What Happened in Salem: Week of Sept. 14

While Gabi was released from the Pantene Pro-V Penitentiary For Wayward Young Mothers, someone else faced jail time…

Abigail took up Chad’s cause and defended him to Stefano, who somehow managed to disown him for the fourth time this year and ask him to move back into the mansion all in the same conversation. When Stefano suffered a heart attack, Chad first thought he was bluffing but then realized it was serious and called 911. Stefano pulled through but remained hospitalized. Desperate to help Chad, Abigail had him go see town quack Marlena for hypnosis. Chad began to remember the events of the night Serena died, but Marlena quickly put an end to the session when he became too agitated (or she was worried that he would realize she’s decided to revive her serial-killing career).

Read the full recap to catch up on What Happened in Salem this week!

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

15 Comments on “What Happened in Salem: Week of Sept. 14”

  1. Jamie Says:

    Does anyone listen to The Howard Stern Show? I swear when JJ got Roman’s VM, I thought it was Jeff The Drunk’s voice. I had to rewind and lishhhen again. Oh, Roman.

    I know that Joey is supposed to be giving me teen angst, but I’m mainly getting dead-behind-the-eyes boredom from him.

    I like where the John storyline is heading. I find that storyline, and the tie-ins to the past, very interesting.

    As much as I still love seeing Ciara, it’s so weird still seeing her and Chase on screen knowing they will be much older very soon. I wonder if the teenage Chase will be as sassy…

    • mykleraus Says:

      I’ve sort of decided that I won’t even bother trying to understand what Commissioner Dentures is saying, because I can usually get the gist of it (frustrated with Sami/JJ/whoever) without getting the actual words, and no amount of straining is going to make it coherent.

      I thought Joey brightened up when he was talking about Steve’s mullet. That was the first even mildly nuanced stuff he’s gotten. He does seem green, but I like that they’re giving him a pretty minimal role and his scenes are with seasoned vets. Maybe it’ll rub off.

      I can’t believe they’re going back to the ‘Who is John?’ well, but I’m also not hating it. They’ve never really played him as actively seeking out his roots, come to think of it. It works as an intellectual puzzle, though I’m not sure how many weeks of him making one-sided phone calls and looking stuff up online I’ll be able to take.

      The Ciara and Chase appearances this week were so weird knowing they’ll be 16 shortly. Especially when Joey walked into the scene! I was going to have a coronary if he had interacted with little Ciara at all.

  2. marypickford Says:

    Somebody who had watched 1985 stuff recently told me that Ilya Petrov was Stefano’s real #2 guy back then! He was really the guy who brought “the Pawn” to Salem, and that was his picture. How cool! I was rolling my eyes when they first kicked off this story but I’m actually getting in to it. After that 2 or 3 episode J&M love fest (which was too cheesy for me), I’ve been enjoying John and Marlena more than I have since the 80’s. It’s nice to see them being adult professionals, though as you point out it’s rather funny that anyone takes Marlena seriously as a psychiatrist.

    • mykleraus Says:

      Yeah! I recognized the name Petrov from reading the history books. I thought that was a cool addition to the scenes.

      I think J&M still work together, but it’s kind of cracking me up what a stone-cold bitch Marlena is. Any time John mentions the ISA/work/not being there to cater to her every whim, she freezes up. It’s so her, but it’s hilarious.

  3. fluffysmom Says:

    I like seeing Steve and John teaming up to find Bo. Maybe Steve can help John find the secrets of his past. It’s cool that they are actually using Petrov as part of the story.

    What was up with John looking for the cop who investigated Forrest Alamain’s death? Weren’t Forest and John about 5 years old back then? If the cop is alive he’s probably senile by now.

    • mykleraus Says:

      I found that incredibly silly, too. I guess it’s worth a shot, of course, but John’s in his 60s! Unless this officer was the Doogie Howser of the Alamainia PD, pretty sure that’s a literal dead end…

  4. underyourwing Says:

    doogie howser of the APD……thanks for helping me pee my pants while doing a spit take……this is as much enjoyment as i have all all week with this freakin show!

  5. Jamie Says:

    We just watched Friday’s ep. Clyde gave Marlene back “her pen” before he left..was that her pen? Was there another sale down at the bug/wire/tracking store?

  6. underyourwing Says:

    thank dog SOMEONE is paying attention here!!! good catch!

  7. Gavin Says:

    I’m just catching up on a few episodes – but was the reasoning for Gabi getting out as dodgy as the explanation of how John could have fit in becoming Paul’s father?

    • mykleraus Says:

      It made as much sense as anything. They’ve had passing references over the last few weeks to the fact that she had a hearing coming up. The board granted her parole based on being a model inmate, a young mother, the nature of the crime, blah blah. In the grand scheme of things: whatever.

      • Gavin Says:

        I obviously missed all those references in my fast forwarding. Sure, it’s not the fastest and loosest they’ve played with details but to go from 20 years – a sentence Gabi agreed to – to her getting out after one year because Mr Jennings found a problem in her sentencing is a bit much to swallow. But whatever. Wonder if they’ll bother showing Julie’s reaction.

      • mykleraus Says:

        I hope so. Though maybe her newfound zen thing will throw us for a loop…


Leave a Reply

