The 43rd Annual Daytime Emmys

This will be a short post, both because the Daytime Emmys were not broadcast on television (or online like that one horrible year), meaning I didn’t have to strap myself to my sofa and resist the urge to light myself on fire while I watched all hell break loose onscreen, and also because there were only two wins relevant to Days of Our Lives.

The first is lovely and much-deserved: Mary Beth Evans won for Outstanding Lead Actress.

mary beth evans

And the second is truly one of the most insane things I will ever type: True O’Brien — True O’Brien, who played Paige — won a Daytime Emmy for Outstanding Younger Actress.

MTI4ODIyNTUzNTU5OTk1NjY2

Outstanding Achievement in Hurling a Cake on the Floor? Sure. Outstanding Ability to Make a Face Like Someone Just Pooped? Totally. But an acting award?! This is meaner than I usually get about the actual actors (versus the characters/writing), but she was adequate at best, and those times were not exactly frequent. And the most relevant thing about Paige is that she’s dead! Then again, Natalia Livingston — who played the first Taylor Walker when she returned in 2011 to sniff scarves and stare at EJ — also has a Daytime Emmy, sooooo…

The full list of winners can be found here.

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Daytime Emmys, Soap Opera, Television

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

13 Comments on “The 43rd Annual Daytime Emmys”

  1. Shea Says:

    I have always had an issue with the Emmy awards (Daytime and Primetime) because they look at such a small part of the work…a reel or a single episode. It’s why actresses like Mary Beth Evans go un-noticed for 30 years and it’s why someone like True O’Brien wins. I watched the nomination reels and I admit that I thought Kassie De Paiva had a much better shot at the Emmy than MBE but i think what set MBE apart was the fact that her reel showed more than one side to her. Yes, the emotional stuff was there but she also shows the light hearted and fun side that we all love. I will say that I thought Mary Beth’s best scene of the year was actually the one where Caroline didn’t recognize Kayla. Maybe it is my personal experience with family members with dementia and Alzheimer’s but that was the scene that moved me the most and that one wasn’t on her reel.

    Although I don’t think True O’Brien is a great actress I think her reel was as strong as any of the other nominees. Those “younger” categories are really difficult to judge anyway. Even though Days is my favorite show, I have watched GH off and on for almost just as long and I will say that those kids on GH are amazing but if you don’t watch the show and are not familiar with the context of the scenes showcased those reels they come off as bizarre and honestly a lot of it seems like fluff compared to the emotional stuff we got in the True O’Brien reel.

    • Michelle Says:

      I agree with all of that Shea. Judging someone on two episodes or whatever it is when soaps are on year round is ridiculous.

      I always liked the SOD awards better, lol. Back when there were tons of soaps Days never won any Emmy’s, it’s only these last few years with less to choose from that they’ve won. I actually thought the girl who played Aly on B&B should have won, she played going crazy well, I’m not sure what she submitted but she also had some episodes that while it was clear she had gone round the bend, you still saw some of her former self and you just felt sorry for her. Soaps tend to give Emmy’s to big dramatics though so True getting to throw a cake probably nailed it for em, lol.

      • Shea Says:

        I have to say that in my opinion the younger actor winner Bryan Craig isn’t the greatest actor either but he also had a pretty song reel. Unfortunately he is also a total douche offscreen and almost comes off bipolar in real life (judging by his social media rants and documented incidents of acting out) and just got awarded for playing bipolar onscreen.

        I think they need a kid category and a young adult category that combines actresses and actors instead of these current younger categories because trying to compare performances in such a diverse age group is almost impossible.

      • mykleraus Says:

        Bryan Craig seems pretty average-to-terrible, from what I’ve seen. It sounds like they gave him the material to cater to Emmy voters. (And yeah, everything I read about his offscreen antics sounds horrible. He’s going to get himself in big trouble one of these days.)

        It’s so strange when they have, like, 10-year-olds competing against 20-year-olds. Even their material must be so different. Can you imagine Child Ciara going up against Teen Ciara?!

      • mykleraus Says:

        I remember when they used to air the SOD awards! Now we can’t even get these things on TV.

        From what I read and saw of the girl who played Aly on B&B, I’m surprised she didn’t win, too. I wonder if what she submitted was some of the weirder stuff that didn’t play well with voters, though…

    • mykleraus Says:

      I didn’t watch the reels, but I tend to believe (jokes aside) that the voters probably do get it right as far as responding *only* to the reels and not what they know of the performers otherwise. Anything O’Brien submitted from the fallout of the JJ/Eve affair would’ve been easily accessible, and she wasn’t HORRIBLE in most of that. But yeah, it’s definitely a weird system. I’m not sure how else they could do it, because you can’t rely on voters to watch 250 hours of a show a year, but really, all you need to win a Daytime Emmy is one really strong, focused episode.

      I actually thought KDP would win, too.

      • Shea Says:

        Another thing I was wondering about is if they had the same judges for the daytime drama and digital drama acting categories because if they were the same judges then that actually explains a lot. MBE was entered and won both and if you had the same judges they were certainly able to see her range as an actress.

        True O’Brien’s reel was the scene where she confronts Eve about JJ and then when she confronts JJ and Jennifer at the party.

  2. Robin Says:

    Mary Beth is truly one of my favorite for years! Her scenes when Bo died were heart wrenching, IDK what clip they showed though… and True with her “Outstanding Ability to Make a Face Like Someone Just Pooped?” was spot on! Not to mention her monotone voice… 1 or 2 clips would make it terribly difficult to judge.

  3. Dylan Says:

    That’s great for Mary Beth Evans. As for True O’Brien, no comment. I found her unbearable during her whole stint as Paige, even during the whole reveal. She just always had this blank look on her face (when she didn’t have the poop-smelling expression). It was painful to watch. I thought maybe they would give Casey Moss the award, or some young character from another soap, this is the last thing I expected. But then again, I guess the “Daytime Emmy”s are kind of a joke, I mean they aren’t even broadcast anymore, not even online!

    • mykleraus Says:

      O’Brien never worked for me. When Paige got sassy toward the end, she was a little better, but there really was a flatness there that I couldn’t get past. And I never got why JJ wanted to be with such a judgy dullard!

      • Shea Says:

        I don’t disagree that Paige was dull and True was flat but I watched all of the reels and I stand by my opinion that her reel was the best.

      • mykleraus Says:

        Yeah, I’m not surprised by that. She got very focused storyline that seems like exactly what Emmy voters like, and she was adequate in those scenes.


Leave a Reply

