Now That’s Dedication

Ugh. Ava was so lucky.

Screen Shot 2016-03-09 at 8.29.44 PM

I wish the people I stalked had such readily available headshots and publicity stills. It really takes your shrine to a new level.

As much as I maintain that they could’ve done more with Ava and that they should not have made Joey a murderer in this way, I’m impressed with the way they’re writing Steve and Kayla in the aftermath. They’re working together, and Kayla is clearly thawing toward him, but their issues and insecurities are very much out there. It’s complicated and messy, and while “working to protect your son from murder charges” doesn’t sound like the most romantic thing in the real world, it’s very soap and very supercouple, and I think it’s working well.

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “Now That’s Dedication”

  1. Shea Says:

    I really dislike everything about the Ava 2.0 storyline. I am floored that Steve and Kayla aren’t at least a bit more concerned that Joey killed Ava in the manner in which he did. But so far the aftermath and having Steve and Kayla work together is working for me so we’ll see how it goes but I REALLY need the writers to understand that this is the last time they can use another woman to come between Steve and Kayla. It’s just not fair for Kayla to have to keep dealing with this crap over and over!

    • mykleraus Says:

      My biggest objections are: a) Ava basically raping Steve; b) making Joey a murderer; c) the fact that it’s an obvious retread of the 2008 story. That said, there was a lot of potential here, so of course they wasted it. But I do think this whole thing has provided some interesting character work for S&K, which is unexpected. I wish they could channel that into other people’s not-so-great stories!

      • Shea Says:

        I have the same objections plus I disliked the way Joey was written and the way they tried to make it almost seem like a love triangle with his dad….I know that vibe only lasted a couple of scenes but it was sick to even flirt with that angle. I think Mary Beth and Stephen do a great job with giving us more than what is written so I am sure we will have more great scenes to come.

    • ADW Says:

      I had to laugh at the shrine 😂 I didn’t care for the Ava s/l either especially since I really didn’t know who the eff she was because I blinked and didn’t catch her stint last time.

      They can use a man to come between Kayla and Steve at point in the future. That just might get interesting because it calls for a dead guy (Jack) and others we haven’t seen or heard from in years (Mike Horton and David Banning). Also, Kayla dated and lost her virginity to that guy Chris who looks exactly like her brother Roman haha 😉 Unlike, majority of other woman in Salem who are cheaters and/or trollops, I can count on one hand how many guys Kayla was with. She sure had a dry spell since her and Steve split the last time after Africa; she only went on only one date with a guy called Silent Bob!

      • ADW Says:

        The man can *TRY to come between Kayla and Steve. Steve would have to be dead (again), they would have to divorce (again), raped (again), or Kayla be brainwashed (or something like that) in order for her to be with someone else.

      • mykleraus Says:

        Yeah, I don’t think there’s any chance of Kayla turning to another man from here on out. They really dropped the ball, IMO, not having her involved with someone *either* time Steve came back. Especially this time, since she knew he’d walked out on her, not that he’d “died.” It would’ve been a natural story, as opposed to getting them back together quickly (though I thought that was executed well) and then flinging Ava at them and having to resort to the rape twist just to create story.


Leave a Reply

