Days Renewed!

Our prayers have been answered!

1D274907287176-today-days-lives-141124-01.today-inline-large

Despite some behind-the-scenes drama earlier in the week, NBC has picked up Days for at least one more year, per Deadline Hollywood:

I have learned that Days Of Our Lives, which marked its 50th anniversary this season, has been renewed for next season, which will be the long-running daytime drama’s 51st. The pickup, which I hear may include an option for an additional year, keeps NBC in the daytime soap game as Days is the last remaining afternoon drama on its schedule.

Good news, for sure. It remains to be seen whether our prayers regarding Belle being tossed into a fiery pit will also be answered.

Also, this line from the Deadline article cracked me up:

Days recently topped that during the week of Jan. 4-8 with a big storyline involving Maggie’s decision whether Brady or Eric would receive the heart of her brain-dead son Daniel.

“Brain-dead son” indeed!

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

7 Comments on “Days Renewed!”

  1. marypickford Says:

    I saw this – hurray! No matter how bad the show gets (and I don’t think it’s even that bad right now – I’ve seen much, much worse) I would never want it to be cancelled.

    LOL at Maggie’s brain dead son. Even before the accident!

    • mykleraus Says:

      I think it’s sloppy but certainly not the worst I’ve seen (sadly). Mostly the execution is really uneven — it’s almost like they’re afraid to dig into anything too deeply, so they just tease a lot of stuff.


  2. This is great news. Now – if only the writers would actually tell a story. Right now they are telling Events, and ideas for stories in between the Events. I’d really like to see them balance the improved aesthetics and faster pace with more character-based drama. And for the love of MacDonald Carey, get Greg Vaughn back.

    • mykleraus Says:

      Exactly. There’s so little connective tissue. We just sort of reiterate a dynamic several times, and then something “shocking” happens, and then we plod along. The only things that even remotely count as stories, in which A leads to B leads to C, are the Steve/Kayla/Ava thing and sort of the Hope storyline, although I constantly have the sense that Hope’s entire story is happening in some bizarre bubble and that no real human being would make any of the decisions that these people are making.

  3. Shea Says:

    Great news! Last year when I decided to start watching again it was mainly because of the return of Stephen Nichols. I vowed to stick with it until the end of 2015 because of the 50th anniversary. Then I really started to enjoy the show again. Now I haven’t enjoyed it as much since the first of the year but I am hopeful it is about to get better. I admit when I first tuned back in I thought chances of renewal were slim and it felt like I owed it to my teenaged self that was so obsessed with the show almost 30 years ago to do my part by watching it. I hope it can turn things around and become a show that I can enjoy on a more consistent basis.

    • mykleraus Says:

      The one thing that feels improved since the holidays is balance. We’re at least seeing non-Hope/Chad/Abigail people on a regular basis. WHAT we’re seeing isn’t that good, but at least there’s that.


  4. […] on heels of Days’ latest renewal comes word of another shake-up, this time (yet again) amongst the head writers. From […]


Leave a Reply

