Time for Another Cast Cull!

It’s been a while (what, nine months?) since we had one of these, but four actors have just been announced as having been let go from Days

martha madison

Martha Madison (Belle), Brandon Beemer (Shawn), Sal Stowers (Lani), and Marie Wilson (Summer) are all out, according to Daytime Confidential. Can’t say I’m surprised about any of these, given the recent adjustment of head writing staff and the fact that the cast seems wildly bloated of late.

I feel sort of bad for Madison and Beemer, who are by all accounts lovely people and decent actors, but this show did exactly what I always feared they would when they brought back Belle and Shawn: rehashed their mid-2000s story, down to the juvenile behavior, only now they’re parents of a teenager. I’ve just found Belle so unappealing since her return that I’m relieved to see her gone. I would be interested in seeing Beemer’s Shawn stick around and move into totally different story — BTW, he’s still only had one scene with Hope, I think! — but they’ve done so little with him that it also isn’t a huge loss. If either of these characters is ever going to work again, they need to be brought back solo and more or less reset. This was a major wasted opportunity to do that. Interestingly, Olivia Rose Keegan, who plays Claire, hasn’t been announced as leaving — though I believe she’s on recurring status rather than contract, so who knows? With Marlena having no children on the canvas, though, it would make sense for Claire to stick around and live with her and John.

2d87a09300738eb0b8be0a717aebd8f6

I’m still completely unclear on why Lani was brought on in the first place, since there doesn’t seem to have been any purpose in revealing her as Abe’s daughter, her police work (besides to be an extra body), or her flirtations with Rafe and Shawn. I hate that they’re writing out yet another poorly developed black character for whom there were plenty of possibilities, but what’s been onscreen for her has been so blah that it’s zero percent shocking.

As for Summer: adios! I have nothing against Marie Wilson, and I wouldn’t have minded a con artist story in theory, but the one-two punch of making it all about Daniel and trying to make us buy another retcon about Maggie’s uterus has rendered this whole thing DOA for me. On the plus side, maybe this will turn into more of a villainous role in the coming months, which could be fun — and it does seem that they’re addressing this pretty soon after the character came onscreen, which is positive progress (remember Jordan?), though now we have to sit through her until, I don’t know, November or something insane.

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

20 Comments on “Time for Another Cast Cull!”


  1. YAAASSS!!! to all of this. I am doing the Balki Bartokomous Dance of Joy over here right now as I can’t stand any of these characters.

    Well, “can’t stand” really only applies to Belle. She is the Absolute Worst. I’m mostly just meh or eye-rolling towards Lani, who drives nothing forward story-wise, and I find Shawn far too mournful for my tastes.

    And as for Summer? I’m a ride-or-die Jeannie Theresa Donovan (soon to be Mrs. Black!) fan and I have to agree… I can’t stand the bitch! Not even delicious soapy drama… just annoying as hell. And if Maggie supposedly had her when she was 17, wouldn’t that make her… like… 50 or something? This timeline is so confusing to me!

    • mykleraus Says:

      Summer’s age is possibly the worst part of this to me. She would have to be significantly older than Daniel if she’s a baby Maggie gave up before she met Mickey and had her eggs harvested. And they just had Daniel’s tombstone say he was 50 when he died!

    • mykleraus Says:

      *worst part besides Summer’s hair

  2. marypickford Says:

    Yeah, I’m not upset about any of these departures. I thought I saw potential in Belle and Shawn (separately) but not the way it has played out. I haven’t hated the Summer story like other people have, but the Maggie connection seemed forced and stupid. I hope they make the whole thing a fabrication.

    Sal always seemed so wooden, though I liked her in her scenes with Abe and Theo. I wish they had given her more to do.

    • mykleraus Says:

      I’ve liked Sal Stowers in her scenes with her family and even with Shawn, minimal as those have been. I don’t think she’s the strongest actress, but she’s had zero to sink her teeth into. They couldn’t even give her some drama around the reveal that she’s Abe’s daughter! You can’t build a character on a bunch of scenes where someone is just like, “Hi, I’m here. Everything going on is okay.”

  3. underyourwing Says:

    don’t let the stage door hit you in the ass when you leave you useless actors we were never invested in anyway……..AMF !

    • mykleraus Says:

      It bothers me that we’re losing Shawn and Belle, in the sense that they *should* be important characters, but this “story” has been so atrocious that I just want it over.

  4. Barbie Says:

    I do think it is sad to give these actors a job and then not be able to write a decent storyline for them so they can work. I’m not sure that I am that interested in their characters, but again these short stories just aren’t meaty enough to keep them going.Belle and Shawn were already cooked before they got started with the infidelity story.

  5. Michelle Says:

    First of all I just found you blog and I love it! Just the right amount of fun and serious 🙂

    Secondly, while I feel bad for the actors, I’m not sad at any of these characters leaving. I think Summer was universally hated. I’m not sure what they wanted to do with Lani, it’s like they cast her and then had no idea what to do with her, and to make matters worse the actress was really stiff. As for Shelle, I honestly believe for me anyway that those two were so heavily front burner for so long by the time they left last time they were just played out. From 99-08 they were always on and always with story, no matter the actors playing them. I know they are many who do love them, but I’m not one of them.

    • mykleraus Says:

      Thank you! Glad you’re enjoying it. And I agree with you about all these characters. A big pile of blah. Shelle were beyond played out by the time they left in ’08, and their story wasn’t ever actually good to begin with! They never even really wrote a love story for them — it was just pre-determined that they’d experience True Love, and they got a bunch of dumb obstacles and rarely had actual conversations about what was going on.

      • Michelle Says:

        Yep, I can still remember reading the fall preview in I think Soap Opera Weekly in 1999 before Jason Cook had started, and Corday said something about how the children of Bo and Hope and John and Marlena would be the next supercouple. So he basically told us before Cook even started that they were going to be paired. I don’t know, it kind of turned me off of them before it had even started.

      • mykleraus Says:

        I remember that same preview! Too bad they forgot to actually build that in story over the ensuing 8-9 years…

  6. fluffysmom Says:

    The writers have a habit of bringing in characters with a lot of fanfare but they don’t write an interesting story for them or very little story at all in Lani’s case. The writing seems particularly bad for new female characters.

    I won’t miss Summer or Lani a bit. I suspect Belle and Shawn will return at some point. I hope Claire stays in Salem with Marlena and John.


  7. […] Beemer, who returned as Shawn Douglas earlier this year and was let go shortly after news of the new head writing team hit, is back. Kind […]


Leave a Reply

