Scarlet Takes a Tumble

That sure was a well timed plan Deimos had, huh?

Screen Shot 2016-03-31 at 1.38.43 PM

What if Maggie had had her near-fatal fainting spell while she and Victor were in the car, or in bed at night, or anyplace else Deimos wouldn’t have just been able to appear out of the mist and make his proposal to Victor? How in the hell could he know that she had “five minutes to live”? I know, I know — don’t think about it. But I can’t help it. And I can’t imagine a universe in which that contract Victor signed would have any legal viability whatsoever. He signed it under duress and without witnesses, and Deimos confessed to attempted murder to get it! It’ll be ridiculous if Victor can’t have that voided, which of course he won’t because it’s Days.

Mechanics aside, I don’t hate the ideas of stripping Victor of his wealth and of returning to the story of Maggie’s paralysis. They’re both pretty integral elements of the characters, so assuming the writing digs in and mines that — which is a big, generous assumption, I know — these could be fruitful setups.

It’s too bad Summer already swiped that red-shoe charm from Maggie, though. That fall gave me flashbacks to Fay Walker’s tumble down the stairs at the DiMera mansion, and the only thing that could recall that more would be a crazed daughter running around town squawking at everyone about a piece of her mother’s jewelry. I hope everyone caught and appreciated that sequence earlier this week in which Summer fondled the charm while having a flashback to fondling the charm. Can’t-miss TV, for sure.

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

8 Comments on “Scarlet Takes a Tumble”

  1. Shea Says:

    I REALLY wanted to love Deimos. I could over look the fact that he appears to be somewhat responsible for Bo’s death and I could over look the fact that he poisoned Maggie but I can’t overlook the fact that he is bedding Kate! It’s just too disgusting.

    That had to be some kind of time released poison he slipped Maggie…and to think he just bought it from Rory. LOL

    I feel like the backstory between Deimos and Victor and Victor’s dead fiance is just too weak. Victor acts like Deimos is the devil himself. I understand Deimos wanting revenge but what I don’t get is Victor’s reactions to Deimos from the beginning. The whole notion that all Victor had to do was apologize but he wouldn’t so I poisoned his wife…is just so twisted. Then Deimos barely blinked when Victor told him about Maggie breaking her back because of that poison…there has to be more history there than the flimsy dead Helena story.

    I guess now that Deimos is living in the mansion, that means that Victor and Maggie get to go live in Ben’s old apartment?

    • mykleraus Says:

      I don’t hate Kate the way a lot of online viewers seem to lately, but I’m coming to resent the writing for her. She’s never been STUPID, but they keep tossing her into these ridiculous, toxic relationships with maniacs, and she never learns anything. That scene of her telling Deimos how sexy his crazy scheme was felt absolutely insane!

      God help Maggie having to be paralyzed in that damn apartment with the flashing lights!

  2. UnderYourWing Says:

    victor is a cranky t stubborn narcissistic vulgar misogynistic bully who deserves whatever he gets…..funny how one of the women he treats like shit is the one who comforted him and made sure 911 was happening….. funny how if he would have just said fuck it and I am sorry to his brother his wife would have been safe(er)…..

    if only he would be forced to bathe with Barbara Walters, Regis Philbin , and uncle fester all singing “Do it to me one more time”
    off key…..

    • kathy Says:

      I think the fan’s clamoring for Victor’s snarky, misogynistic “one liners” have all but turned him into a caricature of all the grumpy old men out there. Gone is the measured, intelligent, gray character that I loved. The only saving grace for Victor is John Aniston. I see flashes of the true Victor is in his relationship with Maggie. Their courtship was a magnificent battle between a bad boy man with good hiding just under the surface and a good woman with a bad girl lurking in the shadows.

      I think Suzanne Rogers has enough for an Emmy reel already this year, if she submits anymore..

      • mykleraus Says:

        Agreed. It can be a funny facet of the character, but they use his snarking as a crutch now. He basically hates everyone all the time, which gets old. I’m hoping this latest crisis serves as a bit of a ‘reset’ for him.

    • mykleraus Says:

      I really, really liked how Nicole was the one to come to his rescue.

      I find Victor’s one-liners funny, but they’ve kind of lost sight of how to use them. He has every reason to dislike Nicole (an ex-wife who attempted to kill him and has slept her way through his family) and Chloe (who’s hurt Philip, Brady, and Daniel), for example. But he’s just sort of a blanket bastard to every woman who isn’t Maggie, Caroline, or Hope now. So far, this relationship has gotten Maggie shot, locked in a sarcophagus, poisoned, and now paralyzed… so maybe she should be reconsidering her choices.

  3. Dylan Says:

    Such a weird scene with Summer – I don’t get the point of her staring at these various objects, is she a kleptomaniac or something? Lately she just seems to be wandering around not being of much use. I am actually liking the show a lot more now! I’m really happy that they’re writing more for Victor and Maggie particularly – while I don’t know much about their history before 2012, there are a lot of interesting dynamics going on right now. I’m actually enjoying most of the storylines now, and stuff actually seems to be happening for once without them rushing through all the steps!

    • mykleraus Says:

      I agree about the feel of the show. I might not love the actual stories, but it feels way more like a traditional soap again, and they aren’t racing through story as though they HAVE to hit X number of major beats before the studio burns down or something.


Leave a Reply

