The New Guys

I don’t think I can accurately express how difficult it’s been for me to sit down and write this post. I put on the show, I start folding laundry or whatever, and I look up and realize I’ve missed half an episode without even noticing. I just do not care about most of the things going on right now — especially since 80% of the show is either Chad, Abigail, Gabi, and Dario wandering in circles having the same conversations and deciding that this time it’ll be fine to be friends, or this go-nowhere crap with Deimos. There’s so little sense of cause-and-effect lately; it isn’t so much that Event A leads to Event B as that Event A happens, everyone talks about it for a day or two, and then Event B happens, and it’s kind of similar to Event A except more boring because we’ve already seen it. Bleh.

was all set to complain some more about this stupid Nicole/Scooter setup, because I was going to wonder why she didn’t just tell this pig that she was drugged by her own father and forced to make that movie while underage, but they at least touched on that a bit. She definitely could’ve gone harder with it, but they surprised me by having Scooter move so fast to the truth about her real identity. I mean, that’s the ostensible real threat, right?

Screen Shot 2017-04-06 at 4.01.04 PM

Good thing Nicole has Brady looking out for her! A mere two weeks and they’ll be on their ways with new identities! Sure, he can go from Canada to Salem and back in the span of a single episode, but he can’t get them new IDs in under two weeks? Surely absolutely nothing could go wrong in that period of time, which will feel like approximately 13 eternities, the way Hillary keeps barging in and refusing to take a damn hint to GO AWAY.

I can hardly believe I’m saying this, but one of the highlights of the week for me was actually Ciara’s stuff!

Screen Shot 2017-04-06 at 4.00.37 PM

Maybe it’s because I know the actress is on her way out, but she’s bothering me less these days. Her date with Wyatt felt cute and relatively real, and I liked Roman being there in the role of supportive uncle. Couldn’t understand a damn thing he was saying, but I liked the idea! And Scott Shilstone is really charming as Wyatt. As was pointed out in the comments, of course this show has to go and make this weird by giving Ciara a love interest played by the dude who also played her dead brother, but I guess she wasn’t in that dream of Hope’s anyway, so maybe she can overlook it more easily than I can.

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “The New Guys”

  1. MMG Says:

    I thought the same damn thing. I loved the whole little cute scene, Roman retiring and transitioning to the Pub was a good idea, I think. But why would they cast as her date the guy who played her brother in hopes dream??? It distracted me the whole time knowing that. I know it means nothing in soap land but so tired of them taking a good idea and finding a way to screw it up.

    • mykleraus Says:

      Roman is so much more likable in this role. Maybe some of it is that he isn’t just gruffly barking at people. But this was a good route for them to go with him.

      Days loves recycling actors in weirdo ways. At this rate, they’ll probably cast the guy who played Chase as another love interest for her…

  2. Fluffysmom Says:

    I’m enjoying the B storylines like Adrienne/Justin/Lucas/Anne far more than the main stories.


Leave a Reply

