Extended Promo from Day of Days

The Day of Days fan event is being held this weekend, and as happens every year, they screened a special, extended promo trailer for the attendees. I was scouring boards last night as people posted it in chunks from their phones, but there’s finally (“finally,” says the most impatient man in the world) a HQ version online. Stashing it behind the cut for the spoiler-averse…

Usually these Day of Days things are longer and more far-reaching than this (or so it seems), but this appears to be a promo for the next 2-3 weeks. Some observations/grievances:

  • Whyyyyyy do they continue to produce these in the same lethargic manner, with the same bored announcer? There are moments in this that should feel dramatic, but they’re under-produced and fall flat. Ava whipping off her glasses should feel big — with a sting of music, a pause, something — but it’s presented with all the fanfare of someone’s aunt from Tulsa removing a pair of RayBans she was trying on at the Sunglass Hut.
  • Joey and Ava being in contact and possibly in cahoots, though? Interesting! I’m betting he doesn’t know who she really is, but it’s a fun twist and a nice way of using a teen character.
  • Looks like Bo might be dead by Thanksgiving. Cripes. I kind of want Hope to marry him on his deathbed so she can be widowed twice in one Salem week.
  • I’m happy to see a family holiday meal. It’s been a while.
  • Belle cheated on Shawn again? How can someone be frigid and a huge slut at the same time? (And no, that isn’t slut-shaming — go have all the fun, consensual sex you want, but when you’re doing it behind the back of someone with whom you’re supposed to be in a monogamous relationship, you’re a slut!) I do appreciate that they’re bringing them back at a point of crisis, as opposed to how Carrie and Austin waltzed back into Salem totally fine and then had to be undone quickly. I’m praying they use this as a way to launch Shawn and Belle as individual characters and not just toss them into a triangle or a quadrangle immediately.
  • This Brady/Theresa crap feels stuck in neutral, but I’m mostly distracted by the way Victor pronounces “Ther-ay-sa” in this clip.
  • I can’t even tell what’s going on with the Sami stuff. And no, she isn’t going to neutralize the DiMeras forever, so… yawn?
  • The Ben/Abigail/Chad stuff, however, looks great. This feels huge and sweeps-worthy, and I actually gasped when I realized what Ben was going to do. In spite of a lot of other issues, they’ve really managed to do the supercouple build correctly for these two.
  • Apparently Abigail has a boy. What’s the over/under on him being named after Jack?
  • As has been an issue for me ever since the writer switch, where’s the other 60% of Salem? Nothing on JJ, Nicole, Eric, Kate, Eve, Rafe, Eduardo, Adrienne, Justin, Lucas, Marlena, John, Gabi, Daniel, Abe, Lani, the other teens… I don’t even want to see some of those people, but the balance is really atrocious at the moment. There are more people in Salem than Hope, Abigail, and Kayla!
Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

18 Comments on “Extended Promo from Day of Days”

  1. Dialeigh Says:

    I wish people in Salem could ever get on the same page pronunciation-wise. Theresa or Teraysa? Caroline or Carolyn? DiMeera or diMare-a? Let’s call the whole thing off. (Except I really don’t want the whole thing called off.)

    • mykleraus Says:

      The Caroline/Carolyn thing drives me nuts! She hasn’t, once in fifty years, corrected Victor?! This “Teraysa” thing came out of nowhere, too — he’s been calling her “that slut Theresa Donovan” for like two years!

  2. underyourwing Says:

    victor is losing HIS mind……grumpy old bastard.

  3. underyourwing Says:

    Victor needs a nice long vacation in Greece to mellow…. and quit harshing everyone else’s !


  4. […] which I won’t embed here because it has spoilers galore. But you can watch it over at Mykleraus’s blog, if you haven’t already. I have to say, it made me very excited for what’s […]

  5. kathy Says:

    I love Victor but sometimes I think Maggie deserves a new man.

    • underyourwing Says:

      i do not love VK and…..no shit!!

      • mykleraus Says:

        I generally enjoy Victor, and I think John Aniston is great, but they do such a weird job of ignoring the elephant in the room with him and Maggie. He should be calling her out on her counseling of Theresa, and she should be firing back. They don’t have to break up, but they so seldom play the tension of these two VERY different people being married.

  6. Celeste Says:

    I Hate the Bo came back and now is going to die. Peter Reckell does not own Bo’s character. I have watched Days for over 20 years and I probably will not anymore. Bringing Bo back and killing him so quickly is the last straw. I am also tired of all of the death.

    • mykleraus Says:

      I’m really burnt out on all the death, too. It’s weird, because usually I can’t take death seriously on this show (because everyone comes back anyway), but now all the grief feels too heavy and too real.

      The show is in a tough spot with Bo/Reckell. I’d rather they put an end to the character than have him offscreen without Hope, which I don’t think I’d buy. But the timing SUCKS and it’s really undercutting the potential drama.

  7. Dylan Says:

    The bored announcer now is not too different from the one from ATWT from 2001! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QPkhhcTayVM VERY underproduced

    • mykleraus Says:

      OMG, I loved ATWT during that period, but that promo is atrocious! It’s weird how there’s so much crap going on visually but it still feels soooooo slow and dead.

      • Dylan Says:

        I know! I miss ATWT a lot, it was actually the first soap I ever saw! Of course I only discovered it after it was cancelled. That promo really cracked me up, it’s like they’re not even trying to sell the storyline! (it was kind of a ridiculous one though, I mean who kidnaps a bunch of people and puts them in some strange spa across the Atlantic? Only James Stenbeck, I guess, who lives underground somewhere and was eventually exorcised..)

      • mykleraus Says:

        ATWT sort of become my other ‘My Show’ because I got really into the history in the early 2000s. That story was absurd, but they sold it in that high-camp way Days managed in the 90s. My favorite clip ever, where Barbara is on trial and screams, “See ya later, suckers!” and jumps out the damn courtroom window, doesn’t seem to be online, and now I want to watch it. 😦

      • Dylan Says:

        Actually, it was “so long, you miserable hypocrites, it’s been real fun!” that was so genius. I love how they went into slow motion as she jumped out the window. She did some crazy stuff in her time! She also drove her CAR into a mental hospital and tried to raid it when her son was stuck there. Barbara was such a funny character, she was insufferable a lot of the time but still fun to see onscreen. Did you watch the show up until the end? I thought it was pretty good up until like mid-2008, then it seemed to go downhill a lot.

      • mykleraus Says:

        Yes! I realized that when I watched the clip. Such a hilarious line. I thought Barbara was sooooo funny during that period, and you could tell the actress was having fun.

        I kept up with it until the end, but I stopped watching around late 2006. Everything started to feel really muddled and circular and aimless, and it felt like they wasted a LOT of younger legacy characters (like Days did with Will). I tuned in for the last month or so, and they kind of left everyone in okay places, but it really could have been so much better in the last five or so years.


Leave a Reply

