From the Mouths of Idiots

In the time it took Hope and Ciara to have a pizza delivered, good old John Robichaux was able to fly from New Orleans to Salem. I really hope that pie was free!

Screen Shot 2016-01-22 at 4.33.05 PM

And you’ve gotta love Drake Hogestyn for being able to deliver a line like, “My mother tried to kill me today” with all the consternation of someone reporting that they got a parking ticket. Eduardo was all, “That sucks, man.” What do you think it would take to get these people to just stay the hell home after one of these rough days? Though I guess if you live in a world pizza delivery takes six hours, you might brave the three local restaurants on the worst of days, too.

Oh! And Basic Black is going to capitalize on the momentum of the New Year’s Eve fashion show, which took place 18 days ago last night, with a photo shoot that they’re certain will land a magazine cover.

Screen Shot 2016-01-22 at 4.34.57 PM

I’m no Anna Wintour, but I’m pretty sure the way it works in the magazine world is not “Hey, we took some cool photos. You’ll put them on your cover, right?” Not even when the periodical you’re targeting seems to be High School Formals Quarterly.

I don’t know how the actresses playing the Basic Black execs got through all the gushing about the fashions and the photos without lighting themselves on fire and running screaming out of that soundstage.

Screen Shot 2016-01-22 at 4.34.45 PM

You know what? I’m just going to be grateful that Nicole took off that damned coat and that the photographer didn’t proclaim, “Is that a coat owned by the late, great Daniel Jonas? Let’s put that in the photos!”

Also, I watched Friday’s episode on YouTube because it still hadn’t been posted on NBC.com by 3 pm Pacific time on Saturday (thanks to reader Shea for the tip!), and I discovered a fun new game. YouTube has a feature that provides captions… by using some sort of audio-identification system.

Screen Shot 2016-01-23 at 4.44.42 PM

Like in the scene above, where Belle was saying something like “…blackjack and I lost, so I just charged it to the room.” They more or less got it, right? (God knows I hate Belle enough without having to hear about her “discharge,” ugh.) I might start watching all the episodes this way. I’m sure the automated captions make about as much sense as the actual dialogue, anyway.

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

19 Comments on “From the Mouths of Idiots”

  1. Shea Says:

    I actually didnt get to watch friday’s show until last night. And I watched on nbc.com rather than my dvr. The closed captioning is really funny. That doesn’t just happen on YouTube. I know months ago when I first started tuning back in there were lots of scenes where the dialogue was low (and certain actors can kinda mumble anyways) so I would try turning the volume way up and still not be able to figure out the dialogue. When I tried to use the captioning it was crazy, incoherent garbage too. The audio has improved since the fall and with the exception of a few of Eric’s hospital bed scenes, I haven’t had trouble hearing the dialogue in probably 3 months.

    As far as the show goes…I had been one of those people screaming about the pacing, the timelines, and the never ending days but somehow since the first of the year that part hasn’t bothered me. It is the editing that is getting on my nerves.

    I am just ignoring the whole basic black storyline. It is nothing but fluff or a backdrop for character interactions so I can just overlook it.

    I really want to know where the hell Ava has been hiding my girl Kayla for a week or a couple of Days days anyway. I was disappointed we didn’t get much follow up on that.

    • VKing Says:

      Once again, I love your insight and your summary of the week! Thank you!

      I hate to be a pest, but where do you find the full length episodes on You Tube? Is there a particular phrase to type in the search bar? I have typed in “Days of Our Lives, Episode Jan.22, 2016” or something similar and all I get are quick summaries or previews. I would so appreciate any tips you can give me. Thank you again!

      • mykleraus Says:

        Not a pest at all! I just didn’t want to put it in the post because I didn’t want Google to pick it up and get the channel shut down. The Twitter user DaysFan28 posts links to same-day episodes and clips on YouTube.

    • mykleraus Says:

      The audio definitely improved, only for the lighting to get almost unbearably dark for a while! But things appear to have leveled out now.

      It’s weird that they didn’t follow up on Kayla other than to show Ava reading the letter and discovering that Kayla should be out of town. Where the hell did she put her?! In the closet? I’m not understanding how these people are schlepping bodies all over town without detection.

      The thing about the pacing/timeline that makes me crazy is (aside from it being stupid and good joke material) when it’s genuinely supposed to matter in the story. Like when Andre’s henchmen reported that Rafe has altered his daily commute to drive by the abandoned warehouse. They said it’s January 18th, but it’s technically still the same day that Hope shot Stefano. So has Rafe driven by the warehouse once/twice (if it’s actually the same day) or 18-36 times?! If it’s the latter, he is a RAGING MORON. And it makes it tough to gauge how severe Jennifer’s pain is supposed to be — is she a day removed from the accident or three weeks? — and how long Nicole has been grieving. That stuff drives me insane!

      • Shea Says:

        Well I do remember that when Rafe and Hope stashed Stefano in the building Rafe commented that the building was going to be demolished in 3 days. I think basically Hope shooting Stefano only happened a couple of days ago so Rafe has only driven past the building twice but that it has been 3 weeks since the NYE car accident so Jen has probably been popping pills for 3 weeks. Which also made it weird when Eric was in the morgue because that means Daniel’s body has been sitting down there for 3 weeks.

        Are we going to have to sit through a funeral for Daniel or is that supposed to have already happened off screen? I am really hoping it was off screen and we can just move on now.

      • mykleraus Says:

        That’s what I mean — it’s maddening not just because it seems silly, but because there’s a lot of stuff we should be able to infer from the passage of time that truly makes no damn sense now. I wasn’t having this problem under TomSell, for sure.

        The funeral thing is weird. Are Mel and Chloe still in Salem? The continuity is so confusing.

      • Shea Says:

        Yeah so we have different timeline for different characters. I do suspect that some of this is due to some major re-editing that took place after Higley’s LOA started. It’s also weird to me how Hope was a raving lunatic until she shot Stefano and she has seemed completely sane since then.

      • mykleraus Says:

        I know! It’s very abrupt. So the cure for insanity is… murdering someone? Sounds like a plan!

  2. underyourwing Says:

    what continuity?

  3. PMac Says:

    Did not even think about posting this info on Google! So sorry! I do not want to get those sites shut down! Thank you again.

  4. VKing Says:

    Thanks for the alert on posting..so sorry! I do not want to get any sites shut down!

    • mykleraus Says:

      No worries! Hence why I gave the name of the Twitter user who links and not the YouTube channel. 😉

      • Shea Says:

        I believe the YT channel we are discussing is private and the only way to find these clips is to click the links given on the twitter feed. If you need to share this information with anyone else just give them the twitter account to look for but do not post or share any of the links they provide on their twitter account.

        The deletion of material on YT is incredibly sad to me. I actually do understand the powers that be wanting to keep the current episodes off of YT but I see no point in going after the clips that are years or decades old. In the end I think it actually hurts to show to not have this content available. I know that binge watching the 80s S&K playlists back in the summer really got me excited about watching the show again in the fall. Without the ability to re-watch the old stuff that I love I am not sure I would committed to drudging thru the crap that was airing when I started re-watching.

      • mykleraus Says:

        It drives me nuts. It’s such a good promotional tool for the current show. I have to wonder if there’s even any logic behind the constant hunting and deleting beyond “We own the rights to this.” If they’d put everything online to stream, I would pay for access! I’m sure they don’t want to invest in dealing with the music rights and residual payments issues, which is why they won’t do it, but if the episodes are all just sitting there unused…?

  5. fluffysmom Says:

    I’d love to watch the old episodes online. on cable, or DVD.

    • mykleraus Says:

      Same. Procter & Gamble briefly authorized DVD collections of some of their soaps — they didn’t do tons of episodes, but organized them by themes (weddings, characters, etc.). It was kind of fun watching and trying to figure out who everyone was, where in the story we were, etc.

      • Shea Says:

        I have an old high school friend who frequently posts links on Facebook to watch the NEXT day’s episode of the young and the restless online. So on Monday she posts a link that is supposedly the Tuesday episode. I have never checked it out because I don’t watch that show but after what has happened to all the days content on YouTube it ticks me off. It also makes me think the crackdown is being done by NBC and not Sony.

      • mykleraus Says:

        Sony has been pretty crazy about pulling down old Y&R stuff online, too. One of the boards I read has a bunch of posters who are constantly trying to watch full story arcs before Sony yanks them down. I really don’t get how it benefits them to do this!


Leave a Reply

