Fire Away

“Hello! I borrowed this Colonel Sanders costume from Kate!”

Screen Shot 2016-07-26 at 11.18.07 PM

I don’t know why, but I burst out laughing when they cut to this shot of Maggie the other day. I’m not even going to ask why she got gussied up in this suit just to sit around the house in her wheelchair in the midst of a family crisis. Maybe she was just excited because she knew this was coming:

Screen Shot 2016-07-26 at 11.54.56 PM

This was such a good “Welcome back!” shot of Sonny. I’m hopeful that the fact that he’s back means someone will at least remember Will existed, though of course they couldn’t be bothered to follow up on this ending in Wednesday’s episode.

Oh, and you know what’s probably a horrible idea?

Screen Shot 2016-07-26 at 11.06.50 PM

The last thing anyone in this town needs is to play with guns more. In light of everything going on with gun violence in this country, it struck me as tasteless to use a shooting range as the setting for a romantic date, but I guess it wouldn’t be Days without complete and totally disregard for reality.

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

16 Comments on “Fire Away”

  1. Michelle Says:

    Ok so I’m happy to have Sonny back, but am I the only one surprised that Freddie returned so soon? Maybe it’s me but he seemed kind of over it when he left last year. Guess I was wrong.

    • mykleraus Says:

      I was surprised, too. I know he was open to recurring when he left, so I figured we might see him for one- or two-day guest spots, but I’m still surprised he’s back on contract not even a year after he last aired.

  2. Gavin Says:

    Sonny’s back and so am I! I recorded what I thought was his first episode back but got it wrong, so all I saw (in fast forward) that intrigued me was Joey’s hair. What happened there?

    I have the next episode where Sonny and Paul meet to watch, and I might go back and get the one I missed on catch up. I sure hope Sonny’s return is worth me breaking my Days drought. From what I’ve been reading (in your summaries), the show has been abysmal lately.

    • Michelle Says:

      Joey and Philip both have tragic hair. Every time I see them I wonder why they aren’t told to get a freaking hair cut.

      • mykleraus Says:

        Philip’s is horrendous. At least Joey’s is pretty typical too-long teenage-boy hair. Philip’s is unspeakable, especially for a “businessman.”

    • mykleraus Says:

      Joey’s hair is an absolute disaster… much like 90% of the storytelling currently going on.

    • Dylan Says:

      Yeah I agree. The show has been horrible, they definitely need some fresh energy so it’s good that Sonny is back, although it’s not clear that they are setting up any story for him. The show is horrible, they’ve even botched up the Steve and Kayla story because they threw them offscreen for ages and then they’ve shoved Fynn into the story in this horrid haphazard way. And there was that horrible commune storyline. I hope it gets better soon.

      • mykleraus Says:

        I liked the idea of giving them a mini-triangle with Fynn, with him in the role of the stable, boring guy who’s into Kayla but she chooses passion with Steve over him in the end — but the pacing has been so bizarre, and it feels like it keeps stopping and starting.

  3. Mo Says:

    Sonny’s return kept getting interrupted by Damos slithering into the scenes! I’m not buying Damos at all, although I admit I’ve been in autopilot with this show for awhile. I want to see Sonny and his parents, Sonny and Paul, Sonny, Gabi and Ari. Sonny with his best friend Chad. I know he’s only been back one day but it feels like a shot in the arm for this show and they need to use him! Not just have Sonny getting involved with Damos and Victor more. I used to think they didn’t utilize Victor enough as a character but I’m finding a little of him goes a long way especially under these writers.

    And when (WHEN?) will Nicole claim her rightful thrown as the new Sami of this show?! She’s been either boring, out of character or both for so long I almost forget what a great character she has been for so many years.

    • mykleraus Says:

      I think they *think* Nicole is now in the Sami role. Tossing away the Eric relationship, which aside from Victor and EJ are the ones that have felt BIG for her (all for different reasons), was a huge mistake. That would’ve tethered her to the Bradys so nicely. She’s weirdly adrift in her own universe now, because she has a ton of connections but not really *bonds.* Chloe being back should help somewhat.

      Sonny’s return could be a shot in the arm, for sure. I’m interested to see what a Will-less Sonny might be like. He never really had story that wasn’t centered on Will.

  4. ADW Says:

    I’m so ecstatic Sonny is back, I adore him and he’s one of the few characters that never annoyed the shit out me. It wasn’t a big surprise because VI/Demios tweeted an on set pic with Freddie in the background, oops 😄
    Am I the only one who remembers the fact that Nicole accidently shot Daniel in the stomach a couple years ago? Yeah, Nicole certainly shouldn’t handle a gun. Unfortunately, Nicole didn’t kill Daniel then and we had to continue to put up with him until Eric played drunk bumper cars.

    • mykleraus Says:

      I recognized that scene at TBD with Deimos, Adrienne, Justin, and Sonny as having been from the day that they were shooting when VI tweeted that pic. Freddie’s wearing the same shirt that the “stagehand” was in that pic. 😉

      I forgot about Nicole shooting Daniel! One of her best moves, hahaha.

  5. Matthew Says:

    Another vote for being glad that Sonny returned.

  6. Shea Says:

    LMAO at Maggie…..Well they do seem to get a new Colonel Sanders every couple of months now. I admit I kinda laughed the first time I saw the current campaign with George Hamilton playing the extra crispy colonel. Maybe Suzanne has her sights set on snagging the gig next.


Leave a Reply

