Yule Never Believe It

To the surprise of no one ever, I started sobbing the second these came onscreen:

screen-shot-2016-12-23-at-11-09-02-am

Every. Damn. Year.

I never tire of this tradition. Even in the worst of Days years, they tend to pull out some heart and soul for the Horton ornament hanging. This year’s, I thought, was pretty good — it’s so nice to see that living room full of people, and they’ve officially embraced Doug and Julie as the patriarch and matriarch of that family, which feels so right. They even showed a pretty wide swath of the ornaments this year. I thought it was bizarre that Lucas wasn’t there, especially since he couldn’t celebrate Thanksgiving with his family due to being passed out in a hotel room waiting for his runaway bride to wake up.

I’m surprised, however, that Julie didn’t have some shady comment about how Valerie brought her own Christmas globes to the party.

screen-shot-2016-12-23-at-11-17-02-am

A cleavage window wouldn’t have been my first choice for Christmas at the home of people I hadn’t seen for 30 years, but hey, you do you, girl. On the plus side, Salemites have a long tradition of dressing like high-class hookers for formal events, so she’ll fit right in if/when she decides to stick around!

Meanwhile, Maggie decided to honor a departed loved one with her Christmas outfit this year.

screen-shot-2016-12-23-at-11-22-41-am

I never knew she was such a huge fan of Prince, but his death clearly hit her hard.

screen-shot-2016-12-23-at-11-09-48-am

Look at those sleeves! (I’m also 99% sure this is not the first time I’ve covered a female Salemite dressing just like Prince.) And sorry for that traumatizing screenshot of Daniel’s ornament, but it was the best view I could get of Maggie’s sleeves. I will say, though, that as much of a blight as Daniel was on the viewers, this is the first Christmas since his passing, so it felt appropriate for Maggie, Jennifer, and JJ to have that little moment of remembrance for him. They all loved him, for whatever insane reason, so it was the right thing to do. Kind of like making yourself throw up when you’re really hungover.

screen-shot-2016-12-23-at-11-08-00-am

I continue to be incredibly distracted by that couch. It’s not even a year since Ciara was raped on that very couch, and she’s sitting on it like it’s no big deal. So gross. I thought they might actually address Chase’s ornament — like having it break, or someone choosing to throw it away — but I suspect this writing regime is trying to minimize that entire “storyline.” Anyway, replace the damn couch, please.

I was also (surprisingly?) moved by the sight of Nicole holding a child that is, finally, biologically hers.

screen-shot-2016-12-23-at-11-18-28-am

The logistics of the birth were completely ridiculous: why was that motel abandoned? How was Chicago buried under snow but Salem, which is within easy driving distance, was totally fine? This whole story feels rhythmically off — maybe because they’re writing around Nadia Bjorlin’s maternity leave, or because Deimos is being written as the hero — but the core of it works, and I love that Brady is involved. And having Nicole be the one to name the baby is both touching and means they won’t have to do some awkward renaming once the truth comes out. Color me stunned that no one even suggested Danielle as a name, but hey, Christmas miracles do happen.

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

22 Comments on “Yule Never Believe It”

  1. Farah Says:

    Valerie won’t truly fit in until she dresses as hooker for work! That’s the Salem way. It doesn’t matter if you’re a supposedly high powered CEO or work at a church, the sluttier the better!

    Also on a totally petty and irrelevant note: I’m disappointed that Nicole named her baby Holly. That’s such an ugly and dated name (Sorry Holly’s!). Danielle would be prettier (or Erica 😉). The Days writers are weird; first Tate and now Holly. Why won’t one of them check most popular baby names of the 2010s?

    • Mo Says:

      I wouldn’t be surprised if Holly pulled A Genie/Theresa and shows up SORASed named Kylie or something in 8 – 15 years.

      • Farah Says:

        I could too! Or how Georgia became Chelsea. It doesn’t even have a cute nickname like Allie/Alice.

        This is coming from someone who thought Sami disqualified herself from getting Sydney when she wanted to name that baby Grace! Nicole gave her a way prettier name! 😂😂😂

      • mykleraus Says:

        I actually love the name Grace — I think it’s really pretty. But yeah, Holly is a tough one. When Nicole was rattling off the Christmas-y names, she blew right past Natalie, which I think is very cute.

      • mykleraus Says:

        Ugh, totally. I actually don’t mind Holly, though it does feel dated. At least she didn’t name her Fay…

    • mykleraus Says:

      True! Never forget Jordan showing up to work with physical therapy patients in a mini-dress (also with cleavage window!) and stilettos. Practical *and* slutty!

      Of all the baby names on Days over the years, Tate might be my least favorite. I wouldn’t have minded it if they’d given it to an adult character who arrived in town, but it was such a random, unexplained name for Brady and Theresa to give that kid. Brady couldn’t have pushed for Isaac or something, after Isabella? He has a dead mother, and they named his son after a potato!

      • Farah Says:

        It just doesn’t fit with any possible last name. Holly Walker? Holly Jonas (Holy Jonas barf), Holly Brady, Holly Lane or Holly Walker-Brady.

        It’s better than Daniel Raphael, but not by a large margin! Nicole makes it hard for me to root for her having kids.

      • mykleraus Says:

        Ugh, you’re right. Of all the last names on the show, it might actually go with DiMera best…

      • Farah Says:

        When you’re seducing your patients, you have wear date clothes to work! It’s saves time.

      • mykleraus Says:

        True! You never know when you’ll need to wander out of work to go walking through the local homicide park for a sexy meet-up.

      • Mo Says:

        Tate is really really bad. If DAYS holds to creepy tradition of children of the same age growing up and falling in love that only leaves Ariana for Tate and I refuse to call their coupling Tatariana… Unless they are somehow related? I can’t keep track anymore?

        It would figure Daniel’s daughter would get an annoying name. If Soap Opera Digest keeps to tradition they will have to type “Holly(DAYS)” next to any actress who plays her though. Christmas pun!

        I’m going to start dressing more slutty to work or go slumming it in my local murder park now thanks guys!

      • mykleraus Says:

        “Holly (DAYS),” hahahaha! I did not see that one coming.

        Tate and Arianna are related, through the Will/Theresa Brady connection. Thank goodness… I guess?

      • Farah Says:

        @Mo

        Tate and Ari are related! Theresa and Will are second cousins. They’re related through Roman and Kim being siblings. When in doubt just assume everyone is related because they probably are!

      • mykleraus Says:

        It seriously took me a few minutes to find the connection. I had a sense that there had to be one, but I really had to dig to figure out what it was. Whew!

      • Mo Says:

        Thanks! After I wrote that I couldn’t place it but I thought they were. I knew John was both of their grandpa’s but not by blood on Ariana’s side. Jesus! If you get together in Salem it’s probably best to never open up the old photo albums. Just shrug and hope your baby doesn’t come out with a full set of teeth and 3 eyes…

      • mykleraus Says:

        Tate was very nearly an incest baby himself! When Brady and Theresa first met, Brady was still technically a, well, Brady, until Hope strolled in and told him one day that John called to notify her that he’d found out he *wasn’t* Colleen and Santo’s son after all. Almost immediately afterward, the Brady/Theresa relationship began. It was such a transparent move so that they could pair the two of them.

  2. Mo Says:

    I love the Ornament hanging as well. It’s my second favorite DAYS Christmas moment. The year Hope was beaten with a Christmas stocking full of oranges in prison is my all-time favorite…

    Pretty crappy to hang Will’s ornament but not Sonny’s! I wonder if Jennifer “dropped” that one and broke it? If they can still find room for psycho Nick Fallon they could at least put Sonny facing a bookcase or something. Not to bring down the holiday spirit but between Will, Nick, Tom, Mickey, Alice, Bo, Daniel that tree is a somewhat morbid graveyard at this point. Maybe do a separate smaller tree next year for everyone alive/on contract?

    I wish Maggie had broken the third wall this year! It’s one of my favorite parts of the Horton Christmas! Valerie’s cleavage about broke the third wall all by itself this year! Happy Holidays everyone!

    • Mo Says:

      oops I meant 4th wall. Too much eggnog!

    • mykleraus Says:

      #NeverForget that wonderful Hope moment.

      I totally forgot about Sonny’s ornament. And shouldn’t Chad really have gotten one this year? He married Abigail last spring. I guess the fact that he was too lazy to bring the baby over got him disqualified.

      And it’s totally morbid. Every single character grouping had to take a moment to reflect upon at least one dead person. That’s definitely accelerated in recent years.

  3. Erin L Says:

    The entire time she was trying to think of a name I was thinking she was going to name her Danielle. I actually teared up when Nicole was holding her and Chloe was trying to tell her that she is Nicole’s. But then they did the cliche soap thing for the second time in the month and Chloe sputtered out “The truth is…” And passed out. It would have been so much more satisfying (for me) if she had just told her. Thoes were beautiful scenes and it felt like a perfect ending to that part of the story line. When will I learn that they have to drag everything out to excruciating length?

    • mykleraus Says:

      Chloe passing out at least felt soapy to me. The problem is that they can’t just resume with Chloe not telling her once she wakes up — she’s going to become more and more unlikable if she’s only doing this because Nicole is involved with Deimos, as much as he sucks. If Nicole gets the baby now, I’m not sure where else the story goes. (I also think removing Philip from the equation was a mistake.)


Leave a Reply

