This is Not a Joke

I mean, not outwardly.

SODPlanToSaveDAYS2016.thumb.jpg.399fdfaac894375e2f3d45f863fd02d2

There have been at least five of these in the last decade. And while I appreciate the effort… maybe don’t make decisions that lead you down roads that require “saving” your business so frequently? At any rate, I read the article, and while I won’t link to photos or reprint large chunks because Soap Opera Digest probably needs the sales (I considered buying it and I haven’t bought an SOD since at least 2005, even though that was my jam back in college when I was a very sad person), I’ll put some commentary behind the cut to spare those who don’t want to be spoiled/don’t want to be driven insane…

Screen Shot 2016-08-20 at 9.33.15 AM

I know, Jen. That’s how I felt when I realized our two-week break is over and this shitshow is back on the air on Monday. Meanwhile, Ghost Jack is back there like, “Why the F are you doing this to yourself?!”

Basically, Ken Corday admits that the show was miserably dark and he couldn’t even bear to watch it. There was no romance and yada yada. Well, don’t you run the show? Why were the scripts even being shot if they were so off-brand and terrible? Doesn’t anyone, like, approve a story document or an outline or something before they write these things and shoot them?

He also claims that going to work has been a pleasure for the past six months — which is the lag between when they changed writers and now, which is INSANE — and we’re going to love what we see onscreen soon. What’s that old saying? “Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me 3,000 times, shame on me”? I want to believe him, but every time they do one of these reboots, things inexplicably get worse and more ridiculous. Corday mentions that it’s been great seeing old, familiar faces in the hallways at the studio, and I agree that it’s awesome to have characters like Kim, Shane, Laura, Anna, Nancy, and others popping in for however long, but a show cannot subsist on visits and returns. You actually have to write decent stories in the thick of all that.

As for what’s coming in the immediate future, apparently Jen falls off the wagon (which is realistic, so… fine), Tate gets returned but it isn’t the end of the mystery, and… Ciara tells Chad that she’s in love with him, so if someone doesn’t bomb Salem soon, I might.

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Uncategorized

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

24 Comments on “This is Not a Joke”

  1. Barbie Says:

    Just give me Steve and Kayla. I really don’t care about the other storylines that much. And Hope gets way to much screen time.

    • mykleraus Says:

      Hope is on WAY too much right now.

      I don’t think a sole focus on Steve/Kayla is the solution, but they could definitely have a much better story. At least their characters haven’t been trashed this year, which is nothing short of a miracle.

      • Barbie Says:

        They are on so little and are never mentioned in any way.

      • mykleraus Says:

        It’s weird how not integrated into other stuff they are. I loved seeing Steve with John, Brady, and the rest, and with Eduardo. And Kayla’s few scenes with Theresa were fantastic. I want more of that.

  2. marypickford Says:

    Ugh, it’s like he’s trolling us at this point.

  3. Mo Says:

    That SOD picture is telling in that the only character introduced in the last decade pictured there is a recast Chad, who has been around for about as long as well. DAYS has a promising group of 20-somethings like JJ, Gabi, Theresa, Paul and Sonny who could breath life into this show in my opinion but often get the shortest and lamest stories. It’s all either older characters like Hope, Victor, Steve, Jen and Rafe or the newbies like Ciara, Joey, and Theo. These kids have been the biggest flop-crop of legacy characters I have ever seen! Ciara and Theo have basically been betrothed since birth only to end up this way so quickly? Joey gets his first Salem murder under his belt right out of High School?

    OMG this show! It’s like a “Brokeback Mountain” thing with me. I spend my days saying “Why Can’t I Quit You!” but when it’s gone one day I’ll ugly cry while clinging onto one of Nicole’s ugly dresses.

    • mykleraus Says:

      The seeming inability to develop a lasting crop of 20- and 30-somethings has really hindered the show. Part of the problem is that the actors always leave when their contract is up, but maybe giving them real, meaty material might help? I’m really glad they recast Abigail, or she’d have gone the way of Stephanie, Chelsea, and others — characters who were leads for a few years and then left, meaning all that banked history wasn’t able to be used.

      I really have no idea what the plan was with these teens. Aside from Joey killing Ava and Ciara’s rape, they haven’t even had stories — they just kind of appear for these bursts of time, get a lot of screen time, and none of it goes anywhere.

  4. underyourwing Says:

    corday like most the the viewers is clearly delusional.

  5. Matthew Says:

    Saw these elsewhere…just going to let the visuals speak for themselves…

  6. Matthew Says:

    P.S. Sorry about the giant sizes. I only put three links in the comment box. The system must automatically show the links as the pictures and determine the size.

  7. Jamie Says:

    I got to the point where I couldn’t force myself to get through it anymore, so I took the summer off. I see that I haven’t really been missing much (plus, I’ve been keeping up with your recaps, thanks!)

    I am intrigued by some of the things I’ve seen in the promo for the “new season” so I’ve added it back on the DVR starting today.

    I’m glad there is yet another plan to “save” DAYS. I’m sure it will be great for a few weeks until it all falls apart again….

    • mykleraus Says:

      You’ve missed nothing!

      There’s been a noticeable improvement in tone and structure the past few weeks. I hope it’s a harbinger of things to come… though we’ve seen how short-lived these things can be.

  8. underyourwing Says:

    if their presentation today, (Monday), after 2 weeks of suffering w/o what we bitch about all the time is any harbinger of what is to come?
    I’m Out…..

  9. ADW Says:

    I admit I’m having a hard time staying focused on this train-wreck lately. I find the robotic recaps on YouTube which pronounce Demios “Dee aaa mows” more bearable. I’m hoping and waiting for the pendulum to swing back to the way things were for the 50th Anniversary, I think there was some pretty compelling material last fall after Ben flushed some of the s— out of Salem such as Sarena and Paige. Eric did us a favor as well which I’m eternally greatful for. Then shortly after New Years, we had “Malaise Days” once agian including a horrible SUMMER.
    I’m looking forward to some of the characters slated to return especially Shane, Kimberly Anna, and Xander.

    • mykleraus Says:

      The transition periods are always hard to judge, because bad stuff goes away and there’s new energy. But (just like with relationships) the things that seemed troublesome in the beginning turned out to be the things that undid this regime: focusing too much on death, stories built entirely around people coming and going, lack of interaction among different story circles, uneven focus/balance, etc.

  10. Denise Says:

    I’m all for the “return to romance” but so far all the romances suck! Am I the only one who thinks there is no new couple with any chemistry??? We need a young Steve/Kayla or Bo/Hope. The formula didn’t disappear – good gir//bad boy or bad girl/good boy, or the old hate to love formula. They just need to find two young actors with some zip together.

    I’m telling you one super-couple romance would do more for “saving DOOL” than any bunch of tricks or stunt returns, etc.

    Who do the fans remember? The couples!

    • mykleraus Says:

      Chad/Abigail are one of the few new couples in recent years that genuinely have worked, and that was only after the Chad recast and totally recalibrating.

      I think there’s potential with both Paul/Sonny and JJ/Gabi, though neither feels like a supercouple.

      Part of the problem is that they bring these characters in and try to cram them into couples, but they don’t necessarily build CHARACTERS first.

  11. underyourwing Says:

    that is not the only cramming they do mikey……xo


Leave a Reply

