Whyyyyyy Me?

I can’t be the only one who finds this Bo stuff absolutely insane, can I?

Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 12.05.57 PM

And I’m not just talking about the way Bo was flailing around on the Astroturf screaming and foaming at the mouth like a wild animal/Carly Manning.

I get that the show is in a bind. They had Hope with Aiden, but they got Reckell to come back for a short stint tying in with the 50th anniversary in order to close out Bo’s story, and they probably wanted to give the fans some ‘pure’ Bo/Hope material (without her cheating on Aiden) before Bo’s exit. But this is all too damn much.

Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 12.06.13 PM

I feel you, Bo!

Normally I complain that death on this show doesn’t feel serious or real because it always gets undone the next time the actor wants to show up or there’s another “Plan to Save Days.” But I’m having a completely opposite sensation right now — that there’s been so much grief and trauma that I’m sort of numb to it. I’m finding myself zoning out during a lot of the Bo-related scenes, just because I am wiped. A lot of these scenes and performances are high-quality (aside from Bo lying in the damn park literally cursing God for this cruel twist of fate, which felt like the most obvious Emmy-bait — also, if anyone is getting award-worthy material out of this, it’s Mary Beth Evans), but it’s just too much.

And don’t even get me started on some of the WTF moments. The Bo/Steve scene in the park was great, and the sort of male friendship moment we don’t see nearly enough of on daytime, but then Bo just wanders off and leaves Steve sitting on the “grass” alone. Bo can’t tell Hope the truth, so he leaves her — the woman who was attacked by a serial killer last night — sitting there alone in the park so he can summon Rafe to go comfort her. After being prodded by Ciara, who managed to articulate a fervent plea for Bo to fuck her mother a mere 18 hours after her now-dead new husband attempted to kill her, Bo does, in fact, get in one last romp before running immediately to Rafe to pass Hope off to him. Shouldn’t he be going to, I don’t know, Kayla or Steve or Marlena or John or Jennifer or Doug or Julie or Maggie or Abe or literally anyone else in town (who isn’t Daniel) before Rafe? I have actually found the idea of a Hope/Rafe pairing appealing for a long time, partly because it just sort of bubbled up as they interacted through police business, but if they want it to work, this sort of heavy-handedness is not the ticket. And does Bo really think that Hope is so frail and inept that she cannot be without a man for one day?

Edited to add: Apparently this is my 1,000th post! And I’m complaining! What a surprise.

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

20 Comments on “Whyyyyyy Me?”

  1. Robbiemac Says:

    I, too, liked the scene with Bo and Steve in the park. I truly felt the sadness and deep friendship between them. Showing such deep emotion between two men is not usually shown anywhere without a sexual undertone. Congrats DOOL!

    I am definitely NOT looking forward to Bo telling Hope about his tumor. I don’t think enlisting Rafe in being there for Hope is about thinking she can’t live without a man. We’ve certainly seen she is totally capable of it. I think that it’s more about the fact that Hope is still barely hanging on and when Bo dies, he’s afraid she’ll go off the deep end. I almost hope Bo doesn’t tell her, but that he drifts off in his sleep. Or maybe it’s just me, not wanting my guts wretched anymore!

    • mykleraus Says:

      I had the same thought. I don’t want him to die with a lie (of omission) hanging over them, but I get the impulse.

      You’re right — Bo wasn’t actively trying to line up a man for Hope, but it felt like the writers were. Just so hamhanded. He doesn’t even really know that they’ve gotten close. Last time he was around, Rafe was barely Sami’s ex!

    • Mo Says:

      I’m really enjoying Steve’s stint on the show this time! A lot more than his last return. He’s funny, doesn’t take himself too seriously and will be a nice addiction for the foreseeable future.

      • mykleraus Says:

        Agreed. He’s a good addition. They’re starting to tone down the “Ain’t I a charming rogue?!” stuff, which was beginning to irritate me, and I think that’ll continue to improve as he settles into story.

  2. Gavin Says:

    My biggest issue is that this is still all the next day. Couldn’t they have moved things forward a bit at some point so that it’s been a few days since the wedding/attack. Surely the other storylines could also have jumped forward slightly. It just seems ridiculous that so much has happened (Hope attacked, taken to hospital, brought home, confronted Chase with the news, been visited by family, had Bo go off to the hospital, him had tests run etc) and this day is being dragged out longer than normal.

    Similar to Will’s death/funeral/the gala. There’s nothing wrong with skipping a few days and having someone say “when such and such happened last week” so it doesn’t feel so ridiculous that everything is being piled on top of each other. There’d be no loss of drama and it would feel a bit more realistic (I know, not often what this show is known for).

    • mykleraus Says:

      Exactly. If they had just planned or thought a bit, they could’ve found ways to skip that time. It usually hangs on one story that carries over from night to day and someone referring to “last night,” instead of just saying, “You haven’t answered my texts for a few days…” It makes it really hard for me to forget these huge time-wonks when it’s something like, “My nephew was murdered last night, but let’s have a stripper over!”

  3. underyourwing Says:

    1000…..how your fingers have not fallen off and your brain exploded is beyond me! Congrats on your stamina devotion and OCDneses.
    XO

  4. marypickford Says:

    That screenshot of Bo is awesome! I definitely found that scene over the top. I was surprised they went so fast into the brain tumor thing, too, but maybe they partly just want to get it over with. Slap all the angst together, because they don’t have much time.

    1000 posts – congrats! I’m only at 6 hundred or so. 🙂

  5. Shea Says:

    Congrats on 1000! (The snarky bitch in me wants to tease you that you could done better and gotten your 1000th on the 50th anniversary but I won’t 😛 )

    I have to just ignore the pacing/timing issues and focus on the storytelling or my head will explode.

    This entire Bo storyline has just been one big disappointment so I am forcing myself to focus on the individual scenes rather than the overall story. I have gotten some amazing Bo and Steve moments, Bo and Kayla moments, and Steve and Kayla moments that have come out of this storyline so I will take that, Hopefully we will get some more great scenes that I can hold onto and just ignore the sum of the parts. I’ll have to sort of give the writers a pass since we know Peter only agreed to come back for a limited time. Are soap actors paid per episode like other TV actors are? If so, they wasted a lot of money in the beginning of this storyline and now we have to just sprint to the end because of it.

    • mykleraus Says:

      Thanks! And yeah, if I’d been paying any attention whatsoever, I should have timed it that way.

      You have the right attitude about how to watch this. I’m too OCD not to pick apart all the logic- and time-related stuff, but at least I find it funny.

      And yeah, they do get paid per episode. But I think an equal consideration for Days is how much they can compress the filming. I’m willing to bet that, even though Reckell aired in like 15-20 episodes before he and Steve came face-to-face, he probably filmed all of that dungeon and torture stuff in one day. So they got a lot of episodes’ worth of stuff for a relatively cheap day of shooting.

      • Shea Says:

        I know Stephen Nichols had posted some social media stuff about he and Peter shooting like 8 episodes in one day. That was probably all of their scenes together trying to get back to Salem. I guess he came in and worked for a couple of weeks and they spread it out into a couple of months worth of episodes. It just seems like a waste that we got more episodes of him in a dungeon than we will get with him in Salem.

      • mykleraus Says:

        I guess they figured they were maximizing his screentime by letting us know early that he was alive and being held captive, but yeah, the balance feels off. I’d rather they hadn’t shown him for a few weeks there and then they had let Bo rest for a few weeks once he got back to Salem — show him and Hope once a week, give him a scene with Shawn or Abe or someone, and THEN go into this death arc.

  6. Denise Says:

    I think that Bo scene WAS emmy bait, and frankly it was Peter’s weakest scene during this run. Otherwise, he’s been really fantastic. My hope from this is that MBE gets a supporting actress nom, because, honestly, she’s been probably the strongest performer during this entire thing.

    This feels like a sprint to the end to me as well. The balance of how they used Peter seems a little off. I think everyone would have liked to see more of Bo in Salem, but they had to time it just right so he could kill Aiden at just that right moment LOL.

    Very heavy handed with the pushing of us toward a Hope/Rafe pairing. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that they handle the actual romance with a little more finesse. I can’t see her jumping into ANY relationship any time soon. I’d like to see an old-sty slow build to it. I’ve come to really like Rafe, and, if they are going there, I don’t want it to be soon. Maybe a true deep friendship, that Hope finally realizes could be love.

    • mykleraus Says:

      Agreed — PR has been really good overall, but those scenes were the sort of hamfisted melodrama that I’m not sure anyone could sell.

      That’s exactly how I feel about Rafe/Hope. I’ve enjoyed their friendship, and in the absence of another love interest for her, I like the idea. But frantically racing Aiden and Bo offscreen — while having Bo basically announce that Rafe should be Hope’s next man — is not gonna help.

  7. kathy Says:

    Days seems to feel that every woman must have a man to be complete. Caroline may get a pass because she is almost 90 – although she can still pine for Victor, after all they do share a son (as everyone will tell you). If you are a man it is a different story, just ask Roman.

    • mykleraus Says:

      It sort of makes me sad that Roman is single and no one gives two fucks about him! I want them to pair him up with Maxine or Laura or SOMEBODY, even if mostly offscreen, just so I can imagine he’s having a nice little life. Or give him a cool hobby or something.

  8. ADW Says:

    Oh man, Hope + Rafe= Rape 😂 I think Bo likes that Rafe and Hope have a bond as well as the rest of the Brady clan who are town; Bo can die knowing that Hope has a large support network of people who love and will take care of her and Ciara. They had to write for PR’s return being temporary and make it work; reunion, redemption, and retire (to the grave). Kayla quashed all possibilities to save her brother because they are far too risky (Kayla probably won’t even use a public restroom bc of the risks involved). IF there was more time, Victor would likely hire Dr. Miracle Max to create some treatment and elixir *sigh* Personally, I found Bo’s behavior in the park rather uncharacteristic of him but, hey, he’s been thru quite an ordeal.

    • mykleraus Says:

      LOL about Kayla.

      I think they could have at least been subtle about the Bo/Rafe stuff — have Bo comment on how Rafe is both a good cop and a good man, thank him for being there in the thick of things for Hope, etc. Nothing as overt as what we saw. The intention worked, but the execution felt nuts to me!


Leave a Reply

