Fit to Be Tied

Well, that was… unsettling.

Screen Shot 2015-10-10 at 10.02.18 AM

Will Horton is dead. Months ago, those words might’ve had me jumping for joy, given how tired I was of his stupid scheming and lack of personal responsibility and shitty journalism and poor acting, but now that it’s a reality… I dunno. On one hand, the execution of his murder was excellent. Guy Wilson and Robert Scott Wilson — neither of whom has ever done anything to convince me he’s a master thespian — both stepped it up, and the writing and directing were at first suspenseful and tense, and then brutal and terrifying. I could feel Will’s fear and his determination to keep the encounter civil long enough to make a break for it (though I don’t get why he didn’t just run instead of sitting on the damn couch), and it was incredibly effective to show how torn up Ben was during and after the act. It also adds definite gravity to this Red Necktie Killer (what a stupid name) storyline.

That said, I still can’t shake the thought that this is a horrible long-term decision. Will is the definition of legacy character. He’s a Brady and a Horton. He was part of the show’s (first, I hope) major gay storyline and same-sex marriage. And I can’t help but think that the rationale for killing him off had more to do with a bad recast and piss-poor writing than it did a need to end this character’s story for good, especially in such a final(-seeming) way. All Will needed was a move to downtown Europe, or downtown Africa, or to L.A. with Sami and his siblings, until it was time for him to reappear with a new face and some decent writing. The value of a legacy character isn’t simply “Oh, s/he has an important last name, so viewers will care” — it’s that those characters provide the next wave of story for the familiar veterans, too. Sami, Marlena, Kate, and Lucas have all benefitted greatly from Will’s young-adult storylines. I loved how Sami’s departure led to Lucas having a greater role on the show again, primarily because he was Will’s remaining parent. I hate that this will unmoor him even further. (Yes, he’s a Horton, but his Horton-ness has always played second fiddle to his Roberts status.) I’m not sure a few weeks of everyone wailing and shrieking in grief — especially when we’ve gotten similar emotions from Paige’s death so recently — will be worth it in the long run.

In fact, I can’t think of another character who was born on the show, grew up on the show, and was then killed off in this way. The closest is EJ, but he grew up offscreen and was SORASed so drastically that it isn’t quite the same. EJ as a character was always the adult version played by James Scott. Will was a kid we saw onscreen, at the center of custody battles and schemes and as a walking, talking preteen and teenager.

Screen Shot 2015-10-10 at 10.06.13 AM

But, like I said, the scenes were very good, and Gabi screaming in terror when she found his body at the end was the kind of scene you need to sell these storylines. So we’ll see.

Meanwhile, on the lighter side of things, there was plenty of typical Days idiocy to be had. It was stupid enough for Will to be playing Crumpled Paper Basketball in someone else’s apartment, but to have this be the second big plot point in a few months involving that dumb wire trashcan in Ben and Abigail’s apartment. Come on, you guys. Stop hiding things that you don’t want your lover to find in a see-through trashcan in the middle of the studio apartment you share! While we’re on the subject of that apartment, what is the deal with that godforsaken green-and-red flashing light outside the kitchen window? No wonder the two of them are always waking up in the middle of the night.

And then there was this.

Screen Shot 2015-10-10 at 9.57.45 AM

“My doctor just sent me the results of my test for the breast cancer gene, so I think I’ll go to the mall to open the envelope.” Yes, okay. Sure. I hope someone brings Marlena to Chuck E. Cheese to give her the news that Will is dead.

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

12 Comments on “Fit to Be Tied”

  1. Robbiemac420 Says:

    I agree with your views on Will being murdered. I didn’t really care for this particular actor, but then again killing off a legacy character is a blow to those of who have been watching DOOL since the beginning (or in my case, the 80’s). I’m not looking forward to watching this loss being processed by so many of the other Salemites. It will be devastating. I want Ben caught right now! I don’t want Abby to go any further with this psychopath and endanger her baby!

    • mykleraus Says:

      I think the grief will be compelling to watch, but that stuff gets tiring fast, and it’s a short-term thing anyway. I remember Will as a baby, a toddler, a kid, a preteen, a teen, and a young adult. It seems very strange to kill him in such a final way.

  2. fluffysmom Says:

    I agree that killing off Will seems shortsighted. I haven’t been a Will fan for awhile but I love Lumi so it was hard to see their son struggling as he was murdered.

  3. underyourwing Says:

    great title……this was a majorly creepy scene/murder. you actually felt bad for will….knowing he was dust. i actually felt bad as it happened…i noticed his speaking voice was strained earlier….. ?….but, we all know what’s coming……a lot of hysterics, rage, threats and scene chewing…..

    i also wondered wtf was up with those multicolored flashing lights….
    none the less, it’s the end of will, end of an era, and i can’t wait for the funeral….. adios will…..why did you seem to get better the closer it came to your exit?

    • mykleraus Says:

      I think Guy Wilson had a cold or something. His scenes at The Edge last week, he barely had a voice.

      I did feel bad for Will. Those scenes were scary. Actually really well executed, for once!

  4. underyourwing Says:

    oh! also, who the hell keeps a body size back sack in their apt??? and how the flock did this dude get will all the way back to his own place???
    as usual, incidents left to the imaginations of the viewers.

    talk about a huge serving portion of suspension of disbelief……. Nom.

    • rustyspigot Says:

      Agree about the Crown Royal body bag. I know Ben works at a bar, but really now? As for simpleton Will, I’m surprised he hadn’t fallen down a well. Please murder me, but, let’s talk about it first.

      • mykleraus Says:

        Crown Royal body bag, hahahahah!

        These idiots ALWAYS do that. When Marlena was running around knocking everyone off, they would all sit around and chat with her before she killed them. Why the F didn’t Will at least text Roman or Hope or any of his relatives who are cops to be like, “HELP I AM BEING KILLED”?

    • mykleraus Says:

      OMG that was insane. Like he lugged a damn body out of his place, into the elevator, to the car, and into Will’s apartment without ANYONE thinking it was weird?

      • ADW Says:

        Wow! It’s uncanny how Ben’s face in your screen shot resembles those creepy white masks from Scary Movie. I agree, I don’t particularly like the killing off of such an important legacy character who I watched being born and growing up; he was a husband and father of a toddler. I was hoping Will would go away for a while and return recast and re-written. Almost everyone will be impacted, virtually everyone in town is related to Will by blood, marriage, and/or fathering a child with Gabi. My heart breaks the most for Sami who in a year span loses her husband and first born.

      • mykleraus Says:

        It’s great fallout, but I’m worried about the long-term effects. I just watched today’s episode and cried the entire time, though.


Leave a Reply

