It’s Not Right, But It’s Okay

“Hello, everyone! I’m just sitting here dressed like a Funfetti cake whilst clutching my Bible and thinking about one of my several grandsons who recently killed someone!”

Screen Shot 2016-04-14 at 7.30.43 AM

We’re really leaning into this whole “Murder is kind of okay” thing, huh? Here’s some loosely paraphrased dialogue from the past few Days:

Hope: Andre didn’t kill Stefano. I did.
Caroline: Well, he deserved it!
Hope: But what if he wasn’t even responsible for Bo’s death?
Caroline: Meh. I would’ve done it myself sooner or later anyway!

Jade: It’s so cool that you murdered someone! Also, I’m very rude!

Marlena: Eric, you have nothing to apologize for!*

JJ: Chad, let’s make sure we cover our tracks so that I can file an official police report and cover up the fact that Abigail tried to kill Ben! He deserved it!**

Screen Shot 2016-04-13 at 1.56.54 PM

*I actually think they’re doing some interesting stuff with Eric and the idea that no person should be defined by the worst day of his or her life. They aren’t servicing it as fully as they could be, but his scenes with Roman and Marlena were very well done. And this thing with him and Jennifer coming together in their mutual pain and addiction could be great, except they keep giving them these cliffhangers that never get any follow-up. At least we got some Lucas — being used as a Horton! — and his hilarious ranting at Jennifer: “You have a problem. A problem with THE PILLS!”

**Abigail’s breakdown is totally working for me. What she did to Ben was brutal, but they aren’t shying away from Chad’s horror at it or how broken Abigail is.

Screen Shot 2016-04-12 at 7.33.43 AM

I was irritated at how they once again gave Lucas such a non-reaction to the mention of Ben popping back up, but then they went and finally let JJ be the one to say, “This is for Paige, and for Will [and for Serena, but who cares about her].” This man did more than just torture Abigail and kidnap her baby! Nice that someone remembers the people he brutally murdered, though I somehow doubt we’re going to see Hope or Joey tied to a bed and lit on fire anytime soon. Then again, this show is all kinds of fucked-up right now, so who knows?

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

17 Comments on “It’s Not Right, But It’s Okay”

  1. Hard Candy Says:

    I’ve always been a huge Jack and Jennifer fan, but I’m actually really digging the Eric/Jennifer thing. It’s the first time I’ve ever seen Jennifer have even a hint of chemistry with anyone else. Too bad they saved it for right before Eric got the ax. I’ve never cared all that much for Kate Mansi, but her cray-cray scenes with Batty Ben were the best I’ve seen on Days in years. I hope whoever her replacement is can keep going with the whole “unhinged” thing in a convincing way.

    • mykleraus Says:

      Yeah, I’m legitimately surprised by how much potential I see with Eric/Jennifer. It’s a shame they’re wasting this!

      I’ve always found Mansi fine-to-good, but she had such tepid material for years. She’s really stepped up to the plate since they made her a lead.

      • Michelle Says:

        I agree, Jack and Jennifer have always been my favorites and this is the first time I’ve actually enjoyed her with another man. It seems as if it was kind of an after thought story though, seeing as how they weren’t on much.

        I’ve always really liked Kate Mansi as well. It hurt me watching them throw her in boring story with various Cameron’s and Ben’s. I liked her with original Chad but they never gave them anything to do. She been really front and center since the EJ fling. I’m going to miss her.

  2. Dylan Says:

    Umm.. How exactly are they going to cover up the fact that Abby tried to kill Ben? This is totally nuts.

    • mykleraus Says:

      I guess they’re going with the story that she threw the kerosene lamp at his feet and it exploded? Even though they said she tied him up? Seems a little fishy to me…

    • Mo Says:

      But the bed, floor, walls are covered in lighter-fluid (I think?)! How does even the Salem PD overlook that? Have they even been in the room yet?

      • mykleraus Says:

        I don’t think so! And everyone’s acting like Lani is a bitch for wanting to actually see the crime scene and speak with the victim.

      • Dylan Says:

        Yeah… The acting was great in those scenes but it’s so dark and depressing! And today’s scenes were also soooo sad! Eric going off to jail for 5 years (while others get away with murder, etc), his mother is devastated, Brady and Nicole don’t even care, Maggie may not walk again.. They’re really piling it on! It’s also so shortsighted to get rid of Eric, particularly now that there is something interesting going on between him and Jennifer. One of several poor decisions that these writers have made (killing Will, getting rid of Eve when there was so much potential there, Clyde’s anticlimactic exit). Was Greg Vaughan fired or did he choose to leave? Such a good actor..

      • mykleraus Says:

        I know. Everything is SO bleak.

        I think Vaughan was let go. I’ll never understand the decision to stop Ericole in its tracks, but I have a feeling it had to do with GV speaking out against the writers in interviews.

  3. Mo Says:

    Ha! Yeah I’m glad JJ even mentioned “that poor woman” day-player nurse who Ben offed in the woods. I was wondering if they had even bothered to find her body since she isn’t related to half the police force?

    I’ll take a portion of Original Ben and a portion of Extra-Crispy Thighs! Scott Wilson has really grown on me and I actually believed his nutball insanity as Abby was lighting him on fire. “This will make me a part of you always! Breath in my ashes! Breath them!!!”. So nuts. His “burns” were pretty gross. Those looked legit. The way they shredded his pants Incredible Hulk style was pretty laughable though. Bless their hearts though between John’s dad, Marlena’s artfully running mascara and Ben’s jacked up legs the makeup department have been earning their pay!

    • mykleraus Says:

      I’m pretty impressed by some of the stuff they’ve pulled off lately. That shot of Ben’s burns creeped me out, which is exactly what it should have done. I’m glad they got RSW back for this reprise — it’s been really effective.

  4. Shea Says:

    I know Marlena was upset about Eric showing up late and hangover (or still drunk) for his sentencing hearing but Jennifer is a grown ass woman who should have knocked Marlena out for treating her like a delinquent teenager.

    • mykleraus Says:

      I was DYING at that. I get why Marlena was pissed, but she really went in on Jen. At least it felt soapy!

      • Shea Says:

        Eric is an ADULT and whatever decisions he made are on him so her blaming Jennifer is out of line and I really wish they had let Jennifer punch her. It could have been another slide in Jennifer’s downward spiral and it would have been quite appropriate. I really like Marlena but there are times when she really needs to be taken down a peg or two.

      • mykleraus Says:

        She almost always does. She can be so haughty.

    • Hard Candy Says:

      OMG…that had me dying laughing, the way Marlena dragged Jen off like a misbehaving child! I get that Marlena was surprised at Jen’s behavior, but wow. She ain’t her mama! lol


Leave a Reply

