see her, but still.

      Today’s episode was worth watching just for Xander telling Deimos, “You really want to spend the rest of your life listening to this bitch?!” I cracked up.

  2. underyourwing Says:

    oh, btw…. !! where does marlena get off instructing an adult Jennifer to leave her adult son Eric alone? this makes me more nuts than usual……butt the heck out…i just wanna punch her in the throat.

    • mykleraus Says:

      Marlena has been so back-and-forth re: Jennifer/Eric. It’s confusing. Isn’t she the one who sent Jen to talk to Eric in the first place?!

      • Michelle Says:

        I’ve noticed this a lot lately. Characters flip flop depending on the episode. The dialogue overall is confusing imo.

      • mykleraus Says:

        I wonder if they’re cutting out scenes like they were last spring, in order to move things along faster. I remember being jarred by some weird, abrupt jumps back then, too.

  3. Shea Says:

    I get it Xander is supposed to be eye candy but there is too much bulk for my taste. Give me shirtless Eric any day.

    • mykleraus Says:

      This time around, he’s definitely looking bulkier than I tend to prefer. I also want him to have a different haircut. But with this damn show, I’ll take what I can get right now, y’know?

  4. underyourwing Says:

    also what is with his weird chest hair? his pecs look like a hairy upside down heart kinda….OR if you look at them upside down they look like hairy woman’s breasts. = eeeeeeeewwwwwww.
    oh dog….thanks guy!! now i am ‘examining’ this body……

  5. underyourwing Says:

    the more i look at nicole in that cage the funnier it becomes…..that incessantly yapping bitch.

  6. Simon Parris Says:

    Sorry to go off topic, but I had to mention that ridiculous sequence in the Brady Pub between Joey (looking pretty than he has ever looked, and I don’t really mean that as a compliment) and the guy who didn’t want to pay his bill.

    Much of the writing makes me roll my eyes (and tune out or fast forward) but those scenes about the lamest I have ever written seen. Pointless scene. Unconvincing dialogue. Awful acting, especially by the day player.

    And then Steve comes in and seems happy that his sons are engaging in homoerotic horseplay.

    If they really currently cutting out scenes, these should have been the first to go.

    • mykleraus Says:

      I liked what they were going for there, but the staging was super-cardboard-y. It felt like maybe they threw one of the stunt guys a few lines to play the drunken patron. I actually, er, sort of like the push-and-pull of the whole Tripp storyline. It’s almost old-school, with Kayla setting off Jade, Jade slipping to Tripp, Tripp getting the wrong idea about Kayla while bonding with Joey… I dunno, not hating it.

      Also, I thought Joey looked better than he has in FOREVER at first, and then I realized it was a ponytail. Still kind of better than that wild mane. He has such a nice face, and the hair distracts from that.

      And I was maybe a little into him and Tripp horsing around. At least JER would’ve given us a full wrestling match for absolutely no reason!

  7. underyourwing Says:

    were their shirts on??

  8. ADW Says:

    More shirtless Xander please. 🙂 Xander is such a violent, vindictive dude but, I still love having him back because Paul Telfer is such a suburb actor and I love his voice. I’m glad we know Xander’s backstory and why he is the way he is…
    By the way, Nicole in the cage reminded me that she did in fact, have a pomerian on the show. What ever happened to it and why doesn’t anyone seem to have pets since Jordan’s cat?

    • mykleraus Says:

      Xander injects some much-needed fun into all this crap. He’s not viable as a long-term character because he’s so crazy, but this is a good use of a short-term psycho.

      Nicole’s dog was… Pookie, right?


Leave a Reply

