The (Endless) Day We Fell Apart

Because my reliable Time Warner Cable decided to play its favorite game, “I Won’t DVR This Thing Even Though You Set a Recording,” with Monday’s episode, so I had to wait for it to be up on the (horrible) NBC.com player the next day, and then I was seriously working from morning to midnight on Tuesday, I watched all three of this week’s episodes (so far) in one sitting last night — and let me tell you, it actually didn’t drive me insane the way it would’ve back in April. But that doesn’t mean I am without thoughts.

Screen Shot 2015-11-11 at 12.09.30 PM

Bye, Aiden. I hope you’re at peace in that big Beach House By The Puget Sound in the sky. You were a not-super-interesting-but-kind-of-promising character played by a really appealing actor, and I enjoyed your dynamic with Hope right up until the end.

The fight scenes with Aiden, Hope, and then Bo were really impressive in how they were staged and shot. I still wish Hope had been the one to pump that last bullet into Aiden, as she rose from the floor with her last burst of energy to save Bo, but considering the fallout with Chase, maybe it makes more sense for Bo to have been the one to kill Aiden. And as much as this whole Supercouple Farewell Tour has felt contrived at points, Peter Reckell and Kristian Alfonso’s chemistry as Bo and Hope has been palpable this week.

Screen Shot 2015-11-11 at 12.11.39 PM

Screen Shot 2015-11-11 at 12.11.50 PM

The kid who plays Chase did pretty good work as he learned about Aiden’s death, and I loved that they utilized Marlena in a professional capacity in those scenes. Ciara seemed less stiff than she did last week, and she was at her best in the reunion scenes with Bo, though she’s still pretty green.

And now for the WTFs.

Screen Shot 2015-11-11 at 12.10.45 PM

It was nice of the NBC Publicity Department to take some engagement photos for Hope and Aiden so they could have one framed and on the mantle in time for his attempt on her life!

Speaking of the decor in Hope’s house: how many vases did this woman have lying around? Between the bachelorette party caper and her fight with Aiden, I take it the HomeGoods in the Town Square was having a major clearance sale, and Hope had a feeling she’d need some ceramic missiles on hand. I’m also counting the Days until her coffee table magically reappears. It was smashed to bits while Bo and Aiden were wrestling, and I was convinced that it would be there when they got home from the hospital, a la every single episode of Family Matters, when Urkel would cause some kind of catastrophe and destroy the Winslows’ table, only to have it reappear in the next scene. Seriously, they must have gone through hundreds of coffee tables during that show’s run! But as far as I could tell, they avoided showing the one in Hope’s house during Wednesday’s episode.

Screen Shot 2015-11-11 at 11.57.18 AM

And then we have Sami, meeting this priest at the Pub at 4 zillion o’clock PM to get this Bible. This whole “EJ might be alive!” thing feels very disconnected from the rest of the show, and it’s strange that they’re doing it if we aren’t going to get a legitimate Sami and EJ reunion onscreen, but I was mostly fixated on the fact that Victor specified it was midnight hours ago, and the damn Pub is somehow still open and hopping — on the same night its proprietor was hospitalized and then escaped! Everyone go the hell to bed!

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

14 Comments on “The (Endless) Day We Fell Apart”

  1. Shea Says:

    Ok….I thought the Sami thing at the Pub was the next night…not the same night as Hopefest and her attempted murder.

    I will freely admit that I hate Sami. I started watching Days in 1981 and watched religiously once I got a VCR up until 1995. From 1995-1998 I watched about half the show each day while getting ready to go to work but never recorded it anymore. After 1998 I only watched sporadically until this summer when I decided with the 50th anniversary and the return of Stephen Nichols I would make a commitment to watch at least through the end of the year. Sami is a huge part of the reason that I lost interest. I just got bored with the Sami show. I am glad that her nonsense seems out of place on the current show because I am really enjoying most of the show now but I am more than ready for her to be gone…permanently.

    I was also taken by surprise to see the pic of Aiden and Hope on the mantle but it is better than the solo pic of Hope that was up there a couple of weeks ago. I mean who puts a solo portrait of themselves over their own fireplace? I understand if it were a photo from a special occasion but this was not.

    I also wished that Hope would have killed Aiden herself but I’ll take it the way it played out. I am not sold on new Ciera yet. Something about her voice or the way she speaks has been annoying me but I am trying to keep an open mind. I’m more hopeful for the rest of the teens so we will see how new Ciera and new Chase handle the fallout of Aiden’s death.

    • mykleraus Says:

      I started watching seriously in 1996-97, so Sami was a big part of that era and of me falling in love with the show. She’s grated on me over the years, but I love her and was glad she came back for Will’s death. I just don’t think it makes any sense to have her running around hooting and hollering about EJ right now. It connects to nothing else and there isn’t going to be payoff. I do always kind of crack up at scenes between her and Marlena, because it’s like the two of them are in totally separate conversations.

      Good point about Hope’s solo Glamour Shot. They do that way too often. “Yes, I’m going to keep a headshot of myself ON MY DESK!”

      I actually think Ciara is a decent actress, BUT she doesn’t open her mouth when she talks. It’s driving me insane. She’s actually getting the emotions right, but I don’t understand why she delivers her lines like Mr. Ed.

  2. underyourwing Says:

    i only have the energy for Ciara: “nice teeth”…….not/


  3. I thought the fight scenes were really well done as well! They absolutely DESTROYED Hope’s living room. Hope lasted a looooong time – I would have crumpled like a Kleenex at the first tumble. Just kind of not looking forward to slogging through months of Angsty!Hope as she deals with the fallout from Aiden and then what’s coming with Bo.

    I can’t stand Sami. When she examined the GINORMOUS Bible looking for clues, she’s all “Oh! This was bought in Paris!” and just takes off. You know… without writing down the address of the shop or anything. My only solace is that the guy plays the priest gives me feels… don’t judge me!

    • mykleraus Says:

      Bwahahahaha, the Bible was ridiculous.

      This priest? Really? I can never tell if it’s the same guy we’ve seen before or not. I miss Father Matt! Obviously Ralph Waite passed away, but I’d like for them to develop a worthy successor to that character.

  4. Jamie Says:

    Hope couldn’t possibly save herself, let alone Bo. She’s just a girl, after-all….

    Same reason that Abigail isn’t going to be able to save herself and will be chained up with Ben until Chad’s memory comes back and he can save her….

    • underyourwing Says:

      O M G ! Reading this made me cringe….why didn’t they show tiny ciara taking tae kwan do classes….. or instead of the” let’s unknowingly get stoned out of our gourds” donuts party, the women taking classes on how to defend their girly selves?? (i know, yeah, right…)

      you are so right and this is so disgustingly a patriarchal ancient stereotype….

      see: RONDA ROUSEY please… OK. I will sign off for now as I have my back up and don’t wanna get too berserk over this issue.

      • mykleraus Says:

        I feel like Ciara probably knows kung-fu.

        I did like that they had Hope fight back for so long. It felt realistic (well, as realistic as that situation could feel) for her to put up that fight, given her police training, but ultimately be unable to overpower Aiden because he’s bigger than her. But I still wanted that final burst of heroism to come from her.

    • mykleraus Says:

      So typical of Days.

      I will say, Hope put up a hell of a fight, and she’s much smaller than Aiden, but I liked that they didn’t just have her shriek and fall to the ground.

  5. ADW Says:

    I was hoping that I would see Hope and Jennifer devour the “gooey chocolate cake” Jennifer brought to cheer Hope up, they both are gorgeous ladies but, they can stand to gain about 10-15 pounds.
    The Salem U Hospital scenes which take place in a hospital which apparently does not have a ER on the ground floor (like every place else) and will just admit patients to one of 2-3 rooms on the fly on Days are so unrealistic. I’m glad they are minimal and not graphic like Chicago Med and many others though. One thing that really stuck out: how unsanitary of the hospital staff when neglected to change Hope out of that sweaty, bloody nightgown prior to putting her in bed!

    • mykleraus Says:

      There was a period about ten years ago when Kristian Alfonso was REALLY, distressingly thin, and the show must have gotten wind of all the online chatter about it, because they constantly had Hope in scenes where she was eating or talking about eating. Like she would randomly be all, “I ordered a pizza!” and the other person would say they had eaten, so she’d go, “Fine! I can eat it all by myself!!!” And then she’d be yapping about ice cream two scenes later. Of course, you never SAW her eat, but it was so self-aware that they had to be doing it on purpose. Thankfully, she looks healthier these days.

      I was thinking the same thing about Hope’s nightgown. Bo has to put on a hospital gown to get bloodwork, but Hope is fine lying around in a bloody nightie for hours?!


Leave a Reply

