Latest on the Future of Days

During NBC’s presentation to the Television Critics Association this past week, some of the honchos had things to say about the pending renewal for Days. From Deadline Hollywood:

“We haven’t made decisions, but we like that show,” NBC chairman Bob Greenblatt told Deadline at TCA. “I think we will know more in couple of months. As they age, these shows diminish, there is a lot of delayed viewing and very little linear viewing anymore, you have to keep looking at that.”

Added NBC Entertainment president Jennifer Salke, “We hope that the show comes back.”

This leaves me cautiously optimistic about the show getting another renewal. We’re really coming down to the wire here, but these comments sound a little bit like a “Get your shit together” threat. I still don’t think they’re confident in the ability of any talk show — including and especially Megyn Kelly, whose “popularity” feels very tied to the now-finished election cycle — to carry that hour any more effectively than Days has done in recent years, but it also can’t keep sliding for the rest of eternity.

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

19 Comments on “Latest on the Future of Days”

  1. Mary Says:

    I will never watch this stataption ever again if they take Days off. days followeres need their fix.

  2. Michelle Says:

    As much as I complain I’ll be so sad to see the show go whenever that is. There’s something about a soap being on everyday that gives us hope to keep watching even when it sucks, with a prime time show I probably would have given up after these last two regimes.

    • mykleraus Says:

      A daily show like this is kind of like real life (not what’s happening onscreen — none of that reflects the actual world in basically any way whatsoever). You ride out the bad periods, you remember the good ones, you hope for better days ahead. It’s almost more a part of your life than simply something you choose to watch. I drop primetime shows so easily, but I never really consider dropping Days — I just figure out other ways to get through it when it’s wretched or boring.

  3. Farah Says:

    I have feeling they’re trying to get Corday to lower the licencing fee again.

    • mykleraus Says:

      I wouldn’t be surprised. I cannot imagine they could cut the budget much more and still produce 38 minutes of television a day, but I guess we’ll see.

  4. Jackie Says:

    Please don’t take it off the air. I’ve watched since the very first episode. I was 16. You must realize that there are way more working women these days so they have to record it. That’s what I did as a working single mom. I couldn’t wait to get home to watch it. In the early years before graduating high school, my mom kept me posted every day on what happened in Salem. Now I’m retired and homebound so it’s the highlight of my day. I eat my lunch with Days every day that it’s on. I don’t want to Boycott NBC, IM A FAITHFUL FAN.

    • mykleraus Says:

      That’s the thing they need to play up more — that this is a generational thing, a family tradition that gets handed down. I can’t believe they blew it with the 50th anniversary by not running some big campaign (which they could’ve done cheaply via social media!) emphasizing that aspect of it and how valuable the show is in that regard.

  5. underyourwing Says:

    give me fantasy insanity and joyous annoyances over Any One else yapping in my face like what they have to say deserves my attention….

  6. underyourwing Says:

    let us rest out collective sphincters!! from Vanity Fair:

    NBC insiders tell me that a decision has not been made about when Kelly’s weekday show will air. I’ve heard everything from 9 A.M. to 10 A.M. to 1 P.M. Each time slot sets off a minor shockwave somewhere in the television universe. The one P.M. rumor, for instance, set the soap-opera world atwitter, given that that particular slot is currently occupied by Days of our Lives, one of the longest-running scripted television programs in the world, airing nearly every weekday since November 8, 1965. Yet it appears more likely that Kelly will inhabit the nine A.M., that nebulous third hour of Today that Billy Bush briefly occupied before the revelation of his participation in Donald Trump’s infamous Access Hollywood hot-mic moment forced him out of the network.

    That proposition would put Kelly right next to the most coveted spot in television news: the seven to nine A.M. segment of the Today show.

    • ADW Says:

      How about TPTB consider scaling Days back to 30 minute slot like Bold and the Beautiful? I think this would be a suitable compromise as it will save some money and the network can put 30 more minutes of news or some more flapping mouth drivel. I just want my favorite show to stay on!
      I wasn’t aware that Billy Bush was gone for good. I admit I didn’t really follow that story very closely; I tend to ignore all things Trump (with exception of Alec Baldwin’s hilarious impressions on SNL) so that I stay on good spirits and keep my sanity intact.

      • mykleraus Says:

        I think it’s actually less fiscally helpful to scale it back to 30 minutes than to keep it at 60, since shooting 38-ish minutes with the same actors/sets/crew/studio space doesn’t really cost THAT much more than shooting 19-ish minutes. I remember seeing a breakdown of this once a long time ago that made a lot of sense. You can get double the ad revenue for the hour-long program, whereas having to film something else entirely to fill the extra half-hour would cost way more.

    • mykleraus Says:

      I keep seeing versions of this report, which I’m trying to take some solace in. It makes way more sense to slot MK in during that weird lost hour of Today anyway — and I think it’d be setting her up for failure for sure if they killed a 51-year-old scripted show to stick her on in the middle of the day.

  7. underyourwing Says:

    wouldn’t a 30 minute show really = about 15 or 17 real minutes??
    ya know, gotta have those annoying commercials….also in the bay area I watch days on CH 11 which preempts this show if someone farts….or is playing tennis…..or it rains…. so i love that reminder scroll: no epis will be missed. dool will return in a month….

    • mykleraus Says:

      Yeah, The Bold & the Beautiful is a half-hour soap and it’s about 18 minutes of show a day. I actually think that’d be more manageable in a lot of ways, because they wouldn’t have to fill and drag, but they’d probably just skip all the actual interesting connective scenes and rush to the idiotic plot ones.


Leave a Reply

