Days Renewed!

After all the rumors that Megyn Kelly’s move to NBC would spell the end of Days of Our Lives, and the news of a new head-writing regime… the network has just announced that it’s renewed Days for another year!

days-of-our-lives-today-151027-tease-01_18a0b0a663609ae0ed7daad3f609a12b

From TVLine:

Despite rumors that Days of Our Lives was nearing extinction, NBC has renewed the venerable soap opera for a record 52nd season, TVLine has learned exclusively. The pickup comes a month after the sudser fired co-head writer Dena Higley and replaced her with General Hospital vet Ron Carlivati. Days‘ other co-head writer, Ryan Quan, is sticking around as a creative consultant.

I was beginning to get nervous that the lack of an update meant NBC was just going to let the show keep filming until it had enough episodes banked to take them to the end of this contract and then decide not to continue airing it past that, but maybe they were waiting to see how things would look under Carlivati’s pen. It’s always difficult to get full clarification on this, but I believe this means it’s guaranteed to be on-air through September 2018. Or maybe November 2018. At any rate, there are more Days ahead, and with any luck, they’ll be able to right this ship and not have the next renewal be such a nail-biter.

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

12 Comments on “Days Renewed!”

  1. Fluffysmom Says:

    This is great news! I’m very happy for the cast, crew, and all of us loyal fans who watch through the good and the bad.

    • mykleraus Says:

      Same! ALL OF US have put in a hell of a lot of time and tears, haha. Also, I’m delighted the actors and crew get to have their jobs for another year at least. I know everyone works very hard, even when we bitch and moan.

  2. Damon L Jacobs Says:

    Truly wonderful news for the cast, crew, fans, and the industry as a while. DAYS has been an steady escape in my life, one of the few things that has remained consistent through the world’s ups and downs. I truly hope that RC’s writing and Greg Meng’s budget crunching can allow this show to grow, thrive, and flourish beyond 2018.

    • mykleraus Says:

      Yup! I hope for an uptick in the quality of storytelling, but I’m also thrilled that we get to keep Days in our lives — and I know they’re operating under crazy constraints, so I hope everyone continues to get to work and give their best.

  3. Michelle Says:

    Yeah as I’ve said before, as terrible as the show is right now, there’s something about it being on every day that gives me hope to keep watching. I’m glad I still have that hope to look forward to.

    • mykleraus Says:

      Exactly. I don’t want it to go away. I want them to do their best, and I know they’re under insane constraints in terms of budget and time, but I’d love nothing more than to see the show thrive. This has been 20 years of entertainment for me, and I hope for many more.

  4. underyourwing Says:

    yea !

  5. rustyspigot Says:

    I have been watching this for 30+ years on and off. As terrible as it gets at times it is still better than watching Kathie Lee get drunk in the morning.

  6. underyourwing Says:

    if that is the worst problem their pres is addressing i am moving there….


Leave a Reply

