Women in Peril

Summer looks like I feel watching this week.

Screen Shot 2016-06-30 at 7.58.15 AM

It says a lot about the current state of this show that I completely forgot she’d killed a man and had Dario help her cover it up and dump the body. Why is this inherently any worse than what Hope or Joey did? For that matter, isn’t it more justifiable, since he was physically assaulting her? I know, I know, Hope and Joey are “good” (i.e., related to cops), whereas Summer is “bad” (raised away from Salem). And don’t even get me started on the fact that Summer moved out of that hotel for, like, 48 hours to move in with Maggie and Victor, only to go back to the hotel and move into the exact same room. I know that when I kill someone in a hotel room, as one does, I do whatever I can to maintain a visible connection to that room in case someone starts making noise about the dead person’s whereabouts.

On top of being stupid, this whole thing is so anticlimactic. We’ve had to put up with months of Summer moping around limply, and the big reveal happens… in Maggie’s living room after Brady finds out from John. And said big reveal is basically that… Summer did exactly what she told them she did, and Brady was dumb enough to get played. What suspense! What drama!

Meanwhile, Nicole has a new style icon: Kelly Rowland from Destiny’s Child, circa 2002.

Screen Shot 2016-06-30 at 8.10.13 AM

I guess it’s a progression from when she was modeling herself after a Melrose Place-era prostitute, and she’s moving in the direction of contemporary style. I can’t wait ’til she gets to 2009 Lady Gaga!

Speaking of Nicole, what ever happened to that nauseating setup of Brady fantasizing about her after he got Daniel’s heart? It really does feel like these writers put every idea they had into the scripts and then decided what they would and wouldn’t follow through on.

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

12 Comments on “Women in Peril”

  1. underyourwing Says:

    “This wasn’t just plain terrible, this was fancy terrible. This was terrible with raisins in it.” –Dorothy Parker

  2. ATiger Says:

    Usually I can muddle through terrible storylines, but the Summer stuff is unbearable. It’s never been clear to me: Are we supposed to be rooting for her? Feeling sorry for her? Celebrating her downfall? At one point (like two days ago?) Brady was lecturing Theresa about how Summer has nothing and nobody, and it’s not nice to be mean to her (or something like that), and I thought, “he’s right!” But now I guess I’m supposed to be happy or relieved that she’s been “found out” to be a con, which is exactly what she admitted to having been months ago.

    Also, are we supposed to believe that she’s been plotting against Maggie this whole time? Because if that’s true, the writers have done absolutely nothing that would indicate that is the case. In fact, the way it’s written, she seems like someone who’s genuinely trying to be kind to and develop a relationship with Maggie. When Brady was like, “She’s out to get you too, Maggie,” I was thinking, but we’ve seen no evidence of this! None! If the idea was to make her a villain, then at least write her as a villain and show some interesting scenes of her elaborate plots. But there wasn’t any of that!

    Ugh! Thanks for letting me rant! Summer can’t leave Salem fast enough!!

    • mykleraus Says:

      I know. It’s not just that I dislike the particular stories being told or characters/actors being featured; I always say I’m more of a fan of the show than particular people/couples. But even what they’re putting onscreen doesn’t make sense! I have no idea what the POV is supposed to be in this Summer story. Summer hasn’t done anything to fleece Maggie aside from keeping that cheap charm Maggie dropped, and even though it was wrong of her to swindle Brady out of that money, she ONLY did it when her back was against the wall. Not that she’s blameless, but she’s basically just being exposed as… what they knew she was. Are we supposed to be glad? And what are we supposed to be rooting for in Brady’s life? Both Theresa and Summer are (allegedly) terrible people. It’s like the writers don’t even know what they want to be saying.

      • Matthew Says:

        I think the difference between Hope and Joey’s situations vs Summer’s is two fold. Hope and Joey killed long time established villains who the audience believes deserves death. We only met Clark for an episode or two before he was killed. Also, Hope and Joey felt bad for what they did (Hope more so) and struggled with it while Summer is only afraid she’ll get caught.

        From our POV, we know she’s still lying about stealing money and murder. Brady suspects that too, but doesn’t know for sure. Summer says she doesn’t know what happened to Clark, one lie there. Also, didn’t she keep half the money? I remember them splitting it. I also vaguely remember her telling him to just take it all and get out of town. I can’t remember if she let him with leave with it all originally. You know, before she ultimately killed him.

        After trying to summarize these ridiculous plots, you feel like a flashback to, “Confused? You won’t be after tonight’s episode of SOAP.” Sadly, SOAP was meant to be a campy farce while this Summer storyline is supposed to be serious.

      • mykleraus Says:

        All fair points. I think she did keep half the money — otherwise, how the hell is she paying for that hotel?! The sliding scale of morality is just driving me nuts. These people are all murderers! Belle is sashaying around with a quarter of a million dollars that is in no way, shape, or form hers, too.

        And I miss SOAP. I need to bust out my DVDs.

  3. underyourwing Says:

    that screen shot of summer gets me every time i see it.. bet she would love it too….

  4. underyourwing Says:

    oh me too!!! at least something is funny on this train wreck!!!! happy 4th!

  5. underyourwing Says:

    it is funny how at 1st i found her rather pretty/attractive and longer she is on the show she’s got that i am gonna puke look….

    • mykleraus Says:

      Yeah, she’s objectively a pretty woman (though I thought she looked better with the dark hair when she was playing Bree last year). But I can’t stand the sight of her now!


Leave a Reply

