Cancelled Casting Tidbit

Thought this might be of interest to some of y’all…

According to Serial Scoop, there was a casting call out last spring for a “Dr. Caleb Cooper” last spring/summer:

The character was a described as a “Good-looking loner. He lives on a self-sustaining farm in middle America, completely off the grid.… He finds peace and joy in nature. He keeps his past as a doctor secret, hiding the truth about a traumatic tragedy from his past.”

DAYS was looking for a strong, established actor between the ages of 44-55 to fill the role.

Actor Michael Lowry, who did stints on All My Children and One Life to Live in the past, posted a video of an audition he did for the role:

Serial Scoop adds that the role has “been scrapped,” which, of course it has, since Eric has clearly taken on the “Caleb” role — which was supposed to be involved with Hope — in this story. If I had to guess, Caleb was initially going to look like a love interest for Hope, but then he’d become obsessed with her and wind up as a crazed obstacle for Hope/Rafe, because this is Days and that’s how things go.

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Cancelled Casting Tidbit”

  1. Shea Says:

    Interesting. I am amazed at how many of these leaked auditions wind up online…especially ones that give up spoiler information like the one I saw last month that revealed an upcoming engagement.

    I saw where Dena is out and Ron Carlivati is in as the new head writer. I am an occasional GH viewer too and I have mixed feelings about what he did there so I don’t know what to think. I honestly think I would like to see new blood instead of recycling the same writers over and over but at this point in the game I doubt Days could take that kind of a risk.

    • mykleraus Says:

      You’d think they would force the actors to sign some kind of NDA before taping these. They’re getting posted (or at least seen) more and more, and I find it very odd.

      I just did a post on the Higley/Carlivati thing. I’m both shocked and not. It reminds me a bit of when Days hired Hogan Sheffer, who everyone thought had shown at ATWT that he would be great for Days but then made a damn mess of it, but I have my fingers crossed here. One thing is for sure: Carlivati actually loves soaps and will use the history to build his new stuff.


Leave a Reply

