All Booked Up

The other night, I might or might not have had a little wine and then gone on eBay to purchase cheap (like, one cent apiece!) novelizations of early Days storylines.

CQ6ejsGUkAAxqCK.jpg-large

No, I couldn’t find #1, and yes, that’s driving me crazy. Someone gave me #7 as a gift last year, and I only recently read it, which fueled this mission. I’m going to read and review them here, probably in groups of a few at a time. Weirdly, there are no publication dates on the title pages, but the back covers all mention “the Hortons, Bradys, and DiMeras,” so I assume they were written and published in the 80s — but the stories covered, at least in all these, range from the outset of the show in 1965 through the late 70s. Wish me luck/better ways to spend my time!

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

15 Comments on “All Booked Up”

  1. marypickford Says:

    I can’t wait to hear about these. What an awesome find. 🙂

  2. fluffysmom Says:

    I’m sure your reviews will lead me to dig around in my basement in search of my copies of these books. I think they may have been released in the early 90’s. I bought them when they were first released.

  3. Shea Says:

    Amazon has a listing for #1 Love’s Shattered Dreams and says it was released in 1986. I think Amazon has other titles you may be missing too but they might cost more then ebay. I had looked at some of these on Amazon before but never took the plunge to buy them so I can’t wait to read what you have to say about them.

  4. fluffysmom Says:

    Reading these books is a good way to learn the storylines from the early years of the show.

    • mykleraus Says:

      Yeah, I’m in the Marie one now, and it’s interesting to see this stuff fleshed out in more detail. I’m pretty well versed in the broad strokes of what happened in the early years, but there are lots of nuances and minor characters I had no clue about. It’s also fun to ‘see’ in action some characters that time has forgotten — like Phyllis Anderson, who is absolutely batshit in #7.

  5. Damon L. Jacobs Says:

    Hey Mykleraus – These books began getting released in 1986, at the height of DAYS phenomenon. They spotlighted the complicated emotional stories in Salem from the first decade of the show, which contrasted with the 1980s emphasis on prisms, discs, guns, love-on-the-run, action-adventure. Make sure you give us your review!


  6. […] few months back, I had the really not-weird-at-all impulse to buy a whole bunch of Days novelizations with the intention of blogging about them. These books were published under the “Soaps and […]


Leave a Reply

