Dark Times

You know who I definitely want living in my house?

Screen Shot 2015-11-24 at 1.07.11 PM

A distraught orphan who lights a series of matches and throws them onto a blood-stained carpet. (I am liking the actor who plays Chase, though — he’s by far the strongest of the teens so far — and it struck me as very wise to take the time for those scenes in which he reflected upon and puzzled over his mother’s death.)

Considering all the other shit they’ve done in the last 24 hours, including putting that house back together, none of these people thought to deal with that disgusting rug? I mean, maybe the Salem equivalent of Stanley Steemer got too turnt up at the bicentennial and actually took it easy today, but roll the damn thing up and haul it to the trash. Ain’t no one’s PTSD getting any better if they’ve gotta see that every time they arrive home from an insensitively timed party or trip to the Town Square.

For as death-ed out as I am by this show lately, I was really drawn in by a lot of the scenes in Monday and Tuesday’s episodes.

Screen Shot 2015-11-24 at 1.29.55 PM

Seeing that foursome together in this final moment was really moving, and Kristian Alfonso does onscreen mourning like a champ — she even busted out that animalistic “No! Noooooo!” that I remember so well from when Zack died. And I was pleased that they let the story breathe enough so that we saw Shawn, Roman, Caroline, Victor, and Maggie all find out. When Caroline saw Victor and broke down, I was genuinely touched, and they played a lot of little beats like Jennifer seeing Shawn and Ciara for the first time since getting the news, Victor mentioning having spoken to Chelsea and being glad she was with Billie, etc.

I don’t know that I’m dying to see Hope go after the people who tortured Bo, but I would much rather see her be active than lie around grieving way too realistically for the next month, so I’ll take it. And hey, she managed to reapply her makeup, so you know she’ll be okay.

As far as other stories go: this Sami thing is so weird. Are we even going to see her again? I don’t necessarily mind the idea, but it’s so clear they are writing it around the limited amount of stuff Alison Sweeney filmed, and I’m not sure there’s a satisfying payoff coming given the casting and production restrictions. Also, who is watching her damn kids, and do they know their brother was murdered? Meanwhile, the Abigail/Ben stuff is suspenseful and tense and interesting, and I actually gasped when we heard the gunshot from him taking out the midwife, but I was SMH (that’s millennial for “shaking my head”) at Abigail typing out the entirety of War and Peace when she knew Ben was liable to turn around any damn second and see her with the phone. Mass-text a “KIDNAPPED HELP PLZ!” to a bunch of people and cross your fingers, ya know?

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

14 Comments on “Dark Times”

  1. underyourwing Says:

    thanks! i slept thru todays epi (no dvr here, or cable or….anything modern) tried to watch it on NBC once for a previous one i missed and it sucked. what a blow job that website is……..

    so i missed the nanny being murdered. OMG. usually they replay a bit of each epi the next day so maybe tomorrow i can see what i missed…..
    i thought it would just be everyone lamenting over Bo…..

    as far as that cole kid…..hello?? he and Teeth are bringing nothing to this show…..for me anyways. and yeah, any one have a throw rug they could have covered that blood up with? guess it wasn’t in the budget!

    where the heck are they planning on going with this kid anyway?? He should just split and never be heard from again. really……all the peeps that got killed and they keep this kid?

    PS: You rock. ❤

    • Cyn Says:

      I think they want to keep Chase because he is not related to any of the other new “teens” – this is not B&B!

      • mykleraus Says:

        Exactly. We’re going to need teens who aren’t biologically related, so I’d rather it be Chase (who has some history with other characters) than some random newbie.

    • mykleraus Says:

      The NBC player sucks. Suuuuuucks. I’m still pissed they took Days off Hulu.

      Like they have throw rugs sitting around the studio! You’d wind up with a piece of astroturf from the park in the middle of Hope’s living room. LOL.

      • underyourwing Says:

        they took it off you tube also which blows….you use to be able to watch whole epis there…….they should just rename it OUR tube. or fuck you tube. happy wednesday!

      • mykleraus Says:

        They’re taking so much off YouTube. A lot of the 90s stuff is gone. It’s so annoying.

  2. Simon Parris Says:

    Thanks for the fabulous coverage at the moment. Your delightful sense of humour is such a comfort during all these distressing episodes.

    I think you’ve already covered everything I would want to say except for one thing – can we have a hallelujah for the costume person who put MBE in that gorgeous dress for this month-long day. That pink and red forest of trees has provided me with endless fascination. Coupled with MBE’s best-on-ground acting, Kayla has been the one to watch.

    The only way to really cap off these great episodes would have been to have a visit from Kim. Hope she’s at least mentioned at some point.

    Thanks again for the brilliant coverage. I really look forward to those emails alerting me to your posts.

    • mykleraus Says:

      Thank YOU — and glad you’re enjoying this. MBE’s dress does look good, and it isn’t frumpy, which they tend to fall into with her waaaaaay too often.

      I’m waiting for someone to mention telling Kim. I’m not really dying to see the funeral onscreen, so maybe they’ll say she and Shane came to town for it offscreen. Not that they showed up for Paige’s funeral, but still…

  3. marypickford Says:

    I was surprised how much I enjoyed the conversation between Chase and Ciara about his mom. I’m curious if he’s going to find out what Aiden told Hope (that it was really Chase, as a toddler, who shot Meredith). And if that was true or not.

    Ciara is loosening up a little, she’s not doing the “through the teeth” acting as much. I think she’s going to be a good addition to the show too. I am optimistic about this teen scene! I like how they are introducing them by having them interact with their families.

    Ha! about the rug. I had the same thought. Just get rid of the damn thing!

    • mykleraus Says:

      Ciara seems to be loosening up. They’ve made some smart choices, like putting the weight of those scenes on Chase’s shoulders and in having Shawn tell her about Bo through the window.

      I really like this approach to introducing the teens. No one has mentioned “the Homecoming dance” or “cheer tryouts” or anything like that yet — it makes me so much more likely to be invested in them when they DO spin them off into solo stories.

    • Shea Says:

      I wondered if maybe Chase will be going to therapy after all of this and somehow remember what really happened to his mother? Whether he killed her or Aiden did there could be some fallout from him remembering.

      • ADW Says:

        Good point, I was thinking about Aiden being full of s— when he told Hope what “really” happened to Meredith at the Peugeot Sound house and Chase accidently killing his Mom. There are three sides to the story what he said, what she said, and the truth. Chase even had a discussion with Ciara about his Mom’s death and Aiden filling his head with “don’t listen to her, she’s drunk.” Otherwise, why the heck would they keep Chase around other than maybe for a romance with Claire, his “step niece” LOL 😄 It doesn’t appear Aiden has any family; I’m not convinced Chase’s late mother doesn’t have any relatives too. I assume Marlena will be Chase’s therapist but, this will have to be AFTER everyone else (who isn’t Abbie, Rafe, Clyde, or Chad) finds out it Aiden wasn’t the necktie killer–remember Marlena is not only a grieving Grand Mother, she was a victim of Ben’s assault/attempted murder too.

      • mykleraus Says:

        I could see it going either way: Chase finds out that Aiden really killed Meredith and is devastated, or he learns that HE did it and thinks he’s fulfilling the legacy of his father. There’s material to be mined either way, I guess.

      • mykleraus Says:

        I think that would be a good use of Marlena. I’m having a feeling there’s a twist coming with the Meredith stuff…


Leave a Reply

