Justice Around the River Bend

I’m typing this while in the middle of watching Tuesday’s episode, so it’s entirely possible that they will answer some of my questions before the episode is out… but this is Days of Our Lives, so I doubt it.

What happened to Nicole’s plan to dress up like Helena and “haunt” Deimos? Was it scaled back to just putting on Helena-esque clothing while meeting with him? I get that her hair is finally looking good, so she doesn’t want to hide it under that stupid wig, but what was the point of that entire setup?

Screen Shot 2016-06-07 at 7.05.05 AM

And then she went home, changed, and straightened her hair after meeting with him, as one does. Is this going to become a part of the case, or is it just Days being ridiculous?

Screen Shot 2016-06-07 at 7.52.38 AM

I still fail to understand Kate’s thinking here. Why does she give two fucks about a psychopath who was planning to cheat on her? Why was she so desperate to marry him? Why is she not concerned that — just like the last time she was involved in a murder cover-up in which this river played a significant role — the lack of a body means that Deimos will come waltzing in at the most inconvenient time? (Seriously, can she at least have a run-in with Gabi and utter the name Nick Fallon?) And mostly, why am I supposed to care what happens to any of these people if I have no idea why they’re running around acting like such idiots?

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

20 Comments on “Justice Around the River Bend”

  1. Cyn Says:

    You are so right – the lack of motivations behind this whole mess of a “story” just are not there. Why the hell does Demois want to marry Kate – she is not especially powerful or rich at this time, and the sex between them does not equate to love. Kate cares for no one but Kate, as evidenced by the numerous times she has turned on her own children, and every man she has ever been with romantically. Roman should know just by the crocodile tears running down her face that Kate is lying and covering her own ass.

    As for Nicole, I have always found her to be a selfish, idiotic liar who ruins every chance she ever had at happiness. She should be thanking her lucky stars that St. Daniel died, so she did not have to put up with his hypocrisy and condescension anymore. If Eric ever does make it back to Salem, I hope he stays far away from this destructive and stupid woman. Sorry to all you Ericole fans, but he has always deserved a better partner than Nicole. This is not a stab at AZ – I think she is an excellent actress – it is her character that I despise. Her motivations in this storyline are strange – if she wants to help Maggie why doesn’t she spend TIME with her, rather than whoring herself out to try to seduce a younger version of Vic.

    • mykleraus Says:

      I agree with just about all of that. I have a soft spot for Nicole — I find a lot of her actions sympathetic, even when she messes up, but that’s more down to the heart AZ imbues Nicole with than the writing for the character, most of the time — but I really don’t understand why any of these people are doing what they’re doing. Even Victor, whose throughline for revenge should be pretty clear, lined up this elaborate scheme with Nicole as a back-up plan? The hell?! And I have no clue why Deimos was bothering to string Kate along when he thought he could have Nicole, or how he thought’d get away with it, or why Kate was giving him the time of day, or basically ANYTHING. You can see the writers going, “Oh, this would be interesting” and then forcing pieces into place, logic be damned.

    • underyourwing Says:

      sex rarely = love, really…..but when it is mind and body blowing sex you get your self into a lot of really harmful horrible terrible places because the sexual chemistry is beyond intense, undeniable, & a incredible delicious release.
      (or, so i have been told) 😉

  2. Shea Says:

    I swear I feel like I have seen both Kate and Nicole play these same roles already. I still have no clue what Nicole’s plan was supposed to be just like I have no clue what Justin is up to or what Summer is actually trying to do to Maggie or Brady but I don’t really care enough to be upset by that. The stories don’t make any sense but like I said on Monday, I feel like there has been some sort of shift and I definitely get an old school soapy vibe. I can’t put my finger on it but something seems different.

    As for Nicole’s change in hair and clothes I guess someone got lazy or something was changed and re-shot. She looked the same in her scenes with Dario before and after meeting with Deimos. Was the curly hair supposed to be a wig?

    • mykleraus Says:

      I feel like I’ve seen Kate and Nicole play these roles *and* the opposite roles! It’s really muddled and bizarre.

      I hadn’t noticed that about Nicole’s styling being the same before and after her meeting with Deimos, but that seems like a pretty big fuck-up, no?! I don’t think it was a wig. Her normal hair is often wavy like that, and her Helena wig was brown. This is so half-assed.

  3. MAatt Says:

    Was anyone else expecting “Greetings!” guy to come out of the woods with his bird-watching binoculars? I think that character actually got killed off back in the Nick-blackmailing-Kate story, but since when does a little death (or big death) stop anyone from popping up in Salem?

    The other thing about Nicole’s hair and clothes change is that it happened instantaneously in the same time frame that Kate and Deimos had a continuous conversation!

  4. Matthew Says:

    Was anyone else expecting “Greetings!” Guy to come jumping out of the woods? I think that character (Percy?) got killed off during the Nick-blackmailing-Kate storyline. However, since when does anyone in Salem let a little death (or a big one) get in the way of showing up in town?

    The other thing about Nicole’s hair and clothing change is that it happened instantaneously while Kate and Deimos had a continuous conversation.

    • mykleraus Says:

      In my dreams! I loved that guy. We never saw him killed — I think EJ forcibly made him leave town or something.

      It did seem like Nicole changed awfully fast. She ran home, changed her hair and clothes, and then raced to meet Dario at the bench?

      • Fluffysmom Says:

        I’d like to see the Greetings guy again. He returned to Downtown Europe or something.

        I’m wondering if changing her clothes will make the police think Nicole is hiding some evidence.

      • mykleraus Says:

        He was so funny! And that story was actually good.

        I keep wondering if it’ll look suspicious that Nicole changed, or if it’s purely a production screw-up.

  5. underyourwing Says:

    the river….deja poo…..same old shit. everyone needs a new hustle on the show. please.

  6. underyourwing Says:

    are we in the twilight zone? night gallery? one step beyond….tho they have gone way more than 1 in salem….. thriller?
    outer limits?
    are they washing our brains by rays coming through our TV’s (or devices….)
    i loved the show today…it was more like the old days….i really miss it…… why can’t they do their jobs, be creative, new-ish and captivate their audience? why is the sky blue………xo

    • mykleraus Says:

      I do think they’re trying to be creative and play with the pacing and the feel of the show, but they’ve lost sight of basic narrative structure and what makes characters rootable — which is kind of important for getting people to CARE.

  7. Dylan Says:

    This storyline is horrible. I’m not going to go into all the reasons why – you guys already have. Bad writing, this horribly contrived set of scenes “in the woods”, and now this dumb framing for a murder that didn’t even happen? Is she not concerned that Deimos will just reappear? Does she really think he’s dead? I have to admit I skipped through most of it. Wake me up when it’s over/when something interesting happens on the show.

    • mykleraus Says:

      There are so many holes. The basic premise actually sounds okay on paper — despite all their overlap of lovers, we’ve never quite seen Kate and Nicole go toe-to-toe in this way, and Irizarry has chemistry with both of them — but nothing anyone is doing makes any sense!

      • Fluffysmom Says:

        Why can’t I have Vincent Irizarry on-screen everyday instead of Summer, the boring teens and Hope’s lame love triangle??

      • mykleraus Says:

        Right? And did he have to play such an absolutely abhorrent villain? Shades of grey are fine, Days!


Leave a Reply

