Putting It Out There

Ciara looks the way I felt watching her try to emote.

Screen Shot 2016-08-25 at 8.57.32 PM

I’m a big fan of being patient and letting young actors learn and blossom, but those scenes of her confessing her love to Chad were absolutely painful. There was one particular line — which I was sure I’d misheard, so I rewound twice — where she said, “You probably think I’m some naive girl who’s in love with his boss!” His! Upon replay, I could see the actress realizing she was saying the wrong word, pause almost imperceptibly mid-word to correct it, and then just let it happen. Her speech patterns for much of the episode did not resemble any I’ve encountered on this planet, let alone conjure actual emotion. Meanwhile, you had Billy Flynn trying to pretend he had an actual scene partner and doing his best to get blood out of a stone. Hire this man for the next Avatar, since he’s clearly capable of convincingly acting against a green screen.

This story was ill-conceived to begin with, and I thought they’d cut it off at the knees when they randomly had Ciara living back at Hope’s place. With any luck, this was just a way to wrap up the dangling thread and shove Ciara back into a more age- and sense-appropriate triangle with Theo and Claire, or off a cliff, or whatever.

On the other side of Chad’s story, we had Belle acting so decent and likable that I was worried I’d flipped on the wrong show. How is it that the character (and actress, honestly) does such a 180 whenever they get her out of romantic or sexual scenes? Her compassion for Jennifer felt complex and real. I did burst out laughing when she declared to Chad, “I have no patience for self-pity!” Excuse me? This from the woman who spent the top half of 2016 boo-hooing over how her daughter (whom she was neglected) hated her, her husband (on whom she cheated) wouldn’t just forgive her, and her boyfriend/ex-husband wasn’t happy being strung along and wanted an actual commitment?!

Meanwhile, Jennifer was able to clean herself up in time to go address the local Chamber of Commerce.

Screen Shot 2016-08-25 at 9.22.53 PM

Seriously, have you ever seen such a fancy AA meeting? Normally these types of social issue storylines are supposed to induce people to take action in their own lives, but I feel like the folks struggling with addiction who watched this episode (of the 36 total viewers) probably thought, “I kind of want help, but I don’t want to get dressed up and give a damn TED Talk! Where’s my vodka?!”

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Uncategorized

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

27 Comments on “Putting It Out There”

  1. underyourwing Says:

    i so wanted to slap that look off of what’s her faces face whilst watching jennifer blah blah at the little podium….. julie….that’s it: julie….. we go from no acting (ciara) to over acting (julie)……

    • mykleraus Says:

      I love Julie’s overacting. She’s like a Vaudeville act right in your own damn living room!

      • Denise Says:

        I love Julie too! The character is just that damn dramatic. She’s always been that way. I fell in love with her during the Cruise of Deception – she’s like a female drag queen – brilliant! It’s not so much her, but this addiction storyline, where everyone has to be all sympathetic and supportive of Jenn. What does it say about a storyline when the best part is the dead guy?

        I don’t understand why they don’t just sign Matt Ashford – though I could live without “bumbling” Jack. I’d love to see anti-hero Jack again.

      • mykleraus Says:

        “Female drag queen” – exactly! I’m LOLing because it’s true.

        They clearly want to use Ashford… so why can’t they actually write for him when Jack is alive??

  2. Denise Says:

    OMG the Ciera stuff was totally, horribly painful. My eyes were watering in embarrassment. I kind of expect horrid plots and cheesy stuff, but most of the acting is pretty darn good. This was not. It even made Billy Flynn look bad, and he’s aces! They need to wrap this up and move on.

  3. Denise Says:

    OH! And as for Jennifer, let’s punish her by bringing Emilio back as her love interest – what’s Billy Hufsey doing? A lot of these “social issue” storylines are just PU – can we have some romance and drama please? Nothing against trying to tackle some more serious issues, but who in Salem ISN’T an addict at this point?

    • Mo Says:

      Ciara has been around long enough the writers should be aware of the actress’s limited range, right? Why are they giving her more to do?! Claire, Joey and Chase all have some acting ability but Ciara and sadly Theo both sound like robots more often than not. When they have scenes alone together it’s like being on the worlds most boring animatronic ride at Disneyland!

      This new “singing” craze in Salem can stop any time now. And Phillip is the new Clive Davis locking all his friends into exclusive contracts “for 20 years!”. It’s resembling the great racecar driver invasion of the early 2000s! Vroom Vroom! “I can’t believe I bought her a nightclub!” might be the line of the year on this show, btw.

      Of course Jennifer would only go to the most elegant AA meetings!!! I’m sure they served Pumpkin Spice Lattes and Goat Cheese Bruschetta instead of coffee and donuts. Even as a stumbling addict Jennifer has still been mostly classy and elegant which is what I’ve always loved/hated about her character. Is that painting behind Jen supposed to be the Salem Docks? There should be more bodies floating in it.

      • Michelle Says:

        I don’t know why they haven’t fired Vivian yet, in the old days she would have been gone in less than a month. She’s been on almost a year and not only does she still sound like a robot, she just looks uncomfortable. Usually after this long people start to loosen up, but she just hasn’t. I don’t know if the Theo actor (forgetting his name) is bad, or if this is how he wants to play Theo’s autism. Either way 16 year old Olivia Keegan out acts both of them.

        I kind of love Julie, even if she is ridiculous. When I started watching Doug wasn’t on and Julie was moving toward Victor. I loved that Julie was on the Cruise of Deception and later the island they all got stranded on, with her red dress and big hair. Good times.

      • mykleraus Says:

        She’s really bad. I don’t understand how she’s closing in on a year. Has no one noticed how stilted her scenes are? I’ve had the same thought about Theo — I can’t tell if it’s a choice given the character’s autism or truly stilted acting. I find him less PAINFUL than Ciara, for sure.

        Julie kills me. She has the nostalgia factor *and* she has the over-acting. It’s a magical combination to me.

      • mykleraus Says:

        You would think they’ve seen some of what’s aired and realized how awful she is. I can’t even blame the girl for continuing to collect her paycheck if they’ll have her, but I cannot fathom why they’ve chosen to keep her around this long.

        I thought I was the only one who remembered that INSANE Nascar craze! I almost did a WTF Wednesday about that. Was that their way of trying to connect with “middle America” or something? And it’s not like they could show the racing, so it was even stupider.

        LOL about the AA meeting. It sure was bougie. Jennifer definitely strikes me as the type of indulge in pumpkin spice everything.

      • underyourwing Says:

        that painting drives me nuts.

    • mykleraus Says:

      I’m so burnt out on addiction. For a while, we had Maggie, Lucas, Brady, Eric, and Jennifer all traipsing around in various states of addiction — plus Theresa, who probably could’ve done with some rehab for a while there. Not to mention that Jennifer went through this same damn story with Carly five years ago!


  4. Ciara begging Chad to love her was just so cringe-y… partially because of the storyline, but mostly because of the atrocious acting. Her voice kept getting higher and somehow more nasal – Billy Flynn deserves a freaking lifetime achievement Emmy for keeping his shit together during that scene! (By the way – I heard her say “*his* boss” too. I feel validated that I’m not the only one who was hung up on it!)

    P.S. Claire? HE’S JUST NOT THAT INTO YOU. GAH!!!

    • mykleraus Says:

      Why is Claire suddenly obsessed with Theo?! I mean, Henry is gay and Joey’s her cousin, so I get it, but how can she be upset at him for being into… the same girl he’s been into for years?

  5. Matthew Says:

    Another vote here for hearing “his” boss. Sadly, I didn’t even bother to go back. I just shook my head. I don’t blame the actress for that. Anyone can misspeak a line. I do blame everyone else involved who let that go to air that way. They obviously should have done a retake. If it somehow got missed on stage, they’ve had SIX freaking months since taping to loop in the correct word!

    I don’t think Ciara’s acting has changed. The problem this week is that the material got better/more challenging. Even if you don’t like the actual storyline, confessing a long time secret love to someone who only views you as a friend is really high level, dramatic material.

    Think back to when Nicole was working with and in love with Eric (while he was a priest, no less) and Eric only saw her as a friend. That actress pulled off amazing work in that storyline. She really made the audience feel the whole range of emotions she went through for months.

    In fact, that type of material is so powerful when written and acted correctly, I still remember a scene from Santa Barbara in the very early 90’s when Wanda De Jesus playing Santana was in love with Cruz (played by A. Martinez) who only saw her as a friend. Her acting ability was so amazing, she didn’t even have to say anything! One episode, she simply burst into tears looking towards the door after he left the room and it conveyed the situation.

    Now that I think of it, with A. Martinez on DAYS as Eduardo, I’d love to see Wanda DeJesus come in….perhaps as one of Eduardo’s old partners from his seedy days. That would create some great drama with Adriana if Wanda’s new character had always been in love with Eduardo and never told him. She would obviously accept him and his past fully while his former wife is having trouble doing that…And maybe the new character isn’t as reformed as Eduardo…Hmmm….

    • Michelle Says:

      I heard his boss as well. To be fair, I’ve actually noticed other actors flip or screw up a word or two like this before and they didn’t edit or do another take. I think the reason everyone noticed this particular word screw up though was because the actress herself knew she screwed it up and instead of you know acting through it like the other actors I’ve seen, she paused and got flustered making it all the more noticeable.

    • mykleraus Says:

      All good points. They gave Ciara some meatier material, and she couldn’t even come close to nailing it. I actually thought her best work to date was the immediate aftermath of Ciara’s rape — she wasn’t great, but it felt like she managed to channel real emotion for a minute there.

      I’m just so burned out on new, unconnected characters that I don’t think I could handle anyone else connected to Eduardo, even though the idea is good. I think A Martinez could anchor something better than Tammy Sue, though. 😉

  6. underyourwing Says:

    ya wanna see some amazing wanda watch her in sons of anarchy playing against jimmy smits (her real husband!)….AH MAZING actress and scenes…..srsly. check it out….her arc starts in season 5. you will not be disappointed!

  7. underyourwing Says:

    uhhhh yup ! carla went out with a bang. xo

  8. Dylan Says:

    ugh those scenes were so painful, I mostly fast forwarded. I don’t get why this actress can’t act like a human being instead of a cyborg.

    Also, what are the writers doing with Sonny? They seem to be going for some poorly motivated change in his character. Today he seemed so monotone in the scene when he basically said “Everything has changed, Will is dead, I am alone so I am going to join the family business”. wtf? Horrible writing. They need to go a little deeper to motivate him wanting to join Titan or whatever because this doesn’t make any sense. And now Ed is just suddenly ‘leaving town’ after not being onscreen for ages?

    Also, I heard that the new writers’ material starts airing next week, is that right? That’s great, although I don’t get why they haven’t closed the gap between taping and airing like they said they would.

    • mykleraus Says:

      I believe Tuesday the 6th is the first day they’re going to be credited. They’ve clearly had their hands in some stuff already, because I can feel things changing direction a bit, and the breakdowns have been less chaotic, but I’m really hoping there’s a noticeable shift next week.

      I think closing the production-to-air gap is going to take a LONG time. They were off for a longer time than usual this summer, and they edited a lot of stuff out, so I think it’s been diminished slightly. I don’t believe there’s any chance they would flat-out pause for 4-5 months to let the show catch up, so they’re going to have to do a few of those month-long breaks to gradually let it reduce.


Leave a Reply

