Spoiler About Upcoming Actor Appearance

This one’s coming up soon, so definitely don’t click if you don’t want to be spoiled…

Episode # 10587

It’s being reported that, in the new Soap Opera Digest, there’s an item about Joseph Mascolo making a final onscreen appearance — taped months before his passing — that will air next Thursday, February 9th.

The most concrete thing I can find is this tweet from @nicholsevansfan, which is being passed around (and featured by Jason47) that says SOD published the February 9th date.

screen-shot-2017-02-02-at-11-05-48-pm

It isn’t totally clear to me that this is confirmed, but I have my fingers crossed that it is. We’ve speculated that Mascolo might’ve filmed something that was yet to air before he died, and it would certainly bolster this entire Prague adventure and aid in getting Hope off the hook. (I mean, she shot and killed someone, but no one in this ridiculous town ever thinks about the poor people who were turned into doppelgängers just to be shot/have their organs harvested/be sliced up with a liquor bottle/etc.)  We’ve already seen a Stefano stand-in, so I wouldn’t be shocked if this is a misinterpretation and “Stefano” appears via body double without Mascolo actually appearing in new scenes. But how awesome if they even managed to film a scene or two so that his face is definitively seen and Hope is cleared. I’m sure some people will be like, “What a waste! They didn’t even have him do kung fu and then jump off a moving train in real time!” — but I’ll take whatever we can get, if it means seeing Joe and Stefano on our screens one more time and tying up this hackneyed story.

(Is it too much to hope for a final “It’s good to be back?” before he slips off into the night forever?)

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “Spoiler About Upcoming Actor Appearance”

  1. underyourwing Says:

    oh this would be so bittersweet….joe was a force to be reckoned with. i really miss him a lot.

  2. Dino Says:

    I like reading the spoilers, it makes me appreciate the lead up to the surprise.

    • mykleraus Says:

      I go back and forth, but yeah. I like to know about casting spoilers, usually, because it gives context for why stuff is happening in the lead-up. Like I can’t imagine having watched that final Theresa arc without knowing Jen Lilley was leaving the show (though maybe it would’ve been more surprising?). I try to avoid the day-to-day story spoilers just so I’m not 15 steps ahead of the show while I watch, though.


Leave a Reply

