Give Your Heart a Break

I can hardly believe I’m saying this, but there was a bunch of stuff in the latter part of this week that I genuinely enjoyed. Julie versus Gabi is great — between Julie’s various zingers about Gabi shooting men and Gabi daring to invoke Alice Horton (I loved the way they did that shot over Julie’s shoulder) — this all feels really fresh and interesting. And Julie faking a heart attack is completely over-the-top and ridiculous, which is how I like my Julie Williams.

Screen Shot 2017-04-22 at 11.21.01 AM

It’s a little absurd that Eli, an FBI agent who’s meeting all these new people and hearing their insane stories, had to wait for Sonny to tell him the full Gabi/Nick tale instead of doing some damn research on his own, but in general, I like the energy of what’s going on here. Of course, it also makes the tepid Abigail/Chad/Gabi/Dario story seem even flatter, what with Gabi already off in a more appealing storyline with an emotional center that actually makes sense.

But, speaking of Abigail, I do appreciate the effort in the writing to portray her as strong and determined. Her scenes with Eric were unexpected and lovely, and though I know they aren’t going there, it was a glimpse into an alternate universe in which that was the pairing they went with, and I didn’t hate it.

Look at me! Being positive and not complaining! I’m sure that means this upcoming week will be nothing but Kate shoving Chad and Gabi together while Hillary shows up at everyone’s door with muffins and a printout of her husband’s browser history, but I’ll take what I can get lately.

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “Give Your Heart a Break”

  1. underyourwing Says:

    that look on julie’s face is how i feel every time she is on camera…..legacy or not……overact much?

  2. Michelle Says:

    See I’m the opposite, Julie is the kind of camp I like. It’s who she is, an over the top diva. JER was the kind of camp I hated and he polluted the whole show with it.


Leave a Reply

