It Was a Perfect Illusion

“For my next trick, I will prove what imbeciles my enemies are by standing ten feet in front of them and conducting a magic show with half my face showing and my voice the same as normal, and they won’t notice a thing!”

screen-shot-2016-10-29-at-2-03-31-pm

Aside from the fact that it required our “heroes” to be even bigger idiots than usual — which is no small feat, especially for Marlena and John — I dug this whole thing. I don’t even know what kind of cockamamie explanation they’re giving for how in the hell Orpheus was presumed dead but was actually alive, or how he got out of the morgue, but the whole magic show bit feels old-school in a fun way. I assume this is the final climax of this whole escaped convicts storyline, because these guys hit Wile E. Coyote status weeks ago, but it’s nevertheless entertaining.

In general, I just like that they bothered with Halloween this year.

screen-shot-2016-10-29-at-2-07-54-pm

It’s always a treat to see the characters/actors dressed up in costume, although no one was living his fullest life more than that dude in the sunflower outfit, who was literally in the background of every single shot that took place in the Square during Friday’s episode. Hope and Julie actually mentioning David Banning was great. Roman teasing Rafe about the gladiator costume was cute. Ciara dressed up as a cop pointing a (fake) gun at an autistic black man was… wait… not a good thing at all. (Seriously, no one thought better of that?) And the ending with Andre playing Hope’s confession was pretty damn classic. I’m kind of excited for Monday’s episode, and that isn’t something that happens too often these Days.

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Television

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

8 Comments on “It Was a Perfect Illusion”

  1. Matthew Says:

    Don’t forget that Joey’s Halloween hair was almost an improvement over his regular hair!

    • mykleraus Says:

      OMG, seriously. I was cracking up at how the other actors just kept touching his wig. I don’t think that was even part of the scene — they were just doing it for fun.

  2. Mo Says:

    Salem Hospital barely had time to wipe all the blood off the floor from the previous DAYS crisis before hosting a magic show at the nurses station… I agree it was fun “classic DAYS” silliness though and I enjoyed it. Glad I am not the only one who obsesses over the day-players who make up the background of these characters lives. Flower guy probably went to college for acting. Hollywood is a cruel place. Rafe looked better in that gladiator uniform than he usually does and his chemistry with Hope was even improved! He should wear that every day.

    • mykleraus Says:

      It’s never too soon for these people to throw a party! Remember how Will got murdered and the next day, everyone was like, “Hope, Will would want you to have a bachelorette party!!”?

  3. Erin L Says:

    The guy in the sunflower is my favorite part. He is Will Smith from an episode of Fresh Prince. I wondered if anyone caught that.

  4. ADW Says:

    LMAO 😄 I can’t wait to see that! It’s so much better than recent Halloweens such as a couple years Brady walking in on Daniel and Kristen dry humping. 😝
    The thought of Orpheus doing the whole Phantom of the Opera magician thing I’m having flash backs of Stephano/Marlena and Ernesto when he was a magician during the Cruise of Deception summer. I wish he could make Ciara, Claire, or Joey’s hair disappear.

    • mykleraus Says:

      “Brady walking in on Daniel and Kristen dry humping”… talk about a real fright night! Yikes. I remember covering my face at that train wreck.

      Orpheus’s act actually reminded me of Ernesto, too!


Leave a Reply

