Court Jesters

You know what I couldn’t wait to do when I had my spleen removed and could barely walk or sit comfortably? Shimmy my ass into some skinny jeans!

Screen Shot 2016-08-03 at 6.59.37 AM

Sweatpants, people! They will change your life! I swear, if DJ Wear did nothing but produce comfortable clothes with elastic waistbands, they’d make a killing (and also be making exactly the sort of clothing that it sounds like they’d make), because clearly no one has introduced the people of Salem to such things yet.

Issues of common sense aside, I was surprised by how much I enjoyed Monday’s episode. This entire Jennifer vs. Chad legal battle is full of holes — In what way has Chad behaved like an unfit parent? Does Jennifer’s recent addiction really not matter at all? — but the character drama on Monday kind of made it feel worthwhile. I love that they’re actually stirring up Hope/Jennifer conflict via Jennifer’s desire to have Aiden represent her, and they even attempted to sidestep the whole “There are only two lawyers in town” thing by having Jen run through the other possibilities she considered. (Though I’m fairly certain none of those other attorneys were locked in a cage with a dead bird for six months, but hey…) And the fact that they had Aiden resist Jennifer was interesting to me. The Hope/Aiden pairing in terms of romance should be dead and buried, but it’s wise to use it to complicate other matters. And I was going to say that it would’ve made more sense for Jennifer to use Belle and for Aiden to represent Chad, both because of Andre’s pressure and because he’d hate the idea of a single father wrongly having his son taken from him, but I can also see Aiden secretly wondering if he’d sent Chase to live with more stable relatives, then he wouldn’t have turned out the way he did. So it’s actually kind of layered and interesting. Go figure! The fact that they even bothered to play out these scenes is such a sharp contrast to how things would’ve played in January of this year, when they would’ve suddenly had Jennifer show up in court with Aiden, saying that she cleared it with Hope offscreen. Oftentimes, the getting-there of these situations is as worthwhile as the climax (or moreso, since the climax will probably be an offscreen hearing), and I’m relieved to see them actually let these beats breathe.

This custody lawsuit setup reminds me of some of the leaps I had to make during the 2008-2011 Higley run, where an abrupt- and/or rocky-seeming foundation nevertheless made for engaging story that allowed for lots of different characters to interact. I’m getting the same feeling from Chloe’s sudden pregnancy, predicated on the idea that she would have unprotected sex with Deimos, a man who only hours before had confessed that he’d lied to her, used her, and was generally crazy as a bedbug; as much as I don’t need to see Chloe and Nicole fight over another man, it does promise to create lots of ripples for Chloe, Philip, Deimos, Nicole, Dario, Kate, and a slew of others who’ll be pulled into the mix.

And then there’s the fact that Philip actually got emotional about how Claire was once his daughter! (I’ll disregard Belle being a total callous bitch, per usual, with her, “LOL, that was years ago, get over it.”) Could we be on the precipice of an improved Days, at long last? Or am I just desperate to be able to tolerate this thing I spend five hours a week watching?

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “Court Jesters”

  1. underyourwing Says:

    i take it hope lost an organ? shows ya how much I am watching….I did yesterday and that was a huge mistake…..what are we, in the 9th grade with all this stupid lovey dovey relationship situations…. i just can’t keep up with the mediocrity mikey!!

    • mykleraus Says:

      Yeah, they removed her spleen. Somehow she got out of the hospital without the standard bandage on her forehead…

      I thought Monday and Tuesday were pretty good. The stuff with Sonny, Gabi, and Paul was all interesting. Then we were right back to the Rafe/Hope/Aiden crap yesterday. Ugh.

  2. marypickford Says:

    I am finally catching up with last week and I thought Monday’s episode was good as well. I agree about taking that initial leap of faith. There have been times where if I can get over my “Why TF would X do this?” it can pay off. I have not been in the mood to give the show my generosity lately, but maybe this two week break will give me a fresh perspective. In addition to Hope/Jen, I thought the Jen/Chad awkward conversation was good too. If only they had set up Chad being a bad father, and Jen blaming him for Abby’s disappearance, a little bit better. It would have been easy to do!

    I really liked the Paul/Sonny conversation. I thought it was nice (though kind of sadly comical too) how everyone was talking about Will suddenly. “Oh remember my grandson/baby daddy/husband no one has talked about for months? I sure miss him.”

    • mykleraus Says:

      The Will mentions were sort of hilarious given how little he’s been mentioned in recent months. Then again, we barely see Gabi and Ari, and Lucas got his cry-fest at Christmas… but yeah. Almost a year later, still an incredibly idiotic decision.

      I’m in the same boat. I don’t want to give them the benefit of the doubt because they’ve done little to earn it, but for my own sanity, I kind of need to. The two-week break is a bit of a relief, I must admit.


Leave a Reply

