Odd Ends

A few stray thoughts from the back half of last week…

Screen Shot 2016-04-22 at 7.22.08 AM

Stop this! You are crazy! Has this woman learned nothing? I mean, I don’t live in a town where there are various psychopathic men hanging out in mansions waiting to taunt me about my “banal dead husband” (credit: Stefano DiMera) but, like, this did not end well the first time, Hope. And I still, almost miraculously, don’t abhor her and Rafe together, but after weeks where it seemed like they were letting it settle, things have been ratcheted back up to “You Will LOVE This Hot New Couple!” levels. The selfie stick stuff was actually cute and refreshingly normal, but it was so tonally off given where Hope had just been. And I thought whoever did the dialogue for that Hope/Steve chat did a nice job of navigating the ham-handedness of Steve being all “Bo said you should be with Rafe! Be with Rafe!” nicely by having Hope clock that Steve was reacting to his own situation with Kayla. But just, like, chill out, show. You do not have to cram this pairing down our throats. No one has ever liked broccoli more because their mom shoved it in their face.

Speaking of crazy…

Screen Shot 2016-04-22 at 7.08.35 AM

Kate Mansi has put in some incredibly strong work the past few weeks. Abigail was almost feral in those scenes in the motel room. Thursday felt like her last episode, but I think she has some appearances remaining. At any rate, I think this makes sense for an exit story. I wouldn’t buy Abigail just leaving Chad and the baby to trot off to Europe, or a rushed break-up for the two of them. This keeps the story in play even with her exit. I’m really concerned that losing Abigail is going to be a much bigger blow than it seems like, which is a problem for an already-unmoored show. But we’ll see. I’m presuming there’s a recast already working who’s being kept under wraps, because otherwise, we’re not going to see Abigail again until like 2019.

Also speaking of crazy…

Screen Shot 2016-04-23 at 6.08.15 PM

This shot was sort of fun. Helena’s wig is not. I just find this entire setup so ridiculous, and no matter how hard they try, I don’t buy that Victor just never mentioned or showed any kind of reaction to Nicole resembling Helena so strongly. Arianne Zucker and Vincent Irizarry work well together, which is not really a surprise, but at least it makes the scenes tolerable. I cracked up when he accused her of only getting close to him for Victor’s sake and she was like, “A, I tried to kill Victor once, and B, does it really seem that weird that I’d want to know about a dead woman who was apparently my exact doppelgänger?!” Only in Salem.

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

9 Comments on “Odd Ends”

  1. Robin Says:

    As usual your are spot on & with perfect hilarity!

  2. UnderYourWing Says:

    now that you mentioned this, what the hell are they going to do with chad once abby is in treatment i wonder? will he be the ‘single’ baby dad? this is going to be a big hole to fill in…… i am sorry to see mansi go…..

    • mykleraus Says:

      It’s going to be tough. There’s no way Chad would move on. I read some spoilers about where they’re going that seem promising, though… we’ll see.

  3. UnderYourWing Says:

    yah, i did not mean move on from the family…just…..once she is gone gone what happens? speak to me o pearl of wisdom!

    • mykleraus Says:

      ***SPOILERS***

      ***so don’t read any further if you don’t want to***

      I think there’s going to be some kind of custody battle between Chad and Jennifer over baby Thomas. Not a bad way to use the pill addiction in a way that actually relates to something.

  4. UnderYourWing Says:

    hmmmmm i always have to read further!! xo
    my brain isn’t working lately or that might have come to me…..it sure sounds like a perfect mess to come !

  5. Dylan Says:

    Ugh I cringed when Hope aimed a gun at Deimos. This is SO not Hope, I don’t even recognise her anymore. I hate when soaps make people act so out of character in such plot-driven ways.
    Abigail scenes have been great, I’m so sad that Kate Mansi is leaving now that her story has actually gotten interesting! She was doing literally nothing for such a long time!

    This new ‘teen scene’ is totally not working for me. The Claire/Belle story is so dumb, and it seems like somehow they want us to feel sorry for Belle “my daughter blames me for everything.. she’s such a brat!” (I wonder why?? With your horrible parenting skills?) And this whole contrived business with the offscreen “vandalism” which has led to this underdeveloped story of Joey running away with Jade.. it all just seems so uninspired and slapped together. The acting isn’t doing them any favours either, although Jade is usually pretty good.. as well as Joey. What a snoozefest! It’s more jarring now that they’re focusing on it more. Also, this Ciara/Theo romance is super undeveloped, and I see no potential there (mostly because of Ciara’s poor acting).

    I don’t currently have other new thoughts about the show, although I guess this bizarre storyline with Deimos and Nicole could be interesting? It seems pretty good so far.

    • mykleraus Says:

      Hope is acting like a lunatic! I get that there’s a way to understand that grief drives people to extreme acts, but it isn’t coming across in the writing. For her to do this again is insane.

      The Deimos/Nicole thing at least has some potential to be fun. I like this whole group of characters teaming up against Deimos. Is it too much to hope that Summer becomes collateral damage?


Leave a Reply

