Stop the Insanity

I always feel like I need to begin one of these posts by clarifying that I think Arianne Zucker, the actress who plays Nicole, is beautiful. More importantly, from the interactions I’ve had with her, she seems to be funny, sharp, and a completely engaged and loving parent. I say this upfront to make it clear that I am not ragging on the woman’s actual looks — she could be running around in a sweatshirt and jeans with no makeup and look terrific. Which makes it all the more mystifying that Nicole always looks like flaming hot garbage these days.

Screen Shot 2015-09-30 at 9.46.34 AM

NO.

Screen Shot 2015-09-30 at 9.50.46 AM

NO.

Ol’ Tennis Ball Head is literally dressed like an 80s businesswoman here. I think someone actually purchased this skirt suit from a studio sale of old crap left over from Working Girl. I could almost see the blazer and blouse working with a pair of skinny black pants, but as a Pepto Bismol-colored suit, it’s so on-the-nose. I half-expected her to sit down in the living room and swap out her white Reebok sneakers for a pair of heels, or to start shouting about a run in her stockings. Meanwhile, she borrowed the worst possible version of one of Madonna’s haircuts from the early 90s. Or from the precocious child in a 70s sitcom.

I really do not get what’s going on here. I have a lot of good things to say about the show lately, but “self-aware costuming” ain’t one of them. If this were a movie, I could see them dressing a character like Nicole this way to emphasize her trashy roots — where “sexy” equals the tightest, shortest, most boob-alicious dress, and “professional” means the most outdated, atrocious suit you can find. But this is painful to watch every day. Can we please have a scene where Hope takes Nicole shopping and teaches her the value of a cute jacket and a pair of skinny jeans? Is that too much to ask?

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

25 Comments on “Stop the Insanity”

  1. fluffysmom Says:

    I agree that Nicole is being styled horribly. It seems like they cut her hair every week or two. Hope should definitely take Nicole shopping. I don’t understand why some characters always look good while others look bad or have hit and miss styling.

  2. Jamie Says:

    And she wants to run a fashion company….

    Meanwhile, Kate is walking around wearing an entire chandelier around her neck.

  3. underyourwing Says:

    you are SO right about the 80’s comment/style….. but what are doing is just ridiculously BAAAAD.

    .there is actually a web site that is about the clothes on DOOL and they show snaps of each woman in their outfits THEN they have almost identical shots of real clothes you can buy……no kidding.

  4. Robbiemac420 Says:

    I agree that Hope and Nicole should go on a shopping spree, but leave the woman alone! I’m just happy to see her wearing something that isn’t so tight that she can’t sit down or so low that Daniel’s little guy doesn’t require a father n’ son talk before he reaches kindergarten!

    Hey, did you know that the actor who plays Chase is now on a new show? It’s called Life In Pieces (Mondays, 8:30pm CBS). It’s a comedy without a laugh track–YES!

    • mykleraus Says:

      True, haha. I’m so tired of the ridiculously short and tight dresses.

      I didn’t know “Chase” was on that show! Good for the kid.

    • Jamie Says:

      I don’t want to be “that guy” who corrects strangers online…but just wanted to point out that he’s on The Grinder, the new Rob Lowe/Fred Savage show. Shame he’s not on Life in Pieces, as it’s a much better show!

      • mykleraus Says:

        Ohhhhh. Thanks for the clarification. The Grinder is sitting on my DVR, so I’ll give it a watch this weekend!

      • Robbiemac420 Says:

        Thanks, Jamie–You are right on both accounts. They come on right after the other and Life in Pieces is sooooo much better than The Grinder. In fact, I’ve removed The Grinder from my DVR. Thanks for setting the record straight!

  5. Geri Lama Says:

    I think even Ari was uncomfortable with that skirt — you could see her fiddling with the under-mini skirt in one scene.
    The hair? It is what it is — growing out a short cut is always torture.

    • mykleraus Says:

      There have been a few times when I was sort of nervous for her. It looked like they had her in skirts made for women six inches shorter than her.

      I swear, they keep cutting her hair. I know weaves aren’t in the budget, but just let it grow!!!

  6. Robbiemac420 Says:

    I agree with Geri that growing out short hair is absolutely torture! I think the hair and makeup departments do a great job giving Nicole a lot of options. I bet there are quite a few of us that would DIE for a personal stylist to help us with the in-between stages!!

  7. Jayme Says:

    LOL THE SNEAKERS! YES!! Ugh, I’m not confidant about this story. Are they actually going to have an office or will all their meetings be held in Victor’s living room? I can already see Eric working there as a photographer and Gabi as a model and ZZZZZZZZZZZ. I do think it’s deliciously ironic that there’s a fashion storyline on this show considering…well, everything.

    It’s like Nicole brought a picture of Limecat to her hairstylist and said, “Like this, but blonde.”

    • mykleraus Says:

      I’m sure eventually we will get a small conference room where everyone is constantly conducting personal business and holding photo shoots.

      LIMECAT. I can’t.

  8. ADW Says:

    Nicole’s suit reminded me very much of Angela Bower from “Who’s the Boss” sans the giant linebacker shoulder pads. Her hair style looked like Anglea’s son Jonathan’s hair in the early episodes prior to his discovery of hair gel.
    Kate’s pearl necklace was much too bulky; I think there were 8,576 pearls in that monstracity.
    Theresa might be ignorant when it comes to running a business however she’s a good designer w/ great ideas; she almost always looks fabulously styled and impeccably groomed.

    • mykleraus Says:

      Soooooo Angela Bower! Good eye there. I weirdly liked Kate’s necklace, but I would’ve hated it on almost anyone else. I think I just let her get away with weird stuff because she’s cool enough to do it.

      Theresa usually looks great. I just wish they wouldn’t put her in the same lineup of dresses they use for Nicole/Jen/Eve/Serena/etc. There was a day they had her in a beanie and jacket, and she looked so cute and COOL.


Leave a Reply

