Nailed It

I guess it’s a good thing that they didn’t just have Andre pop up from that building explosion like Wile E. Coyote and go about his business, and they certainly got the brutality of his injuries right…

Screen Shot 2016-01-27 at 10.14.31 AM

But I would reeeeeally be fine never again seeing someone pull a nail out of his face. Ack. Can someone explain why he wouldn’t have gone to the hospital? Aside from a fear of being pronounced dead on the spot, of course. He wasn’t doing anything illegal (I mean, trespassing, sort of, but that’s small potatoes), and you know he loves any opportunity to force the “good” Salemites to pay attention to him. Yes, transporting himself home and then staggering around bleeding all over the house and howling seems like a much easier plan.

Screen Shot 2016-01-26 at 10.14.22 AM

I’m not sure it’s going to help Chad’s case with Abigail if they go back to the mansion and there’s even more blood spattered around. I actually sort of love the idea of seeing the DiMera mansion get a bright makeover (and yes, I realize that this is probably an excuse to re-use the set), but how banal and hilarious is it that the house is being foreclosed on? Stefano had half a billion dollars sitting around for Sami to steal, but he didn’t pay his damn mortgage?!

I’d like to promise that I will stop harping on the timeline, but I can’t promise that, because it continues to confound me in new and ridiculous ways.

Screen Shot 2016-01-27 at 9.40.09 AM

When Ava sent Joey on his way, she told him to go back to school. Steve came up to her immediately afterward. Sometime in the middle of their conversation, it turned from day to night. So were they talking for five hours? Because Joey went back to school, got a booze hook-up, got drunk, and made it to Ciara’s party all while that conversation was going on.

Fairly minor in the grand scheme of things, yeah. But still irritating! I will say this, though, and I’m as surprised as anyone: I’m liking this Ava story. It’s twisting and turning in ways I haven’t expected, but the pace doesn’t feel unnaturally fast, and best of all, it isn’t predicated on everyone being total morons (except Joey, but that’s kind of the point there). And Ava’s level of batshit crazy is honestly cracking me up. When she burst out with that deranged grin and shouted at Steve, “I brained her!!!”, I was dying.

Meanwhile, over at Ciara’s lame-ass party:

Screen Shot 2016-01-27 at 9.43.10 AM

Hope heard that Marlena’s cleavage brought Eric out of his coma, so she thought she’d slip on a black leather halter top and give it a shot. And goodness knows she’s gonna need luck, if her big plan to keep her family safe is to take them to a remote island that’s both very accessible from Salem and pretty much the first place anyone would think to look for Hortons outside Salem (well, there or downtown Africa).

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

12 Comments on “Nailed It”

  1. Shea Says:

    I thought the sudden shift from day to night during the Steve and Ava conversation was irritating. There is just no reason to have done it. Keep it light until they got back to the house.

    It’s January! What the hell is Hope wearing? When she came down the stairs I thought it was a leather vest. I think it did distract me from her cardboard daughter so I guess that is good.

    This whole teen scene is just bizarre to me. I need a diagram to keep up with all the crushes. Theo—>Ciara<—-ChaseAva but who does Ciara like? I thought when they first SORASed the character that she had a crush on Rafe but now she is just pushing him toward her mom. I think I would like the crush angle more than her trying to get her mom laid. And the guy drunk Joey almost got in a fight with was the same kid they were all hanging out with one NYE?

    I thought Andre bleeding all over the living room was hilarious after the big deal he made over the single drop of blood on that little statue.

    Obviously I haven’t been watching for again for a year but I thought there had to be some kind of significance to Stefano not paying the mortgage for a year. Maybe when EJ died? When were Kate and Sami trying to take over Dimera Industries? It doesn’t make much sense.

    • mykleraus Says:

      And then in Rafe’s office, when Hope was like, “It’s hot in here!!!” and stripped off her blazer. I was having bad Rafe/Carrie flashbacks.

      Joey’s the only teen who’s really working for me, because he’s integrated into his parents’ drama. Ciara playing matchmaker with Hope/Rafe WEEKS after her father died is insane. Theo’s bullying stuff is stupid, but at least well intentioned. Claire and Chase are decent actors with dumb material. It’s all just so blah.

      • Shea Says:

        Maybe I have been fanwanking a bit but there have been moments that made me suspicious of Lani. I think maybe I don’t see any point in her existing unless there is more than meets the eye. I had some thoughts that she is going to be some psycho stalker type and cause some drama for Hope and Rafe but I could also see her being the one who is sending Theo the texts because she is jealous that he grew up with Abe. It’s just a theory I have been forming to try to justify the character. It’s probably not gonna happen.

      • mykleraus Says:

        I’m getting the vibe that something could be up, too. The way they have her lurking in the background of Rafe’s scenes is weird. Unless she’s supposed to be some virtuous cop who can’t stand that they’re conspiring, it’s odd. I keep wondering if they’re going to try her with anyone else romantically. Shawn?

      • VKing Says:

        I so agree with your comments! I do like the storyline between Joey and Ava. Joey is turning out to be a pretty good actor and Ava can switch from angelic to evil in a flash–great acting! As for Ciara, how can she even contemplate her mother having a new love interest just days after her father died? Unbelievable! And poor Ciara’s lack of acting ability just damages the story even more. I do think the bullying story could be powerful if it is done correctly and given enough proper air time to fully develop. Unfortunately, the writers seem to throw in snippets of the teen stories when there is time to fill.

        I also agree about Lani–something weird about her!

        Finally, I admire your tackling the project of rewriting the history of DAYS without the sorasing. Just looking at the photo of Patty Weaver made me smile. I remember when she would sing on the show–absolutely amazing voice!!!

        Thanks again for all of your work!

      • mykleraus Says:

        All the non-Joey teen stuff really does feel like filler. Nothing even happens — they just sort of reinforce the existing dynamics without movement. And the Ciara actress is really, really stiff. I do see potential in the bullying storyline if it got some more focus and had weight. Theo seems slightly embarrassed by it, but it feels too light right now.

        I hope the un-SORASing thing doesn’t give people too many headaches. It’s been kind of a fun puzzle, though I think the 2000s might kill me…

  2. Barb Says:

    Why would Hope leave a group of teenagers having a party at her house without a chaperone and tell Ciara to call her if they need her. Just because the police are guarding the house has nothing to do with what the teenagers might be up too.

    • mykleraus Says:

      Not to mention that she’s worried a dangerous maniac is determined to get revenge on her and her family. Naturally the only thing to do is slip on some leather and go out while you leave the kids alone to party!

  3. marypickford Says:

    When Andre started digging around in his face, I thought he was going to pull out some dramatic clue, like the bullet that killed Stefano or something. That would have still been gross and weird, but at least would have been a reason to even have that scene.

    Hope’s leather vest is really bad. I don’t need to count her breastbones, thank you. It seems calculated to show off KA’s jewelry more than anything.


Leave a Reply

