The Son Also Rises

I don’t know what’s more surprising: that David Banning, a character who hasn’t been onscreen since 1983, got an actual funeral, or that Maggie remembered her connection to the Hortons and not only showed up, but lent Julie one of her outfits to deliver her eulogy.

screen-shot-2017-02-25-at-11-21-44-am

Tell me that thing isn’t straight out of the Prince Memorial Line by Basic Black.

All in all, the funeral was pretty well done. There were actual people in attendance — it’s asinine that Hope wasn’t there (Did Rafe poison her with that picnic? Is this the start of some Munchausen-by-proxy storyline?), but Ciara and Claire stepping up to support Julie was nice. And I thought the writing did a nice job over these two episodes of filling in the story of Julie and David’s relationship, which until the past few months has literally not been referenced for decades.

Of course, it wouldn’t be a modern-day Days gathering if there weren’t an exchange like the following:

Valerie: And I’m so sorry about your son.
Maggie: He was a good man!

Yes, WE FUCKING GET IT. It isn’t even that I mind Daniel being referenced, really — it was polite of Valerie to offer her condolences, considering this was the funeral of Julie’s son and Maggie lost hers and Valerie has probably heard about him at the hospital (all over the damn hospital, all the damn time, if I had to guess). But this show’s fixation on mourning him is absolutely deranged. Valerie didn’t offer Hope her condolences on Bo. She didn’t even tell Maggie she was sorry to hear about the loss of Mickey, Maggie’s husband of four decades whom Valerie actually knew. Nope, all about Daniel!

And it also wouldn’t be a Salem event without a random long-lost relative waltzing in.

screen-shot-2017-02-25-at-11-18-28-am

So far, I’m digging Eli. The actor did well on his first day with tough material, and as dubious as I was of the whole “I just happened to take an ancestry test right before David Banning’s funeral” thing, they did a decent job of using his FBI background to motivate it. Anything that anchors Valerie to Salem and beefs up the Horton clan is fine by me, too. And I have to say, it was really nice to see so many black faces when the camera panned around that funeral. This is the first time in a long while that it’s felt like there was an actual black presence in Salem, which is beyond overdue.

Look at me, being all optimistic! It’s like I’ve never seen this show before.

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

17 Comments on “The Son Also Rises”

  1. Fluffysmom Says:

    When Maggie said “he was a good man” I immediately thought of you Mikey. No joke.

  2. underyourwing Says:

    this whole david manning (WHO?), Val and Eli(???) thing bugs the crap outta me. I do not know these people. I do not like these people and it was stupid to have a funeral for that guy who as you mentioned hasn’t been seen since ’83. Are these writers running out of better ideas? as you might guess I am not a Days historian tho I have been watching for……ever.

    • mykleraus Says:

      I find it interesting, but I’m also a total nerd for the history stuff. I do think they could’ve laid out the background a LITTLE better — I wonder if this is coming across as revisionist/newly created history to newer viewers rather than stuff that actually happened onscreen. Honestly, if they’re going to bring on new people, I like the idea of tethering them to the Hortons and to real history rather than just plopping in total unconnected randos like Tammy Sue, Serena, etc. But I kind of wish they’d had, say, Julie and Hope explain the entire history of Valerie to Ciara or something.

    • Shea Says:

      I understand some people feeling the way that you do since the last time the character of David was on screen was like 1983. I have a vague recollection of David and Renee’s relationship. Oddly when I read the character history it seems that David briefly dated Kayla (the Catherine Mary Stuart version) but I only remember Kayla dating Chris Kositchek back then.

      But David and Valerie were daytime’s first interracial couple so that makes these character significant to the history of Days of Our Lives. I almost wish they would have brought David back instead of killing him off but I understand it is all about introducing Eli and not rekindling the Valerie and David romance.

      • mykleraus Says:

        I think the first Kayla briefly dated Mike, too!

        If they had story for David, I definitely would’ve liked to have seen him back. But I also get the flipside — that isolating David, Valerie, and Eli (three basically new characters) in a story would be risky and weird for a lot of viewers. It could be done, but it’d be tricky. I also like that Valerie is actually a prospect for Abe (you know he’d lose to David otherwise). And David being dead adds a ton of fuel to the fire.

      • Shea Says:

        I’m not sure that Kayla and Mike ever actually dated on screen. It would have been super brief and right after Mike’s wife Margo had died. I don’t even remember any of that storyline but in 1982 I was only watching during the summer and on school holidays and sick days so I missed a lot but I am not positive their time on screen in 1982 even overlapped.

        I think they just threw in some references to Kayla and Mike dating like it was supposed to have happened back in high school and it was possibly meant to de-age the Mike character a bit when Michael T. Weiss took over the role. They also used references to that history to make both Steve and Jack a little jealous once or twice.

        I think my preference for bringing David back has more to do with wanting to see his interactions with Doug, Julie, and maybe even Hope. But given the complicated history of David’s relationship with Julie it would be interesting to see especially when you bring Eli in to the story.

      • mykleraus Says:

        Ohhhhh, interesting. I’ve always read about it being referenced but wasn’t sure if it was newly recreated backstory or one of those things where they went on 1-2 dates while getting over other people.

      • mykleraus Says:

        This is so random, but I have been procrastinating tonight by reading old SOD recaps posted at Daytime Royalty, and it actually specifies that Kayla dated Mike when she first arrived! I suspect they mean dated as in “went on one date,” but what funny timing.

        If you scroll down to the recap for January 18-22, 1982 at this link, you’ll see it — http://daytimeroyaltyonline.com/topic/8873236/11/

      • Shea Says:

        Interesting. I always remember a scene from later when Michael T. Weiss was on and he and Kayla had dinner with some woman who was supposed to be an old friend from school and I think that the vibe of that scene is where I got the impression they were supposed to have dated back in high school.

      • mykleraus Says:

        I’m actually wondering if it got retconned later on, or if this was one of those Eric/Serena “Oh, we used to know each other” things where they picked up having known each other years earlier. It would definitely fit with them having “planted” the Bradys as having been in Salem all along.

      • Shea Says:

        Yeah, I think it was probably just a case where Kayla was introduced as Roman’s sister and a girl that used to date Mike just so it appeared she had been in Salem all along.

  3. Matthew Says:

    As much as I enjoyed everything they aired with Julie this week, I think the show missed a major opportunity to show flashbacks with Julie and David.

    Flashbacks would help newer viewers feel more connected to the story by actually seeing Susan Seaforth Hayes interact with her son. They could have chosen some scenes in which they were discussing his relationship with Valerie.

    Even though the actress is different now, I would have loved to see some Valerie and David flashbacks too. Currrent Valerie could have even joked about how long her hair was back then.

    Agree on Hope’s absence…all I could think of was poison s’mores!

    Where were Shawn and Belle? Taking care of Hope?

    Also absent…a priest for the funeral!

    Loved Claire complaining about going because she never met the guy…very realistic. Ciara’s answer that you go to support the survivor was great writing too.

    Agree on the Daniel reference. I know how we all feel about Summer…but this was one time she should have been mentioned. When Julie talked about being so young and the father being gone so she gave up her baby…that was the exact situation Maggie went through with Summer so Maggie should have acknowledged that during that conversation.

    • mykleraus Says:

      They really should’ve gone for some Julie/David flashbacks. I get that the Valerie element is tricky, but yeah, scenes of her and David discussing Valerie would’ve worked. There was also a time when David was VERY against Julie/Doug, which would’ve been something to touch on.

      The absence of a priest was odd. This was really more a memorial than a funeral. I think Shawn and Belle are gone again — that day with Chloe (Monday?) was apparently their final airdate.

      That’s a good point about the Summer connection! I wouldn’t mind her being brought up in a context that makes sense. As much as I thought that story sucked, it also sucks when they create history like that and then ignore it.

  4. Matthew Says:

    One more observation….

    When Valerie introduced herself to Abigail in Chad’s hospital room,
    I wanted Abby to reply, “Well, I feel like I already know you since you did spend Christmas at my house at the traditional Horton ornament hanging while I hid upstairs in the attic letting most of my family and friends think I was dead.”

    To which Valerie would respond, “Ah yes, a traditional Christmas in Salem!”


Leave a Reply

