Tate Me Away

I actually screamed at this shot at the end of Friday’s episode, and not (solely) because Summer had yet again appeared on my screen.

Screen Shot 2016-07-09 at 7.42.14 PM

There was something deliciously melodramatic about Theresa going wide-eyed and screaming, “TATE!” and then cutting to this. Summer was serving me crazy soap villainess, at least for a second. I think Marie Wilson could’ve done something with that, and it might’ve at least been entertaining. I don’t really believe Summer has Tate — that shot was too ambiguous, with her gazing off somewhere to her right while a baby cried and she did absolutely nothing to soothe or even address the kid — but it’s a fun misdirect, as long as they actually deal with it. Victor having Tate snatched (and drugging Theresa!) feels a hair too crazy, except a) everyone else is an unrepentant murderer and b) he had Claire kidnapped ten years ago, when she was an infant.

Speaking of which: it’d be nice to have Shawn, who’s working the case and is Victor’s damn grandson, weigh in on that possibility. Does it seem like they’re suddenly using Brandon Beemer a ton? For months, he was just lingering around, having the occasional scene with his daughter or popping into Belle’s story. Now we’re seeing him in a supporting capacity, as both a cop and as Hope’s son, a lot more. And I’m not hating it! It’s almost as if you can successfully integrate a new or returning character by placing that person in scenes with family members in which they appear to be smart or compassionate. Go figure.

And while we’re on the subject of kidnappings and utter ridiculousness: I was rolling when Marlena tried to reassure Theresa by mentioning how Belle was kidnapped as a baby. Yeah, okay, leave out the part about how your other damn daughter was the one who took her… and sold her on the black market. I’m surprised she wasn’t like, “And that useless piece of trash Sami took MY BABY from me!”

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

5 Comments on “Tate Me Away”

  1. Shea Says:

    I haven’t watched anything past last Wednesday’s show yet but this kidnapping thing was already being set into motion. IF this is Victor then this is my problem….for most of the past year I feel like Theresa has been the ONE single character on this show that I thought was consistently being written as a truly sympathetic character. I know a lot of people have issues with her “flimsy” redemption but the simple fact that she was staying clean and trying to build a career and family worked for me. Victor on the other hand used to be quite a formidable villain but the man has been neutered for long time now. This crap with Deimos has only made it worse…and now IF this is Victor, he doesn’t have what it takes to go after Deimos so he goes after the weakest target?

    I don’t for one second believe that this is Victor….I think it is Xander…or at least it should be.

    • Shea Says:

      I actually expect it to be Kristin but that’s just too predictable for me.

    • mykleraus Says:

      Agreed about Theresa. I get why Victor might not LIKE her, but to suddenly think she deserves this is crazy. She dozed off once. Her redemption has been executed in a flimsy way, but that doesn’t change the fact that her behavior has been better than 99% of Salem over the last 9-10 months. Why is Victor so fixated on *this*?!

      I think Xander is very possible, too. And it would actually be payoff to the way they wrote him out.

  2. marypickford Says:

    My money is on Kristen. I could see Summer being involved, paid off by Kristen perhaps. Predictable, but Days does love its crazy exes. 🙂


Leave a Reply

