Another One Bites the Dust

Fairly unsurprising casting news behind the cut…

OJ3Z5H2c

As has been rumored for months (and probably assumed for even longer), Kate Mansi (Abigail Deveraux) has chosen to leave the show now that her contract is up. Serial Scoop confirms the news.

Although Mansi has finished taping, look for her to remain on air through at least May.

Mansi first aired as Abigail in February 2011, and she most likely signed a four-year contract at that time, so I’m guessing she agreed to some sort of extension in the past year that’s just now running out. And as much as I hate to lose her, good for her — she’s the right age and has the right amount of heat that she should be striking while the iron is hot, especially considering how well the last Abigail, Ashley Benson, has done.

There was also a casting call a while back that seemed like it could very much be for an Abigail recast, so for all we know, they’ve already got someone filming. This is one case in which I don’t think they can afford to write the character out with the performer or even give the character more than a few weeks’ rest. Abigail has been driving story too strongly to suddenly go MIA. As strong as the Abigail/Chad material has been since last spring, I almost wish they’d recasted last year, if this is in fact a case of a contract extension; that way, the story would’ve been based on chemistry between Billy Flynn (Chad) and the new Abigail. Then again, it might not have worked at all. We have several more months of Mansi’s Abigail, but here’s hoping they’re a little more rigorous in finding a recast than they were with Guy Wilson…

Also, this was trending on Facebook, in that weird sidebar area where they like to tell me what Gigi Hadid was wearing on vacation. WTF?

Screen Shot 2016-01-04 at 10.03.36 PM

Bo’s death also did, so I’m wondering if Facebook has an algorithm that personalizes really important news like this for me, based on my embarrassing browser history.

(Apropos of nothing besides the running commentary in my head, does anyone else think she really looks like Lori Loughlin — you know, Aunt Becky from Full House — in the pic above?!)

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “Another One Bites the Dust”

  1. Shea Says:

    Facebook is definitely stalking up. I got the trending bits for Bo’s death and for Kate Mansi as well. But I don’t ever recall anything about what Gigi Hadid is wearing and I know I have never had anything about Duck Dynasty show up in my trending…(where is that meme of Kermit drinking tea when you need it?)

    I do see the Lori Laughlin resemblance but Kate’s not as “pretty” as Lori…I am trying to figure out how to say it…she isn’t less attractive it’s just her features are not as delicate as Lori’s…hopefully that makes sense.

    I agree with you that it’s time for Kate Mansi to go. She should try to strike while the iron is hot if her goal is to move on from daytime. I will be honest, when I first started watching again I did not think Kate Mansi was a strong actress but with the right material she has really changed my mind. I didn’t see the former Chad but Billy Flynn has been a great recast. In fact he may be good enough to help carry his partner through the transition if they give them some good material so I will keep an open mind.

    • mykleraus Says:

      I get what you’re saying. KM almost looks more like present-day LL than the younger version. I’ve come to find her really striking — especially on Instagram/outside of her hideous DOOL wardrobe.

  2. ADW Says:

    Haha 😂 You are right about Aunt Becky and her eye make up needs to be done like that because it makes her eyes look less bugged out. Why is she dressed like Annie Lennox? It doesn’t surprise me I heard her contract was going to be up soon; it seems many of younger actors (teens and 20 something’s) these “Days” don’t stay on soaps for the long haul. I never cared for the character of Abigail since she was a bratty teen so, I was kind of hoping that she would go away for a bit and return more mature and revamped a few years later. I would like to see focus shifted on other Hortons because in my opinion, I’m tired of just basically seeing Jennifer and her kids. I don’t hate seeing more of Hope because she has been a superb power house in her many stages of grieving and trying to get revenge. I would love to see Sarah Horron return. What about one of the half dozen or so Dr. Hortons who are still alive and practicing some place in one of the far flung corners of the world? I’m sure the hospital will be frantically trying to fill the sudden vacancy of the late great Dr. Jonas! I know Fynn is a surgeon too but, are they going to actually utilize him? I think Fynn is the only character who has been on less frequently than Lucas.

    • mykleraus Says:

      There are a lot of Hortons they could focus on. I do think shifting back to Hope (and Ciara) makes sense now, as Jen’s branch was sort of the lead Horton set from 2010-2014. They still have Jeremy and Nathan floating out there, and there’s Julie’s entire branch of hyper-SORASed relations, plus her brother and whatever kids he might’ve had.

      I still think Sarah Horton would make sense, given the increased focus on Maggie and the fact that she’s a blank slate, plus they could give her a kid…


Leave a Reply

