Someone in Burbank Hates Me

If I may quote the great Nancy Kerrigan: WHYYYYY?? WHY MEEEEEEE?!?!?!

screen-shot-2016-12-12-at-11-03-52-pm

Enough! Go away, you dumb dead asshole!

Objectively, I like that the show is open to bringing back departed characters for short appearances as the plot warrants. This wasn’t always the case; when I began watching in the late 90s, you hardly ever heard the names of people who weren’t actively on the show, let alone got to see them in cameos. But in recent weeks alone, we’ve had Shane, Kim, Laura, Nancy, Eve, and now Ghost Daniel. That’s great. And I was thrilled to see five of those six! The sixth, however… ugh. Of course, it makes sense for Nicole to continue thinking of and imagining Daniel. (She’s possibly having the most realistic grieving period anyone in Salem has had in a long time.) And it isn’t as if I hate Shawn Christian. He’s a perfectly capable actor, and he managed to have chemistry with just about every woman they paired him with. But we had to endure eight damn years of everyone crowing about what a Great Man Daniel was, even when his behavior flew completely in the face of decency. Mauling the woman who broke Brady’s heart and raped Eric? He’s very sorry and he’s a terrific friend! Slamming the door in Nicole’s face and telling her she’s trash? What a dream man! Ugh.

And now he appears to Nicole in a dream to encourage her to move on with her life and find love again. This is a classic soap trope, and normally I’d be onboard, but a) it involved seeing Daniel again, and b) he’s encouraging her to move on with Deimos. Deimos, a man who is somehow an even more execrable choice for Nicole than Daniel himself. Yeah, Daniel was a judgmental hypocrite, but he was at his core a fundamentally decent person and a good father. Deimos is a deranged sociopath, at least going by what we’ve seen onscreen, even though the show continually tries to tell us otherwise. I’d be completely onboard with him as a villain — Vincent Irizarry is a fine actor, and he’s had good chemistry with both Arianne Zucker and Lauren Koslow — but they either can’t make up their minds or are startlingly oblivious to how the character is reading onscreen. He isn’t a good longterm match for Nicole. This is not EJ/Sami 2.0 (who were plenty problematic in their own right!). He does something vile, someone blasts him for it, then he swears he’s changed and that person apologizes to him, and the cycle begins anew. It’s sloppy and confusing, and it’s quickly reaching the Daniel level of rage on my Hate-o-meter.

Also, today is the 6th anniversary of this blog, so how fitting that this post centers on Daniel, because roughly 78% of everything I’ve ever posted is about how much I hate him.

screen-shot-2016-12-12-at-11-07-25-pm

In less wretched news, how nice to see Kassie DePaiva and Eve again! Yeah, it was a little ridiculous how she just showed up and browbeat Brady into allowing her to stay at the Kiriakis mansion to take care of Tate — though I’m sure Victor will secretly be grateful to have another object for whore and hooker jokes in his home — but the emotional core of tying all this to her loss of Paige really works. And I loved that they brought her into contact with Jennifer and had Eve reach out about Abigail’s “death.” Those scenes were complicated, because Eve’s condolences were genuine, but Jennifer knows that her own daughter is alive but Eve’s isn’t. The actresses work so well together, and I’m glad they continue to play that history. Eve’s reaction when Abigail is revealed to be alive should be interesting — if DePaiva is still onscreen by then, I guess. I’m hoping for some word soon on her recovery and when she’ll be back in Salem.

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

26 Comments on “Someone in Burbank Hates Me”

  1. JoBean Says:

    re: Daniel, we can’t forget being Dr. Happy Pants with every single female patient he ever had (including that super-skeevy moment with Chelsea back in the day).
    I also don’t see how either Stefano baiting Hope or his having a terminal illness is supposed to make shooting him legal? I’m not actually complaining because I LOVE the situation with Hattie and Chille and T Boz, just wondering how all of this investigating is going to turn into “it’s ok that she killed someone because after all, he REALLY pissed her off and he was asking for it and he would have died at some point soon anyway”.
    Agree with everything you said about Deimos.

    • Matthew Says:

      I’m guessing they are going to turn the Hope/Stefano story into saying her actions legally fall under “assisted suicide” even if that wasn’t her intention.

      • mykleraus Says:

        That seems to be what they’re going for, which is insane, but I guess they don’t have many options for clearing up this mess they inherited. I could almost go for some reveal that Stefano slipped Hope a drug before that encounter, just to be done with this.

    • mykleraus Says:

      There was a stretch of 5-6 years where he banged literally every woman who came under his care. I remember getting very nervous when it briefly seemed like Sami might have cancer in the summer of 2011, because they were sharing scenes — but then new writers came in and that storyline vanished.

      That’s my thing about Hope’s case: just because Stefano might’ve wanted her to shoot him doesn’t mean that it was okay! If he had somehow manipulated the pulling the trigger, then, yeah, sure, but that wasn’t what happened.

  2. Simon Parris Says:

    Congratulations on six years of What Happens in Salem! I’m sure you’ve helped to keep many a Days viewer sane by letting us laugh at the insanity.
    Incredible to think how many ‘writing regimes’ they have burned through in that time period. The show is definitely more enjoyable at the moment, so hopefully they can keep this up…

    • mykleraus Says:

      Thanks! It’s helped keep *me* sane, too.

      I think we’re on the fifth writing regime since I began in November of 2010, though three of those involved Dena Higley…

  3. Denise Says:

    Congratulations on six years! You are consistently “right on” and damn funny and entertaining to boot. Always a great read.

    Deimos is burning my butt too. I THINK they mean him to be a replacement for John Aniston’s, Victor. Back in the day, Victor was obviously the “bad” guy, but with something of a heart and some redeeming qualities (his love for Caroline, Bo, Justin, etc.). The character was simply written better and much more clearly. He was a manipulative bastard, but a dashing one. They’ve got Vincent I. bouncing all over the place character-wise, like a ping pong ball. It’s like they are afraid the audience won’t like him! We all love to hate the villains! Pick a team! I say go bad – much more fun. He’s coming across as a split personality – and an irritating one.

    About Daniel…sigh…we can’t get rid of him. His smarmy face is destined for flashback/dream/angel sequences to haunt us forever, I’m afraid.

    • mykleraus Says:

      Thank you! It’s been a great way to find a community of people who want to discuss the show intelligently/humorously, too — that’s been a lot of the fun for me.

      I think you’re right about what they *think* they’re doing with Deimos. But yeah, it’s heavy-handed and uneven. I really doubt anyone in 1985 was going, “Victor is such a good man!” or “He has such good judgment!” five minutes after finding him with his nephew tied up and drugged. It’s bizarre. Just let him do bad stuff, then let us see him being kind to people he loves in different moments. Let us understand why he does the bad things. We’ll get that he’s supposed to be gray, I promise!

      They’ll probably cancel Days and just broadcast Shawn Christian’s face for an hour a day.

  4. Matthew Says:

    Congratulations on six years! It’s a fantastic achievement. Reading your commentary (and that of the guests) really adds another dimension of enjoyment to the show.

    • mykleraus Says:

      Thank you! Building a community of people who like to discuss the show in actual intelligent ways has really made it worthwhile. It makes watching more enjoyable (or at least tolerable).

  5. ADW Says:

    Go away Dr. Tan, don’t you have things to see, things do, and angels to screw? Once again, they have people crashing into each other in the square, it’s so cliche and tired however it was hilarious that it was Jen/Eve AND Jen drops Abbie’s drugs for Brady to see 😂 Jen looked terrified to see Eve and questioned why Eve in Salem which I found pretty shitty and absent-minded considering Eve actually does have friends in Salem as well as a newly motherless nephew. Evidently, Eve was finally ready to bury the hatchet but, Jen had a bug up her butt as usual and didn’t except the peace offering to reach out to Mother of dead daughter to Mother a daughter who almost everyone thinks is dead. I’m wondering if Laura wrote Abbie’s scripts in Jen’s name or an alias? After all, Abbie is supposed to be dead. Brady didn’t comment on the name on the script after eyeing the bottle or perhaps he was too dumb to notice.
    I might need more time to warm up to Demios and Nicole as a couple. I find them less compatible that Nicole/Eric the first time around but, more compatible than sanctimonious, judgmental, former womanizing Daniel.

    • ADW Says:

      *why Eve WAS in Salem
      *accept a peace offering, damn you auto correct

    • mykleraus Says:

      I figured Brady just can’t read, so he was faking it and Jen got lucky. But yeah, I guess the prescription has to be in Jennifer’s name since she said they were antidepressants for her and he seemed to look at the bottle and confirm that.

      I think Nicole and Deimos are (or could be) compatible as people, but his actions are so all over the place, and the whole thing about his dead fiancée makes their origins really uncomfortable. I just have no real idea what she’s thinking.

  6. Jamie Says:

    6 years, that’s awesome! Congrats!

    I’m with you on Daniel, usually…. However in this case, I have to say I much prefer Nicole in bed with dream/ghost Daniel than with Deimos. Why are they constantly in bed?? I don’t know why, but there’s something about the two of them in bed together that really skeeves me out and makes me feel really uncomfortable.

    Plus, I love that in Nicole’s dreams, Daniel is clean cut and actually looks like he’s showered, unlike when Daniel was alive…

  7. Mo Says:

    Congrats on 6 years! I’ve been reading for about 2 and love to laugh along with all of you! It’s so refreshing compared to FB fan pages on Facebook where every comment is “Bring back Sami!” or “Gabi is no good for you Chad!” like the writers/characters are going to be reading the comments… Anyway congrats and keep up the good work!

    • mykleraus Says:

      Thank you!

      I can’t stand the FB pages or most of the boards. The people seem to be unable to separate actors from characters or don’t realize that the characters aren’t actually reading their comments. Oy.

  8. Daisy Says:

    Thanks for 6 years of putting Days in perspective for us. I am a little jealous of all the sympathy you get for having to put up with Dr. Dan for 8 years. I have had to put up with Marlena Evans for 30+ years and no one feels my pain.

  9. underyourwing Says:

    Six years of Daze…..and confusion. Amazing stamina Mikey….I don’t know how you do it….but I am so happy you do……F A M I L Y !
    x’s & o’s

  10. Fluffysmom Says:

    Everytime I see …. Someone in Burbank hates me…I smile and laugh.

    Congrats on reaching the 6 year mark. You always manage to find something to make us laugh.

  11. Damon L. Jacobs Says:

    You are wonderful Mikey, you certainly have enhanced my experience of enduring such chaos these last four+ years. AND you call my attention to fashion details I never would have noticed. I hope your love, passion, and snark are being appreciated by TPTB (I’m pretty sure they are).


Leave a Reply

