The Eyes Have It

Me when I got a few minutes into Monday’s episode and realized it was going to be almost exclusively that stupid hostage situation at the stupid commune, except for a few completely random Deveraux scenes (that surprisingly great Jen/Julie talk, JJ and Rory’s seemingly pointless mini-story, and an extensive flashback of Jennifer scavenging for pills):

Screen Shot 2016-06-14 at 10.29.42 PM

Me when I noticed that, even though Monday ended with a cliffhanger in which a main character was shot, they wouldn’t even follow up on it for two more days and would instead force-feed us a random, mid-story retcon that maybe Nicole actually had feelings for Deimos throughout all of this:

Screen Shot 2016-06-14 at 10.29.42 PM

Me when I came to understand that I was actually going to have to sit through those bizarre, nauseating scenes of Hope going on a date with a man who was paid to seduce her and whose son raped her daughter:

Screen Shot 2016-06-14 at 10.29.42 PM

Seriously, was it killing anyone else the way they kept using that extreme close-up of Chloe as she came out of her flashbacks about meeting Deimos? She didn’t even know that there was anything shady about him — well, aside from the fact that he looked like he’d been hit by a truck and still didn’t want to go to the hospital — but she looked as if she’d just been told he was actually Hitler reincarnated.

In spite of all my horror, there are odd bright spots. Chloe seems a lot more like a sane human being this go-round (so far), and I don’t hate the idea of roping her into the Deimos mess. The uneasy Kate/Victor alliance could be a lot of fun. And the actress playing Blanca is both beautiful and pretty likable, even though I have no idea why she’s on this show or why we’re supposed to care. But like… what the hell is even going on?!

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

14 Comments on “The Eyes Have It”

  1. Dylan Says:

    Love the closeup of Chloe. These intense zoomed-in dramatic expressions are my favourite part of soap operas. They’re essential. This is how I felt, except I barely watched any of it, it was soo predictable and dumb. And horrible. Especially this hostage situation – it came out of nowhere, and I found it painful to watch (the little that I was able to watch). The writers on this show seem to have no idea about teen angst or basically anything about adolescence – the teen stuff continues to be uniformly horrible. I cringed at Kayla’s weird lecture to Simone about “encouraging kids to break the rules” – as if that had anything to do with Dirk going berserk (what was that even about? what did he want? I can’t be bothered to watch all that garbage). It felt like it was out of some weird cold war propaganda film- “Communism Is Bad”. Just bizarre and dumb. That story had potential, but of course the commune had to be some cult that was committing armed robberies. Too predictable – yet I have the feeling that it was meant to be “shocking”. Ugh.

    What is the point of Rory showing up? They’re obviously not invested in any story.

    Also, I guess it’s interesting that Chloe and Deimos know each other, but considering this horrid writing it’s hard to expect anything to come of it. And Nicole having feelings for Deimos? Ugh. Still don’t get why Kate is so interested in Deimos, she has tons of money, she’s running her own ‘multinational corporation’ (Basic Black/whatever). Why did Victor turn on Nicole like this? And Maggie was supportive of some sort of revenge back when she was in the hospital, and that’s been totally forgotten, now she’s totally against it without any explanation. I liked Nicole’s old plan of dressing like Helena and haunting Deimos, but of course that’s been dropped and this fake-murder storyline is unbearable to me, so outrageous.

    Blanca is fun. It’s nice to have some fresh energy. I’m still enjoying the Hernandez dynamics, but a lot of it isn’t going anywhere. I just don’t get this show right now- once I get invested in a story they just drop it and shift to something else. Nothing about this Deimos story makes any sense (it seems to make less sense every day), and they also seemed to have dropped Eduardo’s story about these threats he got from that guy.

    • mykleraus Says:

      The teen stuff really does feel so dated and fake. It should not be this difficult! I think I get what they were aiming for with Joey and Jade running away, but none of it clicked. And it did feel strangely like propaganda!

      Everything in the Deimos story has shifted 40 times. I feel crazy remembering how Maggie came in and gave her approval for Victor to go for revenge, only to forget it and go right back to nagging afterward. And I don’t get why Nicole abandoned her (stupid) initial plan, either. They just aren’t addressing these things at all. I wonder if they’re editing a lot out, still.

      I really don’t dislike the Hernandez dynamics, but when it’s just Eduardo and Adriana in a scene, it doesn’t feel relevant to Days of Our Lives. They need to be integrated with other people if they’re going to work.

  2. Mo Says:

    There have been a few times over the years I’ve given up. Right now I’m skipping DAYS entirely hoping for some rays of light with Sonny coming back and word that Lucas and Adrianne will be brought back into stories coming up. There is so much wrong with this show. It’s like you can see the writers room dysfunction playing out in real-time. It also seems like all of the cast is either really old and played out (sorry) or so young and vapid. The actors who replaced beautiful people like Eric, Paige, Eve and yes even Daniel aren’t as attractive (sorry again!). I DVR it, fast-forward to the last 5 minutes, and move on. Not good.

    • mykleraus Says:

      If not for this blog, I’d be close. I’m not outraged, I’m just… bored and confused. Like I don’t even understand why people are doing the things they do. And I agree: there were unnecessary cast cuts to make room for far less compelling people.

  3. Denise Says:

    I could not believe that they ended an episode with Joey getting shot, then didn’t revisit it for three days!!!! I’m starting to enjoy Jade very much. Perhaps they can run a reverse Steve/Kayla teen romance with them. God knows they can’t get any of the other teen stuff right. I feel like that whole hostage thing was just a plot point to get Steve and Kayla back together. I was hoping we’d get to enjoy some more jealous Steve, having to romance her back…

    I’m enjoying the scheming of Kate and Victor much more than having to see Kate humping Deimos every five minutes, or those hideous faux flashbacks of Helena. Throwing Chloe into the mix is interesting. Maybe she will have more chemistry with Deimos than Kate or Nicole do. Still don’t understand why they don’t try Vincent I. against Judy Evans, even just as a chem test, to see if they sparkle again.

    Loving Mama Hernandez I have to admit. Whenever she calls hope “the skinny detective” I have to laugh. I hope her BFF can pull Rafe from out of Hope’s orbit, because I was loving Rafe during the whole serial killer storyline, but his tepid romance with Hope is making me snooze. Plus, Hope is clearly still nuts.

    • Fluffysmom Says:

      I keep wondering if/ when Deimos and Adrienne will share a scene. I’m sure Guiding Light fans would be thrilled.

      I like Chloe being involved in this story. I’m looking forward to her finding out that Kate tried to kill Deimos.

      • mykleraus Says:

        It’s bizarre that they haven’t crossed paths yet. Then again, Adrienne hasn’t actually seen Steve onscreen, and he’s been back for like 9 months!

      • Shea Says:

        Adrienne did see Steve for like a millisecond right before Steve was supposed to go before the judge for murdering Ava, right? I swear I remember her running in and hugging him and they all left for court.

      • mykleraus Says:

        Oh, I think I remember that! What a treat, lol.

    • mykleraus Says:

      I think the Jade actress is good. If they can figure out the dynamic with her and Joey, there’s potential there. She’s certainly NOT one of the chief problems with the show!

      I’m shocked they haven’t given Irizarry and Evans at least a winking scene together yet, though this show is nuts, so who knows?

      Mama Hernandez kind of cracks me up, too. I LOVED her rant about all Hope’s husbands dying. She’s a funny secondary character, and I like the actress. I just don’t see a need for her to be driving story.

      • Shea Says:

        I think Joey and Jade are supposed to be a reverse parallel of Steve and Kayla. He has been trying to be adventurous and live on the edge like Steve but deep down he wants a stable, calm life like Kayla. Jade is the one who apparently likes living on the edge- like Steve. They have done a terrible job of showing it all but that is the dynamic that I think they have been going for. I think the whole reason for the commune story is because it’s part of showing how fucked up Jade’s family is. We haven’t seen the last of Real Andrews so hopefully we will get a clearer picture of why Jade is so messed up and that Joey will help her heal…like Kayla helped Steve heal from all the wounds of his childhood. Maybe I am just fanwanking because of my love for S&K how much I loved that part of their story but I think that’s what they are going for.

        I like the Hernandez family…except Dario…so I hope they figure out how to use Mama Hernandez as a supporting actress. She did say she was going to work as a nurse at the hospital so I guess she could be the new Maxine who we haven’t seen in over a year. I swear there were moments where Blanca (Ximenia Duque) really reminded me of Christie Clark…until she spoke. I am intrigued to see how a telenovela actress works on an American soap opera.

      • mykleraus Says:

        I think that dynamic would make a lot of sense. They’ve shown hints of that, for sure. But yeah, we need to dig into WHY Jade is this way. I hope they do.

        I’d be fine with Adriana being another Maxine-type. They could even pair her with Abe or Roman in the background. It’ll just be weird if focus shifts onto her personal life as a major thing, though.

        Blanca seems pretty natural and not telenovela !!!BIG!!! so far.

      • Denise Says:

        Dario sort of feels like the Jan Brady of the Hernandez crew. He kind of doesn’t fit in. But there are so many strays out there right now. I think they have to do a better job of integrating more of the “B” cast into the “A” storylines. Why isn’t A Martinez’s character being used more? He could fit into Steve and John’s private eye business, and bump up against Rafe as a cop, etc. It’s like they don’t know how to use him. Crazy! Do we need more airtime for Belle and Shawn? Or Ciara? Billy Flynn is being wasted right now as well. It seems like they have some really really super-talented actors that they simply aren’t utilizing. Even Vincent I., who was stuck in the middle of the stupid Helena stuff. I’m hoping with the writing change, we get to see some more cohesive stories, because, right now, they really are all over the place. They need the old A,B,C format back, with characters rotating throughout and interacting. The only B/C characters they seem to use are Julie and Doug (who I love), but there needs to be more ensemble stuff.

        God what I would give for a juicy umbrella story right now!

      • mykleraus Says:

        Totally agree. Everyone’s *only* in their own storyline. The B- and C-players (aside from Julie, Caroline, Doug, and Anne) aren’t really playing supporting roles in the A-stories — they just have their own stories that disappear for weeks on end and then reappear. It’s a very weird, jarring way to write.


Leave a Reply

