The Un-casting Continues

I thought this one would make me happy, but instead, my primary emotion is concern.

tumblr_static_g39

It’s been rumored for quite a while, and fueled by the fact that he has been silent on social media about the show, but Serial Scoop is now confirming that Guy Wilson is out as Will Horton. That’s the good news. The bad news (actual story spoilers, not just casting ones, follow):

Serial Scoop can now confirm Wilson’s departure, as well as the upcoming death of Will.

Even though viewers see Will die in the next month, it’s hard to believe a legacy character–the firstborn of Sami Brady, no less–would be axed from a show looking to beef up its next generation.

No. No no no. Guy Wilson proved to be weak casting as Will, and the scattered writing in recent months has done him zero favors. But killing off Will Horton is a truly dreadful idea. This is a legacy character with literally 20 years of story behind him. Send him off to live with Sami. Put him in a coma until you find a stronger actor and have a story to tell. Do not kill off a character like this. I’ve seen soaps do this on the road to cancellation. As the World Turns did it. Guiding Light did it. It is not worth it. Will, with a better actor and his history of significant stories, should be leading the next generation. They’ve finally shored up Abigail and Chad, but that doesn’t mean Will is disposable.

More than anything, it concerns me that TPTB seem to think that axing characters with lots of story potential in them, even if they aren’t working in their current incarnations, is the thing to do, in favor of replacing them with characters who have been beaten down by decades of this sort of chicanery. I’ve been vocal about loving the idea of having John, Marlena, Kayla, Steve, Hope, and Bo onscreen, but you can only wring so much story out of those characters and couples. They cannot carry a show on their own; they’ve been through too much. Will is a vehicle for producing story for Marlena, Kate, Lucas, Roman, Sami, and more. Maybe there’s some twist where his death is faked or he winds up in a long-term coma or something else, but if this is how he goes out — no matter how pleased I am to have Wilson off my screen and this version of Will gone — then I have serious worries about the storytelling instincts of the new regime.

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

19 Comments on “The Un-casting Continues”

  1. underyourwing Says:

    i guess our group-think worked…….

  2. Jamie Says:

    Isn’t this the (American) soap way? Bring on the gays, keep them around for a few years and then send them packing and never have another gay in town…

    As much as I despise this Will, they can’t kill him off! They just can’t!! Such a waste.

    And then, I scroll back up and look at that picture and think….yeah, go ahead….DO IT!

    So conflicted.

    • mykleraus Says:

      I don’t know if it’s so much a case of getting rid of The Gays as of that story and the characters having run their course. The story centered on Will and Sonny, and one actor chose to leave and the other was a sucky recast. They still have Paul, so we’ll see if they build anything around him (there’s a rumor they are recasting Sonny for the new year).

      Killing Will is a BAD idea long-term, but seeing this Will dead will probably give me a moment of delight.

  3. fluffysmom Says:

    It makes me sad to have Lumi’s firstborn killed off. I agree that Guy Wilson should leave but I don’t know why they would actually kill off Will.

    • mykleraus Says:

      I hate that this marginalizes Lucas even further, too.

      • fluffysmom Says:

        Sadly I agree.

        I enjoy seeing Lucas onscreen. I was hoping to continue seeing him regularly. Now I’m wondering if Lucas will end up leaving town with Sami.

      • mykleraus Says:

        If they gave them a happy ending together, I could at least handle that. But I love having Lucas/BD around. I actually think he works very well as a supporting character and would hate to lose that.

  4. ADW Says:

    Well, needless we know why Sami is returing to Salem; I doubt the third coming if the Salem Bicentennial would be enough motivation for Sami to leave LA. I was actually worried Caroline would have a funeral this fall.
    Aside from the fact the he was 1/2 of Days first gay super couple, it’s careless and not sagacious to cut such an important legacy character who has spent almost all his life (minus a few years) on screen in various capacities. I nevered cared for Guy Wilson’s portrayal and I would have preferred him to go away for a bit and be recast; it seems Will has a personality overhaul whenever there is a new actor. I was actually hoping GW would be recast

    • ADW Says:

      *recast when he returned from LA last December.

      • Robbiemac Says:

        That would have been the perfect time! I haven’t ever liked Guy Wilson as Will either. There is something weird about his eyes when he smiles….too many crows feet?

      • mykleraus Says:

        There’s something… prissy about him. Like I never quite believe that he’s Will — it’s like he’s someone’s dad reciting lines or something. (I hate to rag on the guy this much, but I’ve had to watch him stink it up for a year and a half, and now the character is being killed off largely because his portrayal didn’t work.)

    • mykleraus Says:

      I think it’s very short-sighted to kill a character like this. I wish they HAD used the LA trip to recast him, though the writing got so strange for Will after that (sleeping with Paul; scheming to keep Sonny) that I’m not sure even a great actor could’ve made it work well.

  5. rustyspigot Says:

    Man he has such a slap-able face. I never really cared for Will and grew to despise Guy’s portrayal. Julie won’t like Will upstaging her bicentennial plans.

  6. Erin L. Says:

    If I had it my way they would just bring back Chandler Massey. Along with EJ and Sami.

  7. ADW Says:

    Massey was the best Will in both the rendering by the actor as well as the writing for him as he was much more loveable and far less of a brat. Also, he had much better chemistry w/ Sonny. I know this is silly but, when Wilson took over for the first few weeks or so I kept yelling, “Moley, Moley, Moley” like in Austin Powers Gold Member.

    • mykleraus Says:

      I definitely liked him best. He wasn’t always the BEST actor (no one working at this pace is, tbh), but he embodied Will well even when the writing was hinky. Wilson felt ‘fine’ to me for a while, when Will was more of a supporting character and he had the feud with Nick, but as soon as his romantic life took center stage and he was supposed to become devious, it stopped working. Almost every scene he plays feels incredibly false to me now.


Leave a Reply

