What Happened in Salem: Week of May 23rd

Jennifer’s addiction got actual screentime, Joey remained a moron, and…

After one drunken romp, Shawn was eager to get back together with Belle, a woman who’s cheated on him repeatedly and recently divorced him. Belle was reluctant but agreed to have dinner with him, while Philip wandered around town semi-pouting over Belle not wanting him anymore, which is sort of like being upset that it’s Christmas morning. Shawn came clean with Lani about his situation with Belle, and she managed not to show a glimmer of personality even while being dumped.

Check out the full recap to catch up on What Happened in Salem last week!

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

6 Comments on “What Happened in Salem: Week of May 23rd”

  1. Shea Says:

    I like Joey and I think Joey and Jade have a natural chemistry together. I just wish they would write them with a little more depth. I need to know where Joey is emotionally and I would like to see some motivation for how fucked up Jade seems because it is clearly not just teenage rebellion. There is something about Jade’s craziness that works for me but I want to know how she got that way. So I guess Joey and Jade will be stuck with those scorpion brands on their hands? Yuck

    Steve was awesome turning on the charm for Aunt Simone. He may not have gotten her to tell him anything but it looks like she didn’t throw him out. Joey was wanting to go home so why would he run when as soon as he saw his dad?

    I felt like the Shawn and Belle stuff was out of the blue but I didn’t hate it. I still get a weird vibe from Lani like she was supposed to go cray cray and they decided to cut it. Otherwise she is just a pointless character.

    Overall I enjoyed the week. Did we just have a whole week with no Summer? It strangely felt like a lighter week to me without Summer and all the Kiriakis stuff even though we saw Jennifer hit rock bottom, Joey and Jade officially join a cult, and Chase get stabbed in the prison yard…LOL

    • mykleraus Says:

      LOL at that last bit. But yeah, it did feel like lighter. It was a little more “normal soap” this week.

      I like Joey and I’m fine with Jade. I actually think the actress is pretty good, but the character does seem SO CRAZY that I’m gonna need more explanation. You’re right that she seems mentally ill and not just like a girl acting out.

      The scorpion brand thing is so weird, but I have a feeling it’s these writers’ version of Steve, Bo, and Britta’s tattoos.

      The Shelle reunion felt really rushed to me. They haven’t even been civil with one another in months, and all of a sudden, they’re lovey-dovey? At least Belle was consistent in still kind of being a bitch to him. And they’ve inserted all these weird shots of Lani observing other people’s interactions, but it’s never gone anywhere.

  2. UnderYourWing Says:

    i want to know , after j and j walked in and saw good old dad and she said RUN! where they hell they ran to…. in the house……what did i miss?


Leave a Reply

