Return Confirmed

If you follow behind-the-scenes happenings at all, this one is definitely not a surprise, but I’m pleased by it…

Screen Shot 2016-04-14 at 7.32.26 AM

As was rumored — and by “rumored,” I mean “pretty much confirmed via photographic evidence” — weeks ago, Serial Scoop reports that Freddie Smith is returning in the role of Sonny Kiriakis.

The actor will first air in July. As of now, there isn’t any word on his story or how long he will be sticking around Salem.

Regardless of the length or purpose of this stay, it’s good news to me. Sonny isn’t the most dynamic character, but he’s been a harbor of (relative) sanity in the sea of madness that is Salem, and he activates a lot of characters (particularly Adrienne and Justin). If this is a long-term thing,┬áit means Paul will get story, which makes me happy, and if it’s short-term, there’s a good chance those rumors about Will returning from the dead are true, and they’re going to reunite them and send them packing. Either way, I’m down.

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

16 Comments on “Return Confirmed”

  1. fluffysmom Says:

    I’m happy that Sonny is returning to Salem. Hopefully it’s at least a 6 month appearance.

    • mykleraus Says:

      Yeah, I want this to be more than just a two-day in-and-out visit.

    • Dylan Says:

      It seems weird that he would come back this soon after leaving the show, but it’s great news for me! They just need to develop the character more, which they never bothered to do until Paul showed up, and then they dragged their feet through his final months onscreen and nothing happened.

      • mykleraus Says:

        I know, he only stopped airing as a regular character in, what, August? It seems like that was more of a hiccup than a real exit.

  2. UnderYourWing Says:

    Many feelings!! Great call…..hope hope hope he and paul are partnered!

    • Dylan Says:

      That would be great! While Will and Sonny were cute at first, I never got very invested in them because as soon as they got together (pretty much), they focused almost entirely on Gabi’s pregnancy and Nick’s vitriolic behaviour and not really on Will and Sonny’s relationship. Then when that ended, the show was unable to give them interesting storylines until Paul showed up, but then we had a poor Will recast, and the show was intent on having him as a ‘Sami clone’ (UGH!). Anyway, this could be really interesting!

      • mykleraus Says:

        They never really got that supercouple-style build with the push-and-pull. I liked the idea of them as a couple, but yeah, they kind of took a shortcut to putting them together. I loved the setup of the whole Gabi/Nick thing, though — I thought it generated good story for a major couple that had nothing to do with their sexuality, which I appreciated.

        I’ll never understand the 180 the writing did with regards to Will as soon as Wilson took over (or, I guess, once Nick left). None of his actions even made sense!

    • mykleraus Says:

      I would just love to see Paul with a damn story!

      • UnderYourWing Says:

        paul who? paul where? pffft— these writers…..

      • mykleraus Says:

        You might remember him from such riveting storylines as “my crazy grandpa brainwashed me for half an episode” and “that time I talked to a gay teen in the Town Square for five minutes.”

  3. Michelle Says:

    Sonny was on four years and never had a storyline of his own, his story was always reacting to whatever stupid thing Will did. Maybe with Will gone, he’ll finally get to be the one focused on.

  4. ADW Says:

    I miss Sonny, good news indeed. I already knew he was returning bc that was definitely Sonny in the background in the on-set selfie Demios took on the TBD set. Are Adrienne AND Justin both still living in the mansion?

  5. Erin L Says:

    I really hope they bring back Will and they both stay for a good long while. Especially if they bring back Chandler Massey. I’ve always liked both of them.

    • mykleraus Says:

      I liked CM, too. He had his tics, but Will felt like a real, rootable person under him. Although if he were to get the writing Guy Wilson got, I’m not sure there’d be much he could do…


Leave a Reply

