It’s a Cruel, Cruel Summer

I don’t have anything against Marie Wilson, winner of this year’s Take a Female Alum From Another Soap, Put Her on Contract, and Fire Her in a Year award.

Screen Shot 2016-02-24 at 9.11.57 AM

But: UGH. Why is this necessary? In theory, it’s wise that they decided to tie her to an existing character by (apparently) making her Maggie’s daughter. But they’re just pulling a Lani here. “Here’s a random woman, but don’t worry, she’s related to someone you know, and it won’t be a big deal for them!” Um, great? I’m not one of those Sarah Horton or Bust people, but like, come on. You want to bring on a daughter for Maggie whose backstory is an open book? She has one! No need to do this ridiculous, convoluted rewrite about how Summer was adopted, but she knew her birth mother was a young farm girl who couldn’t keep her, and somehow Daniel intuited that Maggie had to be her mother? If this doesn’t even have to do with the eggs Maggie donated as part of the surrogate program, then:

  • Summer’s birth predates Maggie meeting Mickey.
  • Maggie didn’t donate eggs until after she and Mickey were together.
  • Summer would then be older than Daniel.
  • Brady said Summer was “30-35” (LOL, yeah right).
  • They just showed Daniel’s gravestone, and it stated clearly that he was 50 years old at the time of his death.
  • I just had an aneurysm.

Why is this necessary? Not to mention that this woman is so batshit crazy that her local bartender has to be responsible for making sure that she takes her meds and eats. Sounds like a winner! Let’s drag her right back to Salem — there’s no way this could go poorly.

And I cannot believe we’re still hearing about Daniel this effing much. These writers didn’t seem to give two shits about him between September and New Year’s, but now he’s hanging around like the stench of a particularly stubborn fart. I think we have established that Daniel was a good man. Now go the fuck away! How fitting that this was the week in which #DamnDaniel is trending — that’s been my life for years.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

30 Comments on “It’s a Cruel, Cruel Summer”

  1. onemothing2 Says:

    I think Daniel is going to be nominated for sainthood any day now! Obviously we are going in the direction of some type of retcon but I wish they could do it in a way that wasn’t insulting to our collective intelligence. It’s seems really silly that Daniel, who as we know was a doctor, wouldn’t have done some type of DNA test on Summer before leaving her to sit on the beach unmedicated and crazy for almost 10 years. Wouldn’t she be our 4th or 5th previously unknown relative to pop up over the past year? Ugh!

    This is unrelated to your post but did you hear anything about some backlash Jonathan McClendon the kid who plays Chase got online because of comments he made about the Ciara assault storyline? I couldn’t find what made people angry but after following him on SnapChat for a couple days I’ve discovered he is a complete douche bag! Lol!

    • mykleraus Says:

      “before leaving her to sit on the beach unmedicated and crazy for almost 10 years”

      DEAD. But it’s true! Does this woman just shuffle back and forth between the beach and that tiny-ass bar? She looked absolutely insane standing there with her raggedy hair and her messy shirt. And yes, this is at least the fifth insta-relative in recent years: Paul, Xander, Lani, Deimos… They’re not all necessarily bad ideas, but they’re being overly reliant on this as shorthand for Why We Should Care.

      I was going to do a post about the Jonathan McClendon thing and then just decided I was tired of talking about rape culture on this blog, because it’s supposed to be entertaining and it makes me depressed. I saw the video (I think it was on Periscope) — he starts off making comments that I guess were supposed to be funny but were actually in appallingly bad taste about how Ciara didn’t punch him, so some part of her must have wanted it (ugh). Then he went on to say that he was doing it “in character as Chase,” which is still stupid and gross. Anyway, he got a ton of shit for it, and he sort of apologized but also was like, “I’m young and don’t know things.” So, just: ugh.

  2. fluffysmom Says:

    I don’t even know what to say other than I’m LMAO at this column. Maggie has daughters and grandchildren that could return to Salem. We don’t need Summer in Salem.

    • mykleraus Says:

      Right? They could plug Melissa, Sarah, Melanie, or Nathan into story easily and naturally, without having to shovel this horseshit about how Maggie was flinging her damn eggs around the world like they were Tootsie Rolls on Halloween.

  3. Dylan Says:

    Ugh, this is so dumb. How many times have we heard this “Daniel is a GOOD man” nonsense? Just ridiculous. I guess the one good thing that comes out of this is that they’re reintroducing Dario – he could be an interesting character addition.

    • mykleraus Says:

      Yeah, I’m not upset about the recast or the reintroduction of that character. They’ve aged him up a bit, the actor is at least decent, and he has plausible, established connections to people in Salem already.

      • Dylan Says:

        I actually was OK with Marie Wilson on ATWT as Meg, although the writers just had Meg vacillating between Paul and Craig limply (kind of like Belle did I guess) and they couldn’t manage to write anything better for her. But no actor/actress could make this BS retcon interesting or plausible.

      • mykleraus Says:

        I didn’t mind her there at all. I know a lot of people just disliked her because she wasn’t the original actress and they changed the character when they brought her back (15+ years later), but she was certainly at least capable. I won’t blame her personally for this mess (yet).

      • Dylan Says:

        Yeah.. Good grief this show is a hot mess. And the rest hasn’t shifted from this dark, depressing tone. Ava is now dead?! Let’s hope Griffith hasn’t killed all the characters before his time as head writer is up!

      • mykleraus Says:

        By the time the new regime takes over, the entire show will just be a shot of that bench in the park with a scrolling feed about how great Daniel was.

  4. underyourwing Says:

    ok. what she said about ‘i am ok if i take my meds but…..’ WELL TAKE YOUR PHARMACY then!! and the kid who said kinda well i am just a kid and don’t know my ass from a hot rock…..
    i can’t stand this guy but he is right. the old, teenagers/young adults brains don’t fully develop until whatever age it is that i am too lazy to look up.
    wait a minute….. are all the writers teenagers? yeah,
    i’m with you myk, the show is driving me to the nuts.

  5. ADW Says:

    Jury is still out on Summer I’m trying to give her a chance as I hope she won’t end up a dud like Sarena and Jordan. Honestly, I’m just relieved that Summer was not another one of Daniel’s 2,169 romances. I’m still wishing that TPTB would balance things out a but by bringing back some real Hortons whom we know and love to Salem instead of constantly creating long lost family members, never mentioned before with off screen back stories out if thin air? I would like to see Sarah again someday though and find out what she’s been up.
    Also, this Daniel pimping has to end, we have heard for 8 years that he was the greatest thing since sliced bread. Daniel has gone to an eternal tanning bed in the sky almost two months ago, time to move on! LOL on the lingering fart. 😄
    If I hear that chessy song one more time I’m gonna scream “bae bae I’ve got news for you, bae bae I don’t know why you do the things you do…cuz you’re never come my way…” I feel like “It’s a small world after all” should be playing instead.

    • mykleraus Says:

      Yeah, I don’t WANT to hate the character, and I do think we need non-Hortons and non-Bradys around, but the near-incest isn’t nearly as bad as it was in the mid-2000s. I would actually much prefer that Summer be an unattached person who comes to Salem and develops bonds through story — say, she’s Dario’s ex-girlfriend, and she follows him back to Salem and branches out from there. I just despise how they use “We’re related!” as a band-aid that’s supposed to make us care about people we don’t know, as opposed to having them develop relationships through business, their personal lives, etc. Remember how well it worked when Melanie bonded with Maggie? It felt like she’d organically found a place in Salem, not that she was being crammed into the show. That’s partly why I always hated them making her Maggie’s granddaughter — it wasn’t needed and cheapened that bond.

    • mykleraus Says:

      And OMG, I’m going to lose it the next time that song swells up.

  6. Erin L Says:

    At first I was excited to see where these dreams were going….now I’m bored again.

  7. Jamie Says:

    I keep getting confused and thinking Summer is Ava. The hair color and the crazy eyes really throw me off.

  8. kathy Says:

    I just can’t picture Maggie giving up a child. She ran a farm by hiring farmhands, wouldn’t she hire someone to help with the baby? I guess the decision could have been made for her and she doesn’t remember having a baby. Poor Maggie – giving her another kid that she didn’t raise. Ironic because she is probably the best mother in Salem next to Caroline. Brady told Summer that Maggie would welcome her with open arms — not so sure about that.

    • ADW Says:

      IF Maggie is in fact Summer’s mother who was the father? Since Maggie lived on a farm at the time, I’m wondering if she had a tryst with a cute, young farm hand who answered to every one of her commands with “as you wish.”

      Maybe Maggie’s “true love” left because he got drafted to Vietnam OR went off to get a higher paying job and he died or was assumed to be dead.

      I’m guessing Maggie gave up the baby because it had something to do a serious car accident which killed both her parents and put Maggie in a wheel chair for a while after. Also, it’s possible that Summer could have been kidnapped.

      I wonder how Victor will take the news? Will he be shocked OR rejoice and reminisce about Summer’s connection to his precious God Son whom he treated better than his own blood?

      • mykleraus Says:

        I’m sure it’ll either turn out that the father was her first love, whom she’s never mentioned and is now either dead OR will turn up as the new town psychopath shortly.

    • mykleraus Says:

      I could buy that she gave up a child right after her parents’ death, before she got the farm sorted out. She was sort of closed-off from the world and I don’t think had much confidence in herself at the time, so I could see how she might not consider herself an adequate parent. HOWEVER, I don’t buy that the Maggie we’ve known for 40 years wouldn’t have mentioned this or tried to find the child at some point. Especially not in light of her desperation to carry a baby (when she was a surrogate and had Sarah), when she found Daniel, when she lost Daniel recently, etc. It doesn’t work.

  9. Dan Says:

    I have trouble buying that this story is real. We are suppose to take the word of a young woman who is seriously deranged and is a known con artist. I think this is Summer’s latest con. Like Alice Horton, I can’t see Daniel thinking Summer is Maggie’s daughter and not revealing the connection. Doing what she does best, I’m hoping Summer is simply a problem who arrives in Salem to stir sh%t up.

    With that said, this story cannot be told with Melissa or Sarah. They were “good” girls. Summer is clearly not that. I think this makes more sense from a story perspective, but clearly not a historical one. There was no conflict from the Daniel – Maggie reveal whereas there would be conflict from this reveal.

    But, with this show, it will be revealed Summer is Maggie and Victor’s daughter or that she is secretly Helena…

    • mykleraus Says:

      That’s fair. If this is actually a con, at least it’s interesting. And yeah — if that’s the case, then of course it isn’t the sort of thing you could do with one of Maggie’s existing daughters. If this is just a setup to get another woman on canvas and insta-connect her to a Salem family, then bleh. My confidence in the current regime is not very strong.

    • ADW Says:

      I’m trying to have an open-mind and give this character a chance. I ended up adoring Paul Narita.
      In all honesty, many of the writers seize an opputunity to make Daniel a hero even post mortem. I can already hear Maggie gloating, “my Daniel spoke to Brady who found my baby girl!”
      I like the Helena idea too and that could be plausible. Idk if Helena’s cliff dive was in the U.S. or Greece though? Summer looks 45-50 years old, not 30-35 as Brady wrote on his note pad. Helena was killed 30 years ago while she was engaged to Victor. Prior to Maggie, Victor seemed to graviate towards lovers who were much younger than him so, Helena could have been late teens-20 at that time. What’s funny is Marie Wilson’s bio says she was born in Greece but, raised in Canada. Her real last name is Flevaras which seems all Greek to me.


Leave a Reply

