Jonas of Nazareth

As I began Thursday’s episode, I was all set to rage about all the over-the-top caterwauling at Daniel’s funeral. For someone who hated Daniel and loves to snark on Days, it should’ve been my Christmas! But I have something to admit: I… thought it was pretty well done.

I know, I know! Hold your tomatoes, though. I still think Daniel generally sucked, and I resent how much airtime was given to him (and spent talking about his awesomeness), and I still abhor the way he was crammed into Maggie’s family tree, and I still hate that they sacrificed the compelling, organic Nicole/Eric pairing for this alleged “great love” between Daniel and Nicole. But, in terms of the relationships Daniel was given and the onscreen history he had, I felt like the show did a very nice job of playing the proper beats. I know there’s been a lot of discussion about how Will and Bo got short shrift, but I truly disagree. The grieving for Will was intense and well done (unfortunately, Sami and Sonny were only visiting, and the death itself didn’t have any real story fallout), and Bo basically got memorialized for a week before he even died. So, in a world in which Daniel is a thing that we’ve had to deal with and these people, for some reason, liked him, I thought this worked decently as a tribute episode.

Screen Shot 2016-01-29 at 4.43.53 PM

This was the Melanie I loved, light on the spastic wigging-out (and thankfully free of that horrible wavy bob that looked like it had a Bump-It in it that she was sporting last year). Since I didn’t really give two hoots about Daniel, the one scene that almost got me to tear up was Melanie’s talk at the end with Maggie. That bond will always be moving to me. And they had Chloe behaving like a mature human being, too! I appreciate that they’ve taken the time to rehab Chloe and Nicole’s friendship.

I did almost lose it — in the laughing-hysterically sense — when this happened.

Screen Shot 2016-01-29 at 4.44.28 PM

A shrine right in the Town Square, next to Tom and Alice’s plaque! Random extras espousing the greatness of St. Daniel! Ugh. But then they even had to go and (sort of) make this work by revealing that Eric was the one who’d started it.

Screen Shot 2016-01-29 at 4.45.12 PM

I like how they’re navigating the reactions to Eric and what he did. People are being firm that his act was wrong but haven’t just decided that he’s The Evilest and should burn in Hell. That said, this still feels really flat to me. The individual scenes are good, but there’s sort of no there there. He drove drunk, and someone died. We haven’t seen one discussion in which Eric reveals why he was drinking so heavily, or in which other people wonder if this was an ongoing thing and how/why they didn’t notice. They might as well have just said he had one glass of wine too many and got behind the wheel, because this isn’t really about Eric or his drinking at all, and they don’t seem to be addressing any of the underlying reasons for the behavior we (briefly) saw in the lead-up to the accident.

Oh, and maybe someone should check on Maxine? I’m pretty sure that if she missed that sobfest over the great Daniel, she must have ended it all the minute she heard about his passing.

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

8 Comments on “Jonas of Nazareth”

  1. Robbiemac420 Says:

    Yeah! What DID ever happen to Maxine? She loved Dr. Jonas so much! I like the calmer Melanie too and the friendship between Chloe and Nicole (after all, they are going to be co-parenting Parker it seems). I think Eric should be treated like the man who committed vehicular manslaughter. And has anyone even left Sami a friggin’ message about all of this trauma? I really hope they don’t continue with the Jen-as-addict thing. But I guess what else would they have her do? A stay-at-home grandma?

    • mykleraus Says:

      If Belle was able to trade bitchy texts with Sami about the damn money, I sure hope someone let her know what Eric’s going through! I hate that she’s indefinitely ‘in hiding’ now.

  2. underyourwing Says:

    maxine must be stuck in the supply closet. someone should check……or was sex already had there after her turning into a ghost?
    also, yes, jenn as a junkie is great. looking forward to this one!!

    • mykleraus Says:

      I can’t even remember when we actually saw her last. It might’ve been around the time Daniel and Nicole got engaged? She was throwing all kinds of shade at Nicole for not being Jennifer.

      • Shea Says:

        It is odd because Aloma Wright was part of Day of Days and it had been months since she had been on the show even then. But I think she has been keeping busy and had a recurring spot on a prime time show. I think it was Suits but I can’t remember and I too lazy to look it up.

      • mykleraus Says:

        I feel like they didn’t mean to stop using her — they just haven’t, unlike Anne, who they kind of crammed into more current stuff. It’s bizarre we didn’t see her reaction to Daniel’s death,though.

        And yeah, she had a recurring part on Suits. She’s seriously been on EVERYTHING. I was just watching a random Friends rerun and saw her!

  3. ADW Says:

    I loved Aloma Wright on Scrubs! Also, I remember her in “Bring it On” as the talk show host who helped the East Compton Clovers get to the Cheer competition. I know the since last spring/summer, a handful of minor characters (like T and Rory) were being phased out but, unlike the others, I never heard anything about Maxine leaving.
    I was cracking up at the shrine for Daniel, so ridiculous! Also, I laughed at Eric who looked like a haggard bum on the public park bench chugging his liquor (or Wild Irish Rose) out of a brown paper bag. I still manage to find some comedy in the midst the excessive doom and gloom.
    Jennifer has been backburned in the past year or so but, not it looks like there is finally an interesting storyline developing for her which luckily doesn’t involve chasing Daniel or constantly hovering over her adult children. I don’t think they would show Jennifer flabbergasted she finished a the whole bottle of her pain meds in a couple of days if they weren’t going somewhere with that. It’s a sad reality that people get hooked on pain meds, muscle relaxers, etc following an injury and/or surgery.

    • mykleraus Says:

      OMG, I never made the connection that that was Aloma Wright in Bring It On. Duh!

      I love how on-the-nose addiction is on Days. If you’re an alcoholic, you’re drinking out of a paper bag in the park and/or driving while so fucked-up that you close your eyes while blasting generic rock music. If you’re a pill addict, you take a moment after every single conversation to fondle your pill bottle and gobble up another one. I do think there’s something topical and interesting about a pain pill addiction — especially because a lot of people view it as ‘cleaner’ or less serious than a drinking or hard drug problem — but they’re painting it in such broad strokes with Jen so far.


Leave a Reply

