A Shot in the Dark

I never love Stefano more than when he’s taunting the Bradys and Hortons, especially because he is almost always correct. I was howling at all the insults he was hurling Hope’s way yesterday: “your idiot husband,” “that ape you married,” “that banal dead husband of yours”… not to mention how she screamed at him for brainwashing her and turning her into a criminal, and he just shot back, “The only time you were interesting!”

But, uh, is this really the end of the line for Stefano DiMera?

Screen Shot 2016-01-09 at 9.59.02 AM

If so, it’s cool that they kept his exit out of the media, and as long as it’s Joe Mascolo’s choice to retire, then it’s the right thing to do. (I did notice that he was having trouble even keeping up the Stefano accent on Friday — he kept lapsing into his regular voice.) To be fair, Stefano probably deserves to die for hiring such incompetent staff. Why did Harold allow Hope into the house? Oh, I know — because he was probably asleep, since he was awake greeting people in full formal dress at 5 a.m.!

A Martinez tweeted this last night, which people are taking as evidence that this really was meant to be Stefano’s last stand:

Screen Shot 2016-01-09 at 11.15.20 AM

(No, I have no idea why he tagged that specific group of people and entities in his tweet.)

Stefano was definitely goading Hope into shooting him, right? He wanted this confrontation to end that way. So either it’s a trick to get her into trouble for some vague and never-will-be-explained reason, or he knows he has a fatal illness — no, for real this time — and wanted to get some “value” out of his passing. But it’s a little anticlimactic, no? It doesn’t really feel like the culmination of anything that has to do with Stefano. I guess we’ll see.

Meanwhile, I know Chloe’s probably a little turned-around from her grief, but her parenting choices on Friday were… not stellar.

Screen Shot 2016-01-09 at 9.55.07 AM

“Parker, I know I’ve been hemming and hawing for this entire hour with Nicole, plus the length of a drive from Chicago to Salem, but now that we’re here in the middle of the mall, we need to tell you that something bad has happened… Your father WAS a good man! He LOVED you very much!” Spoiler alert much, lady?

Weird time to recast Parker, but I guess it was good that they had an actor onscreen who could speak words for this particular event.

Also, this is exactly how I would feel if I awoke to find out that any part of Daniel Jonas was inside of me:

Screen Shot 2016-01-09 at 9.53.37 AM

I’m starting to wonder if this writing regime’s M.O. is to pick off the Salemites one-by-one, so all we’re left with is a bunch of cyborgs with spare parts collected from the dearly departed. We’re off to a good start: Brady has Daniel’s heart, Abe has Zack’s corneas, Ciara has Zack’s liver (?), Abigail has Austin’s bone marrow, Chloe has Joy’s bone marrow, Jennifer has… her own heart that got stolen and then re-implanted. Viva la robots!

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

24 Comments on “A Shot in the Dark”

  1. Days fan Says:

    I always wanted Setefano to die at the hands of a Brady or jarlena. If it is true, Under the circumstances, I’m glad it was Hope. It looks like she regrets it but like Marlena so many years ago, I hope she ends up embraces it because she stopped stefani when no one else could.

  2. marypickford Says:

    Gwen? 🙂

    I’m glad his death was at the hands of a Brady too, and I appreciate that they took Hope to this dark place first. It really made it work, I thought.

  3. Nicole Says:

    Claire has Zack’s liver, and I believe that Stefano has (had?) John’s kidney. RIP Phoenix. I’m just really disappointed John or Marlena wasn’t the one to pull the trigger.

    • mykleraus Says:

      I do remember Stefano getting an organ from John in like 2006-07, right? Isn’t that why he originally wanted a Brady/DiMera baby?

      • Shea Says:

        I watched this stuff back in the summer before it started disappearing on YouTube. Stefano was very sick back then and had multiple transplants. Steve was under EJ’s mind control and he kidnapped a comatose John from the hospital and stole his kidney (with Kayla’s help…she removed the kidney so that the Dimera’s butcher of a doctor wouldn’t slaughter John to get it and leave him for dead). Stefano also needed a liver transplant so his people stole part of his son Benji’s liver and then left him for dead in a dumpster. I think the part about wanting a Brady/Dimera baby was so he could get a stem cell transplant.

      • Robbiemac420 Says:

        When I read all of this history, it is so farfetched! How do the writer’s come up with such shit? And yet, 50 years later, we are still captivated by the DROOL! We might as well be watching Jerry Springer or Maury Povich! What does this say about us as fans? Truly scary!

      • mykleraus Says:

        Hahahaha. In their defense, it always reads a lot sillier in summary form than when it’s spread out over several years — at least to some degree…

      • mykleraus Says:

        Oh, thank you! I remember lots of pieces of it, but the specifics really blur together. I hated Benjy’s ending so much. Ugh.

      • Shea Says:

        Well it’s a soap opera so some plots are always going to be far fetched and over the top. I think the secret to making it work is writing the characters and their reactions as real and authentic even if the plots are not.

        It’s funny but a few months ago I was reading a character bio for Rafe (since I was only watching occasionally for most of the time he has been on) and I discovered that Stefano had some kind of plot to cut off Rafe’s penis. Having watched the 2006-2007 stuff so recently my first thought was “Did Stefano need a new one of those too?”

      • mykleraus Says:

        That’s how I feel. It comes off very silly in a condensed summary format, but when it’s grounded in real emotions and reactions, it tends to work onscreen (the same way sci-fi and fantasy stuff works). When they skip that important element, it’s nonsense.

        Stefano was peeved at Rafe for sleeping with Kate (whom Stefano intentionally drove away!), so he planned to have his penis chopped off while he was in a coma. Sami shot a crooked cop to save Rafe and almost went to Death Row again.

      • Robbiemac420 Says:

        Shea…you are TOO funny!

  4. Robbiemac420 Says:

    I, too, am glad Stefano is dead (at least I, um, hope, so…sorry, I couldn’t help it!) at the hands of a Brady. I’ve noticed that he had been reading cue cards some months ago, even before his heart attack and wondered then if he was really sick and would be long for the show. The only problem I see is that Andre’, who is really the most dangerous DiMera now, will come back with a vengeance. I think Hope should have shot them both when she had them in the same room. Although, what would we do without a DiMera to hate?

    • mykleraus Says:

      The thing about Andre is that he’s a total maniac and I’m not sure what his motivation ever is besides f***ing with people. So I hope they flesh that out more.

  5. Shea Says:

    This Hope storyline has just been a huge mess. Most days she was almost impossible to watch and I really hate it because in theory it should have worked. I still think pacing is the biggest issue. Instead of seeing Hope slowly spiral out of control and lose her grip on reality, they had her become a lunatic overnight and the whole thing just feels empty to me. The death of Stafano should be HUGE but because the build up to it was such a mess it just feels flat.

  6. Simon Parris Says:

    Gah! The new kid playing Parker is terrible. the other little guy was so great. Maybe he got on so well with Shawn (all that giggling!) that it would have been too traumatic for him to find out Daniel was dead.

    Meanwhile, a nice nod to history with Maggie not having cried yet for Daniel. I remember her having the same situation (delayed tears) in the early 1980s when Mickey was believed dead.
    Of course it took far more than one episode for Maggie to break down in tears back then, although the way the current regime writing the show as if the end of the world is nigh it is no wonder Maggie cracked so quickly. If she had a pub she could have opened it that afternoon.

    • mykleraus Says:

      I thought the new Parker was sort of regular-kid-actor terrible — over-indicating, reciting his lines, etc. But the other kids really never spoke, so I get why they wanted someone older. (They’re really cute, though.)

      Doesn’t Maggie own a damn restaurant, still?!

      • Robbiemac420 Says:

        I kinda like the new Parker…at least he speaks well. I think I said this kid was on a commercial for an insurance company, but it’s actually a car commercial. He acts really well on the commercial and hopefully he’ll be given a chance to show his talents as an older Parker. I really don’t think the other Parker would have been able to understand, yet alone pretend to be sad, over Daniel’s death. He had speech problems and giggled ALL the time!

        And I saw Maggie weeping uncontrollably over Daniel in his room. Was I imagining it? Although we haven’t been there for what seems like a lifetime, doesn’t Chez Rouge still exist? It used to be the most upscale eatery in Salem. So, we have the Brady Pub, Club TBD, and Chez Rouge, right?

      • mykleraus Says:

        Maggie definitely cried at the hospital, both in Daniel’s room and with various others.

        We haven’t seen Chez Rouge since 2011 (I don’t think), but it’s still alive offscreen. Ava and Nicole actually mentioned getting drinks there during the Basic Black party.

  7. underyourwing Says:

    Joe Mascolo: the King is dead long live the king


Leave a Reply

