Osh Kosh OMFGosh

For everyone shocked by Eric’s new, hardened look since getting out of prison, please take in this screenshot [note: it is impossible to get good, clear screenshots of pre-HD episodes] of him attending a barbecue sometime in 1998 casually wearing overalls.

screen-shot-2017-01-28-at-2-26-30-pm

And no one even commented on it or made fun of him! Oh, innocence.

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

23 Comments on “Osh Kosh OMFGosh”

  1. Jamie Says:

    Look how young!! Who is that he’s holding, Will?

  2. Michelle Says:

    Was this the same 4th of July that a tooth chip implanted Vivian made everyone square dance? Oh and this also may be the one where Mike and Carrie kiss at the end, with a hidden Marlena watching! Fun times, unlike now.

    • mykleraus Says:

      OMG I THINK SO. Hahahahaha!

      • Michelle Says:

        I was big into Mike/Carrie at the time so those episodes will forever be stuck in my memory. I think it was the first time that the Horton 4th barbecue was mentioned as an actual thing. It lasted a few episodes. Arianne Zucker had only been on 5 months at that point, so she was still pretty dull.

      • mykleraus Says:

        I think it was probably the first mention, yeah. And they only did a few over the years.

        Nicole was such a snooze at this point. I think this even pre-dates Taylor #1.

    • Jamie Says:

      I LOVED Carrie and Mike together!!

      • mykleraus Says:

        Same! It felt so shocking (especially to me, as someone who’d only really seen JER Days and knew about the supercouple 80s) to throw over Carrie/Austin for a different pairing.

  3. underyourwing Says:

    i would have NVR known….

  4. Shea Says:

    This pic is the epitome of 1990s TV. If you didn’t know it was Days you could think it was a screen pic from Saved By the Bell, Boy Meets World or Beverly Hills 90210.

    I vaguely remember watching Days back then. This was when I was slipping from daily viewing to probably watching 2-3 times a week. I guess I should just go ahead and admit that I have never really liked Nicole. Obviously she started out with a lot of secrets and baggage but I quickly found her too manipulative. I always thought she looked too old for Eric when Jensen was in the role. I have tried to give her a chance over the years but I have never come around. I just always felt like Eric could do a lot better.

    • Michelle Says:

      I don’t remember anyone really liking Nicole with Jensen’s version of Eric, in fact I think they were pretty unpopular. Now that I think about it, he never really had a love interest that stuck, pretty as he was. They tried with he and Greta, but for whatever reason the writing always had him preferring Nicole.

      • mykleraus Says:

        I think they were one of those “I guess they’re okay” couples at best. They were probably the first post-JER couple that the show tried to build, and they were just very indistinctive, and too much of the story hung on Nicole’s secrets (which were unclear for a long time). I remember liking Eric/Greta, but mostly just because they were two characters I liked, portrayed by two actors I liked, and they seemed to come about organically rather than the show telling us we should love them.

    • mykleraus Says:

      Yes! Men in overalls, that short 90s haircut on Nicole, Eric’s hair part…

      Original Recipe Nicole *was* really boring. She was a strange combo of manipulative and passive. She had these secrets, but they weren’t really her fault, so she just mumbled to herself a lot and looked guilty in private moments. For me, she really came alive when they had her take the money to marry Lucas, and even more so when she sparked with Victor. Something about that stuff transitioned her into a proper vixen, and she became fun for me to watch.

  5. ADW Says:

    Hahaha 😂 Interestingly, we never really saw Father Eric (and post-Father Eric) last time he was in town be involved in any scenes/interaction with nephew, Will. Also, I don’t remember Eric reacting to his murder of his nephew either; Eric was probably too inebriated to see straight.
    I think some of the characters like Nicole actually looked better with their natural color or a slight sun kissed glow as opposed to that over-bronzed, fakey spray tan. I actually really like most ’90s fashion.

    • mykleraus Says:

      I remember being very curious to see how they’d handle Will’s sexuality and Eric being a priest. They addressed it briefly and had Eric give some reasonably middle-of-the-road spiel about everyone deserving to be happy and honest (I think). I remember wishing they’d made a bigger deal of it — not making Eric a homophobe, but really exploring what it would mean to go against official Church doctrine to support his nephew.

      I hate the overly bronzed look. It’s worse in HD, too.

  6. ADW Says:

    That right there was the first becoming bob we saw on Nicole following a very heinous short hair cut similar to Dorthoy Hamill’s hair nowadays. I remember when Nicole first appeared as a waitress with more of a dirty blonde color; I was wondering WTH such a beautiful girl would see a barber who only knows how to do haircuts from hair style books circa 1980s. Nicole sort of looked like Frauline Maria from Sound of Music while she grows out her hair to much more flattering bob or lob. Evidently, Nicole’s hair metamorphis is a vicious cycle, once it becomes long and sexy for a bit with a gorgeous variety of colors/high lights she proceeds to. chop it off…rinse, lather, repeat. I LOVED her hair when it was longer than shoulder length and brown with blonde highlights. Also, she looked pretty with more of a warmer auburn color as well.
    I have wondered if AZ sees the same hair stylist as Mackenzie Westmore aka Sheridan Crane from Passions. They did the same BS with her hair and it times I thought they were trying to make her look like Princess Diana who perpetually looked like she was wearing a rat or frozen toupee on her head.

    • mykleraus Says:

      Remember how every woman in the 90s had that short hair that kind of looked like Toad from Super Mario Bros.? It’s so funny to think of that being a ‘hip’ haircut now.

      Sheridan’s hair was usually a mess, too! Good catch.

      • ADW Says:

        YES! That was truly heinous I’m picturing Kate’s hair mid-90s as well as Bridget Fonda/Jennifer Jason Leigh from Single White Female who had that ugly bowl sort cut with big bangs and side burns. The pixie, elfish cut Julia Roberts donned in Peter Pan was atruious as well I screamed at the screen when I saw it because I loved her normal Pretty Woman long, thick, curly gorgeous auburn or red cascade.
        I honestly don’t like short hair much on women. Aside from when I was a baby I had short hair for a year when I was 18; I was called Mary Lou Retton/Keri Strugg and I’m small and I have a gymnast build as well! I had sort of a Gwenyth Paltrow from Sliding Doors look for a bit during that era (I started dying it blonde too) and I actually kind of like that cut because it looks cute with barrettes. Also, it looks like an up do from the front and not too bulky in shape so it didn’t look funny as I grew it back out.

      • mykleraus Says:

        Kate had that hair in the flashbacks they used in the Joe Mascolo tribute video! I was cracking up.

        There are some short hairstyles that look great, and some women pull them off so well. It’s been a long time since we had a woman on this show with REALLY chic short hair. I saw a clip of Adrienne’s back in 2011 and had forgotten how edgy it was.

  7. Emtv Says:

    Eric will always be Jensen Ackles for me

    • mykleraus Says:

      I had trouble imagining anyone else in the role before GV came onscreen, but he’s totally made the character his own, for me. It also helps that Eric was kind of a blank slate after 12 years away.


Leave a Reply

