A Clockwork Bore-ange

You guys. I consider myself a fairly articulate person, but I do not think I have the words to articulate the mind-blowing fuckery that was that brainwashing montage on Thursday.

Screen Shot 2015-12-19 at 6.53.21 PM

I do, however, have questions. A whole slew of questions. Like: wouldn’t it have been easier to brainwash Belle and get her to spill on Sami? Did Andre pull those images himself? Where did he get those images of Abigail and Belle, considering he was not present for either? And what was with the cats?

Screen Shot 2015-12-19 at 6.52.58 PM

This whole thing is beyond bizarre. You know you’ve really lost the plot when even Stefano, the man who never met a scheme too convoluted to pursue, is like, “The fuck are you doing, Andre?!”

That said, I don’t mind the underpinnings of this plot. It’s very supercouple to throw another obstacle at Chad and Abigail as soon as they settle into something resembling happiness, and I think it works better that this happened quickly in terms of Abigail’s faith in Chad being rocked. Now that the crisis is over and he no longer “needs” her, she’ll have to question whether his feelings were genuine at all. It would be much harder to pull this off after they’d been together for a while, but right now, it could look to Abigail as if Chad is just reverting to who he was when he returned to Salem last year.

Also, I was cracking the hell up at Marlena.

Screen Shot 2015-12-19 at 6.52.16 PM

Marlena was attacked, so it must be a day of the week that ends in -y. Seriously, girl, lock your damn door! She might have better luck with an office in the middle of Murder Park, considering the security in this damn hospital. And then she was revived, went off to have coffee with her daughter, and in the middle of the conversation, she was like, “Oh BTW, I was chloroformed this morning! Annoying, huh?” It was almost as bizarre as Hope leaving Ciara to her own devices post-kidnapping and then Ciara casually telling Chase about it like she’d gotten into a fender bender.

A couple of things that have been working for me, though:

  • Kayla not buying Ava’s schtick. It made sense both as a medical professional and as a person who’s been victimized by this nutjob in the past.
  • John and Eduardo’s conversation about Winterthorne and their pasts (minus the fact that they seemed to be in a competition to be America’s Next Zoolander Impersonator) was actually very interesting. I love the idea that they were both chosen because they were orphans, and that it informs Eduardo’s backstories with both of the families he abandoned.
  • JJ and Gabi continue to be engaging, even without much/any story backing up the coupling. I’ll be interested to see what they do with them going forward.

Please notice that I did not mention Ciara or Lani’s acting skillz in that list.

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

18 Comments on “A Clockwork Bore-ange”

  1. Simon Parris Says:

    My favourite thing about Thursday’s episode (aside from the cats) was that there was daylight! It’s a new day (presumably Christmas Day) and it’s daytime- that’s special.

    Also loving Kayla’s house. Are the previous writers/producers watching at home now screaming at the tv about the amount of money being spent? They weren’t given a fraction of this budget.

    • mykleraus Says:

      I can’t figure out where the money is coming from. Though I think a lot of it is clever producing — good camerawork, lighting people who are trying, etc. That “location shoot” with Hope and Malcolm was pretty clearly a soundstage, but like, fine. Use what you’ve got! Salem Place used to be right outside the damn studio.

      I’m trying to figure out what set has been repurposed into Kayla’s house. It has the door from the DiMera/Martin mansions, but otherwise, it might be new entirely. There’s a weird back corner that almost goes into a triangle, and I can’t place it from any other set.

  2. Robbiemac Says:

    As usual, Mykleraus, you are right on with your recap. I wondered the same thing about brainwashing Belle instead of Chad. I’m so tired of yelling at my TV.

    • mykleraus Says:

      I hate when they force us to take these leaps of logic just to put something in motion. Andre is an IDIOT, which is not a good trait for a villain.

      • Dylan Says:

        Yeah I know. The show has done a terrible job of utilising Andre, and that montage was soooo dumb.

        I guess Lani is now the Resident Cyborg, it seems that there is always one in Salem (old Ben, then Tori Narita, and now Lani).

      • mykleraus Says:

        Resident Cyborg, hahaha. It’s true!

      • Robbiemac420 Says:

        It occurred to me as I was falling asleep (I know…boring, boring, boring), the reason Andre brainwashed Chad instead of Belle. Chad and Abby would still be together and he wouldn’t have cared how hard Belle tried to seduce him. He and Abby would laugh in her face. I hate to say it but maybe Andre isn’t as idiotic as we thought.

      • mykleraus Says:

        Why does he even need Chad, though? Just brainwash Belle and make her tell where the money is, right?

      • Robbiemac420 Says:

        Maybe Andre didn’t want to bypass Chad to brainwash Belle because she would likely be missed by Marlena, John, and Brady?

      • mykleraus Says:

        I’m sure he could’ve scheduled her brainwashing during Marlena’s daily assault and no one would’ve even noticed! 😉

  3. Cyn Says:

    You are so right about Marlena! How many times does she need to be attacked in her office to consider getting a decent lock, a receptionist/security guard, a video security system or even moving her chair so she can see who is coming in her office? Mind boggling. Hope, of course, is so far beyond boggling….

    The brainwashing was laughable – I can only guess that the cat with kittens represented the nursing mother? And so quick – Andre must be MUCH better at brainwashing than Dr Rolf and Stefano.

    I love Steve and Kayla’s new house set and that they have a fireplace and hopefully a bedroom 🙂 Clearly Steve already has some plans in that direction, at least before Ava showed up. I loved the way Kayla just gave her hell.

    I really think that too much action is happening at night in Murder park – too much action in the park in general. What the show needs to do is reinvent the Salem Riverfront sets as a place for outside action and wandering about any time of the day or night. It would make it feel more like Salem instead of Generic town.

    • mykleraus Says:

      I’m trying to figure out what set was repurposed for S&K’s house. Could this be new construction?!

      I would be all for a good, legit pier/dock set. It’s so much more mysterious. Of course, none of these idiots should be hanging out on a dark pier at night, but they keep going to the park where their loved ones get raped and murdered, sooooo…

  4. Dan Says:

    I don’t think I watched any of DAYS this week.

    Brainwashing? This is why we’ve brought back Andre? I’m glad we’ve reverted to JER era storytelling techniques.:/ I think I’ll continue to see what else is available from 8-9.

    I think I get why they are going Belle / Chad. Higley is probably trying to revive the Kiriakis / Dimera feud with Chad / Phillip at the center and why not lay the groundwork with Chad / Belle. With that said, the show would have been better off attempting Chad / recast Stephanie and accomplishing the same goals.

    I don’t have much use for Kayla / Steve. I hope Ava manages to find her way outside their circle. There is potential there if show decides to do something different.

    John Black’s millionth backstory is a waste of time.

    There is tons of potential for character driven encounters over Gabi and J.J. I would have had Gabi and Eve grown closer with Eve becoming nearly obsessed with Gabi replacing Eve with Eve attempting to ruin Gabi and J.J.’s relationship. Given the Eve / J.J. sitaution, maybe even Eduardo wants to get his say in on it. Does Gabi know Eduardo is her father?

    • mykleraus Says:

      Chad/Stephanie could be interesting! I actually don’t hate the idea of Chad/Belle, mostly because it repositions Belle, which is the only way I have any interest in the character. Making her a lawyer is good in theory, too, because it establishes some damn direction. She never felt like a person who had any interests beyond being with Shawn, which I loathed.

      A Gabi/Eve bond could be interesting! Gabi found out about Eduardo recently and has been open to him. I’m waiting for someone else to find out about JJ/Eve. I guess everyone found out at the party where Paige hurled the cake on the floor, but I don’t think Gabi would have any way of knowing.

  5. fluffysmom Says:

    I’m interested in John and Eduardo’s story. This is finally a back story for John that makes sense. It explains why Stefano chose John as his Pawn.

    • mykleraus Says:

      I’m incredibly skeptical of how this will end up, but they’re coming at it from an angle that appears to be about tying together all the loose ends over the years, not just insta-tying him to another set of characters via DNA. If that continues, this will have been worthwhile.

      • ADW Says:

        The brainwashing montage had me ROTLFLMAO 😆 I think the pussy cats had a hidden meaning too dirty for me to discuss bc they showed Belle right after. I thought it was funny that Marlena brought up Belle walking around at night not sleeping and Belle mentioned thinking she had “little kitten feet” during the same episode. I’m sure one of the minions who work for the Dimera’s took photos/videos of Belle and Abigail. I think that s/l is a slow burner and brainwashing Belle would make it too easy. Aside from the Dimera/Kirakis dynamic bc of Phillip and Shawn this also re-opens the deep wounds with Black family. I’m disappointed Roman is not actively involved in this he’s Sami’s Dad. Additionally, I don’t remember much, if any interaction in the past between Belle and Abigail and we are due for a cat fight!
        I’m liking the JJ/Gabi thing but, I still find it funny he was with Paige, her Mom, and now her sister–JJ sure knows how to keep it in the family even though it’s easy in Salem bc almost everyone is related in some way. 😉

      • mykleraus Says:

        And he was with Theresa, too! No sex, but they came very close until she “luckily” overdosed. Branch out, dude!


Leave a Reply

